• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Redline in middle of the screen

Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#1
i've HP envy 17 3D..

I wasnt able to start my laptop today and i tried to pressed power and beats audio button several times and then i could start it but soon after starting laptop, redline appeared in middle of my screen of laptop..

i restarted my laptop, then also it didnt disappear..
and this line even appears on startup and black screen???

and again after i turned off my laptop, i wasnt able to start my laptop...after much tries, i'm able to turn on laptop rightnow and i hope again after i turn off this time, it wont cause problem in atleast start.

 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,198 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
how long have you owned the laptop?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#3
surprisingly, redline isnt visible in this screenshot (taken by snipping tool)
???but visible only in my laptop screen only?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,198 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
surprisingly, redline isnt visible in this screenshot if i check from any other pc or mobile??
???but visible only in my laptop?
sounds to me your screen has bad pixels in it and not an artifacting graphics card.

how long have you owned that laptop for?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#5
sounds to me your screen has bad pixels in it and not an artifacting graphics card.

how long have you owned that laptop for?
it has been around 4 months..but problem is i bought from USA and rightnow i'm not is USA.

redline is visible on bios screen also..
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,198 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
it has been around 4 months..but problem is i bought from USA and rightnow i'm not is USA.

redline is visible on bios screen also..
sounds to me the screen is damaged, if youve owned that laptop for 4 months id suggest you return it for warranty service. before you do make sure to take a picture of the screen itself with every test youve done
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
You know, my parents have an older LCD TV and for a couple years now it first showed a red line going vertically up and down the screen in a perfect line (exactly one pixel (the red in one RGB group.) Ever since more have popped up but the LCD still works. After the panel has been used for a couple hours (actively on, the panel has been warm for maybe an hour at this point,) the lines disappear only to reappear exactly as they were after the TV it shut off and given time to cool back down. Since then it has gone from 1 red line to a ton of red, green, and blue lines that are bunched together in 2 spots on the display.

Now the story was probably completely unnecessary but to summarize what I'm trying to get at is that it sounds like a physical defect with the display. If it's a perfectly straight line and it only shows up on the laptop, I can't believe it would be anything else. The laptop runs fine on an external monitor alone, right?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
Can you take a low light picture with a digital camera?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,961
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
cracked screen =/
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
At first I would say a screen issue too, but with problems starting, I'm going to say it is actually a GPU issue. HP is known for GPUs dying too.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#11
Well, I think screen problem as if I press screen gently, redline disappears & on releasing pressure, appears again.

But power on problem is terrifying me, 7/10 times I'm not able to start (power on) laptop in pressing power button but after lots of tries of pressing beats audio button & power button together, I can switch it on but I fear if I turn off again & I may not be able to turn on laptop again.

I think it's due to fault in beats audio button ?? (button is sticky??)

Plz help. find me solution.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,961
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#12
sounds like that laptop is just about dead I would start a RMA with HP
the audio button has absolutely no relation to it powering up
pressing on the screen is a good way to break it totally don't do that
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#13
sounds like that laptop is just about dead I would start a RMA with HP
the audio button has absolutely no relation to it powering up
pressing on the screen is a good way to break it totally don't do that
RMA? Mean?

On pressing Audio button & power button together, it reset battery & I was solving my problem before 2 months when I had same problem of starting laptop.
But now it's not working on single attempt??

Solution?
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
473 (0.11/day)
Likes
303
Location
ireland, galway
Processor q6600 G0 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ex38 DS4
Cooling air
Memory 4 *1gig tracer ballistic
Video Card(s) sapphire dual bios 6950
Storage ssd- sandisk 120gb, sata- 2 500gb samsung in raid 1 & 1 samsung 400gb
Display(s) LG w2452tx
Case nzxt
Audio Device(s) na
Power Supply hiper 730
Mouse g9
Keyboard bt microsoft arch
Software win7
#14
hey, yeah it does sound like the lcd is broken, definately if its showing on the bios, cause then it cant be a software issue, it sounds like a hardware issue,
and yeah try not to press the screen in that will break it (more)
can you turn the monitor on, on its own(dont turn the pc on) and mess with the monitors menu system and see if its still there?
my bad its a laptop not a desktop
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#15
RMA = Return Materials Authorization

AKA Warranty repair

:)
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
632 (0.16/day)
Likes
13
Location
India
System Name HP envy 17 3090nr
Processor Intel core i7-2670QM 2.2ghz
Memory 8gb
Storage 1TB
Software Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Windows experience index 6.9
#16
Any solution of power on problem plz except warranty?