• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Recover access database

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
57 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#1
Hi
Our company pc just died. I copied everything that was on the hdd to this new pc.
When I try to open the access database, none of the buttons on the form work.
I can see all of the tables are still there, but sadly they don't seem to be connected.
I tried making a special partition again so the path would be the same on this new pc, but it doesnt work that way. Can you please help me out here ? All of our companies data is in this file...
Cheers
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
617 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#2

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,905
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
57 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#4
That just tells you to copy and paste ? I then searched the linked table manager and got http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/a...d-path-for-linked-tables-mdb-HP005187623.aspx there.
After completing that, it still doesn't work.
edit: there still seems to be a temp file in there. the pc must have shut down with access still open
edit2: I have found another, previous version (from 2007). Its the same database, the data is just very outdated. Can i import the 2014 data into the 2007 database file somehow ?
 
Last edited:

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,905
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
If the data isn't corrupt in the correct db then you should just be able to mount the db, and the link information.
 
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
57 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#6
update: I fixed the old pc, and everything still works. However, both pc have to run for the db to be useable, and it can only be opened at 1 pc at a time. I tried converting the file from mdb to accdb and copied that to the new pc, but that just opens an empty database.
Is there something I can do on one of the 2 old pc's that merges all the data with its links into a single file that can easily be transfered between devices ?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#7
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
57 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#8
maybe this would help? Easy Office Recovery 2.0 and today it is free. http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/easy-office-recovery-2-0/
Normally it cost $59.95
"The program restores Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook files." No good for my access problem it seems.

Anyway, there is a 4.5mb .mbd file which gets all it's data from a 19mb .dat file. Given that this .dat file was accesible through both pc's, i'm guessing the .mdb just has basic stuff in it.
I'll provide both files to whoever want to help me out here.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#9
What version of MS Access was the file created with? I have 2007. Also keep in mind your companies CDC policies.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#11
And what version are you trying to run the 2003 Access database on?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#13
Did you try this yet? http://support.microsoft.com/kb/283849

Run the Compact and Repair utility. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. If the database is open, close it.
  2. On the Tools menu, point to Database Utilities, and then click Compact and Repair Database.
  3. In the Database to Compact From dialog box, select the file that you want to compact, and then click Compact.
  4. In the Compact Database Into dialog box, enter a new file name, and then click Save.

    If the compact and repair does not succeed, you will receive a message stating so. This means the damage is so severe that it cannot be corrected.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#15
Looks like you will need to rebuild the whole thing but at least you have the data still, right?
EDIT: Wait did you try this?

Convert a database to the Access 2007 file format

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/a...-the-access-2007-file-format-HA010048406.aspx


You cannot convert a replicated database to the Office Access 2007 file format. However, you can use Access 2007 to create a replica of a database that is formatted in either the Access 2000 or the Access 2002 - 2003 file format.


More copy and paste:
[paste:font size="5"]Convert an Access 97 database, Convert an Access 95 database, or Convert an Access 2.0 database.
  • Click the Microsoft Office Button
    , point to Save As, and then, under Save the database in another format, click the file format to which you want to convert.
  1. If any database objects are open when you use the Save Database As command, Access prompts you to close them prior to creating the copy. Click Yes to make Access close the objects, or click No to cancel the entire process. If needed, Access will also prompt you to save any changes.
  1. In the Save As dialog box, type a file name in the File name box, and then click Save.
Access creates the copy of the database, and then opens the copy. Access automatically closes the original database.

Here is a short and sweet version: http://www.ehow.com/how_7339817_convert-2003-database-access-2007.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
57 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
#16
Sadly not, the problem seems to be in the linking of the mbe to the dat. For some reason, it doesn't find it. converting worked tho, but the file was still equally useless :(
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#18
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.