• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

redhat linux installation

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#1
Hi,

I just spend a few hours downloading 4 big iso's for a redhat based os, but i can't figure out how to install it :nutkick:

I'm using VMWare to try it, and Alcohol 120% to mount the iso's.

My problem is it won't boot from the disks :wtf:


Also, can anyone direct me to their favourite linux OS? I'm kinda lost! :D Soo many versions! :D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,056 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,961
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
i like fedora a lot (redhat based)

the first cd should be able to boot

do you have an old vmware version? i remember one having a bug where you couldnt boot off cds
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
Suse 10
 

Migons

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
243 (0.05/day)
Likes
3
Location
Finland
Processor Athlon 64 3500+ ClawHammer
Motherboard Asus A8V Deluxe Rev. 2.00
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory 2x 512MB A-Data Vitesta DDR500
Video Card(s) Club 3D GeForce 6200 128MB
Storage Seagate 7200.7 160GB + 80GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Dell M770 17" CRT (!!!)
Case Antec Performance PlusView1000AMG
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
Power Supply Nexus NX-4090 400W
Software FreeBSD 6.2 w/ custom kernel
#4
I like Debian, Fedora Core and Ubuntu/Kubuntu, and FreeBSD (even it's not Linux). Debian is kinda out-dated, but stable. But FreeBSD felt to fit best for my hardware..

Debian, Ubuntu/Kubuntu and FreeBSD have text-based installations, so they might not be the easiest. Fedora Cores have fine, GUI-based installations.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#5
W1zzard said:
i like fedora a lot (redhat based)

the first cd should be able to boot

do you have an old vmware version? i remember one having a bug where you couldnt boot off cds
Thanks everyone.

Yep, it's fedora i downloaded (it's huge!!! :eek: )

It's VMWare 5 that i'm using, i'll go and hunt for a newer version anyway.

If i set fedora up in a dual boot config, is there any way i can get it to load xp as a default?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#6
infrared said:
Thanks everyone.

Yep, it's fedora i downloaded (it's huge!!! :eek: )

It's VMWare 5 that i'm using, i'll go and hunt for a newer version anyway.

If i set fedora up in a dual boot config, is there any way i can get it to load xp as a default?

5.5 is the latest version.

In order to boot to the cd, check the vmware virtual machine boot order, aswell as DOUBLE CHECK the cdrom preferences(in the virtual machine hardware management thingy). Its usually set to auto which would never boot for me, so I just manually set it to my actual (or emulated in this case) drive and it should boot right up.

GL.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,240 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#7
ok, i grabbed vmware 5.5, gonna have a play now! Thanks :)