• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Red Devil Vega 64 problem

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,743 (1.20/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Hi everybody.
I've encountered a problem with my vega card. (See system specs) It would seem my screen goes black randomly. Now I can't even boot to windows. Tried reinstlling the driver but it goes black during installation. After few tries I can't get to the Bios now. I will try my PC with a different card and give youo some feedback. Any ideas if it is the card or something else?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,503 (0.91/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,743 (1.20/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
It is not cable. It is not that obvious
 

flashgear

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
Legitimately registered to post that I'm having the same issue. Same PC. Two different Vega 64's tried.

Asus TUF B450M
Ryzen 1600x
16GB Corsair DDR4 2666
Nvme 1tb drive
Windows 10 Pro 1909

I've reinstalled Windows, tried old and new versions of AMD's drivers. Pulling my hair out. Although, so far haven't seen it go blank in BIOS.

It's just blank screening at desktop, when you open something 3D etc, sometimes forcing me to reboot.

Only thing left to try now is an older version of Windows 10....
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,743 (1.20/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Legitimately registered to post that I'm having the same issue. Same PC. Two different Vega 64's tried.

Asus TUF B450M
Ryzen 1600x
16GB Corsair DDR4 2666
Nvme 1tb drive
Windows 10 Pro 1909

I've reinstalled Windows, tried old and new versions of AMD's drivers. Pulling my hair out. Although, so far haven't seen it go blank in BIOS.

It's just blank screening at desktop, when you open something 3D etc, sometimes forcing me to reboot.

Only thing left to try now is an older version of Windows 10....
Well. it is not going black in Bios, I just cant get there because the screen goes black before.
Got the same thing with 5500XT on one of my TR's

EDIT:
I've replaced my thermal pads and re-paste the chip. So far it works fine. Weird as hell. I need to try it with the 5500XT but I need to order new pads these I've used are too thick. 1.5mm and I'm sure 1mm and in some cases 0.5mm would be OK. I tested it a bit with Unigine Heaven and it is working fine. Actually the hotsopt temp dropped down to 90+ and I do remember it was way over 100. So... not sure what is the problem but I will definitely use different thermal pads (thinner) and see how this one goes. The problem is with this damn corona virus, God know when it will be delivered. :/
 
Last edited:

flashgear

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
So I just fixed mine now too.

It was Ryzen hating on the Corsair DDR4 sticks. I noticed the BIOS was saying the RAM was at 2133mhz and rememberd awhile ago on a different build that Windows would get all stuttery, put a Cruical Ballistix stick in and it's 100% now...

So weird that RAM would make a GPU so unstable...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.46/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So I just fixed mine now too.

It was Ryzen hating on the Corsair DDR4 sticks. I noticed the BIOS was saying the RAM was at 2133mhz and rememberd awhile ago on a different build that Windows would get all stuttery, put a Cruical Ballistix stick in and it's 100% now...

So weird that RAM would make a GPU so unstable...
Most corsair ram doesnt play nice with ryzen, you must look at their site and the board manufacturer to be sure you get correct corsair modules...
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,743 (1.20/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Crap. An hour of using it, all was good and then boom. Again same thing now can't even get to the BIOS. Maybe I should check my RAM too but it has been OK for so damn long.
 

flashgear

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
Crap. An hour of using it, all was good and then boom. Again same thing now can't even get to the BIOS. Maybe I should check my RAM too but it has been OK for so damn long.
what speed is it reporting currently?

Tried same RAM I had in an MSI X470, same exact issue. Ryzen hating it big time.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,743 (1.20/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
what speed is it reporting currently?

Tried same RAM I had in an MSI X470, same exact issue. Ryzen hating it big time.
3200Mhz XMP. Hating it? I've never had a problem and I been using this computer for 2 years without any problems. Today I'm getting a different graphics card to do some testing. If it is the Ram modules and/or settings, no matter what graphics card I use, it should give me the same problem. Besides, I've ordered new thermal pads and such and we will see what happens. Been thinking about windows updates. Maybe there's something causing this? It works for a while and then stops. That's just weird but I also don't want to re-image everything.
BTW. My Ram is G.skill flare X dedicated for Ryzen so hardly think this is the problem. Anyway I will check. Never know.

Update.
I tried to fix the card somehow but no use. Now, the LED lit up for a second and goes down. Can't even get to the BIOS. I'm going to change the thermal pads when they come but I think it is broken for good.
 
Last edited:
Top