1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Red light on utorrent 1.6.1

Discussion in 'General Software' started by newguy, May 27, 2007.

  1. newguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My OS is Windows XP. At the bottom of my utorrent 1.6.1, there's a red sign with a ! which means "Not connectable. A firewall/router is limiting your nework traffic. You need to open up a port so others can connect to you." I already checked my Windows Firewall under the Exceptions tab and utorrent is already checked. What can I do to fix this? The current port for utorrent is 32730. Please help me, keeping in mind that I am not very knowledgable about computers other than basic operations. Please give me a detailed, step-by-step, idiot-proof set of instructions!!! thx!
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    We'll assume for the sake of legality that you're using utorrent for, um, fast downloads of linux distributions :p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Do you have a router?
    Or is your computer the only system connected to your internet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    uTorrent's uPNP (Universal Plug-n-Play) features don't work like they're supposed to. If you're not familiar with port forwarding in your router (I'm assuming you have one), my suggestion is to switch to Azureus. It's uPNP works flawlessly, and it is actually more tweakable than uTorrent, once you get up the nerve to start messin around with settings.

    But if you're dead set on using uTorrent, we need to know if you have a router, and what brand and model it is.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hey!! Nice find there, theone. That's getting bookmarked. As far as Azureus vs uTorrent, I prefer Azureus because it is more powerful than uTorrent. (I'm one of those few nerds that actually took the time to figure out what all the settings do. lol) It's also cross-platform. I have Macs and Linux boxes on my network. I can control Azureus on any machine, from any machine. If I open the same torrent on multiple machines, it will also share the pieces between them across the LAN, with no ratio penalties.

    EDIT: But I fully understand why people like uTorrent. It's a great client.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Thats a good guide :D

    For some reason, in the guide for my router the router buttons are different.
    Intstead of it being called port forwarding its called applications or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I download too much.... My laptop filled up the other day. I thought I was fine, 27GB's left....then I realised it was only 27MB's:eek: oops!

    This new HDD is 250GB and its already only got 80Gb free.:rolleyes: Good old utorrent.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,224 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    get 3 7200.10 perp drives :D
    1 terabyte for joo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hahahaha! I fully understand that. Anime is a weakness for me. Between all my boxes and externals, I have about 2TB of storage. A grand total of 250GB are free. I also have about 250 DVDs worth of data floating around. hahahaha!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i have a router and a modem and i just do the following:

    under "connection " make sure the boxes "enable upnp" and "add to windows firewall exceptions" is checked and if you want to really speed up your downloading then set the total global upload rate at 15 but to upload set it back to zero.

    under bit torrent i recommend unchecking the two DHT boxes to disable the DHT this will really turbocharge your download speeds.

    all i did was download utorrent and set the settings as i just described and all works fine.

    try delete the utorrent from your firewall and add/remove utorrent delete any utorrent folders that might be left over and start fresh. utorrent sets itself up to run with no need to deal with all that port forwarding crap which will end up leaving your computer wide open to the internet crooks.
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Disabling DHT shouldn't speed up your torrents. It should do just the opposite, slow them down. All DHT does is adds peers that aren't on the torrent's tracker.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i try both and disabling DHT will double my download speed due to less peers checking since it is constantly rechecking all peers it has less to do and doubles the download speeds. now in a rare case it may need extra peers not on the torrents tracker (very very rare instances)
    then in that case it may not be as fast as before but it is a minor difference and hardly an issue.

    if you doubt what i say then try it and compare the same download both ways and see.

    i am a regular downloader so i know what works best for me.
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I have tried both, and I consistently get better performance with DHT enabled, regardless of the number of peers on the tracker. But I do see one major difference between us, I use Azureus. Our connections may be different as well, causing the differing performance. And as far as being a regular downloader, check my previous comments. I'm not what you would consider a casual torrent user. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    well your talking about Azureus and we were talking about Utorrent 1.6.1

    my settings and comments are only about Utorrent which the original post was asking about
     
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you read my first post in this thread, you'll see why I mentioned Azureus. I suggested he try it instead, if he can't get UPnP to work with uTorrent.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i understand
     
  19. newguy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Router Info

    hi every1. sorry for not stayin in touch. my computer's been acting awful lately, and it still is. (c thread under hardware). my router is the 2wire 1701HG from SBC Yahoo! (now AT&T Yahoo!). The "Port used for incoming connections" for utorrent is 32730. there are also 2 other computers using the router to connect to the internet.

    I already tried using http://www.portforward.com/english/r...outerindex.htm but when I type in the ip address 172.16.0.1 into the address bar like it says and press enter, the page says "This program cannot display the webpage." also, i think the instructions might be for an older version of utorrent because under Preferences, my utorrent says Connection, not Network Options like it says in the instructions.

    by the way, i tried keakar's suggestions to no avail. but thx anyway. i know u were trying to help.

    finally, my utorrent now displays a yellow triangular sign rather than a red circle. it means "No incoming connections. Unless the icon turns green, it could indicate a problem with your network configuration." hope this info helps. i really appreciate all u guys for ur input. thx.
     
  20. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,758 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,629
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Can you access your Router via IE browser to allow that port to be opened to your PC?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    By the way, I have this problem when using my...."alternative" wireless connection, and I can still download very fast.
    Maybe the ip that you're typing in is incorrect. Right click on your wireless connection and go to "Status."

    Then go to the "Support" tab. The ip of your router is the one after "Default Gateway"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    "alternative" wireless connection, eh? You naughty, naughty neighbor. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    It's only because our one couldn't be put it for a year. Shared line or some BS. In the end it was shoddy engineering anyway so I forced BT to get it working, as in their fine print it said if it was a BT line they would defineitly be able to give us some kind of broadband.

    By the way, it was a VERY fast connection :D Well utilised too. They just weren't taking full advantage of that bandwidth. I was merely....borrowing and using it to it's full potential.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Oh, I see. So you were "helping" them by utilizing the full bandwidth they payed for. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Of course. I wouldn't do anything else.;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)