• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reference RX 5700 XT issues

Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Hello all

the issues im having is that when i set my display refresh rate at 75hz (using HDMI/DP does not matter), my screen stutters a lot, also GPU-Z / Wattman fails to read any sort of info on temps/clocks/power, also random crashes on light loads (Web browsing).

are all of these drivers bugs or faulty GPU?

Im running out on my return window and didnt expect so many issues, had to give up freesync/enhanced sync because theyre broken it seems....

EDIT: Also just updated to 19.8.1 to see if that helps but im doubtful...

EDIT 2: Also enabling VSync locks framerate at 30 fps in any game
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,002 (1.21/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Hello all

the issues im having is that when i set my display refresh rate at 75hz (using HDMI/DP does not matter), my screen stutters a lot, also GPU-Z / Wattman fails to read any sort of info on temps/clocks/power, also random crashes on light loads (Web browsing).

are all of these drivers bugs or faulty GPU?

Im running out on my return window and didnt expect so many issues, had to give up freesync/enhanced sync because theyre broken it seems....

EDIT: Also just updated to 19.8.1 to see if that helps but im doubtful...

EDIT 2: Also enabling VSync locks framerate at 30 fps in any game
The first thing that comes to mind is cabling. How are you DP cables?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
tested both (HDMI/DP) on a RX480, I had zero issues (cable-wise)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,360 (1.25/day)
Do a driver uninstall and use DDU in Safemode to uninstall any leftover files. See if that helps
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,381 (0.50/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) gtx1660TI 6GB MSI Gaming X / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
According to Philips site the optimal setting is 2560x1440@60hz here
I would try turning it back to 60hz and see if it is fine there If the stutter goes away then you know you cannot OC your monitor
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
82 (0.20/day)
Hello all

the issues im having is that when i set my display refresh rate at 75hz (using HDMI/DP does not matter), my screen stutters a lot, also GPU-Z / Wattman fails to read any sort of info on temps/clocks/power, also random crashes on light loads (Web browsing).

are all of these drivers bugs or faulty GPU?

Im running out on my return window and didnt expect so many issues, had to give up freesync/enhanced sync because theyre broken it seems....

EDIT: Also just updated to 19.8.1 to see if that helps but im doubtful...

EDIT 2: Also enabling VSync locks framerate at 30 fps in any game
Check if you have chill and/or power efficiency on in radeon settings.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,406 (4.49/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
If you are using the monitor listed in specs it seems that's a 60hz panel so you're technically trying to OC it. No telling what that does.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor was previously working fine at 75hz on my RX480, never had an issue, I did a clean install of windows 10 after installing the new card and ran DDU before installing 19.8.1 driver, removed msi afterburner.

EDIT: The monitor reports 75 hz as available (no OC) , even radeon settings recommends 75hz as native
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,162 (0.75/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 I Aorus
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 16GB Trident Z 3200C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
Storage 3.25TB of SSDs
Display(s) BenQ GW2765HT
Case NCASE M1v5 + Pelican 1514
Audio Device(s) DT 770 80Ω / Blue Snowball iCE
Power Supply Corsair SF600 Gold + Cablemod cables
Mouse Logitech G602 / Logitech MX Master
Keyboard X60 R (260, SS, Tealio) / FMJ (NerD60, brass, Silent Red) / Klippe (Instant60, brass, Gat Yellow)
Software Windows 10 1903
Monitor was previously working fine at 75hz on my RX480, never had an issue, I did a clean install of windows 10 after installing the new card and ran DDU before installing 19.8.1 driver, removed msi afterburner.
People don't usually suspect their cables, because their intuition tells them there can't be anything wrong with them, but there can. I've had a number of HDMI and DP cables that just didn't like working properly anymore. Decent quality cables too, that had served for many years with nary an issue. It's always worth a shot.

As for the monitor, it is running overclocked, and the 5700 XT is a physically very different GPU, so there's no reason it'll just work because it did on the 480.

The VSync problem - does it occur at 60 or 75Hz?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Vsync happens at both refresh rates

tried a few cables, even a brand new hdmi that came with the xbox one x, same issue

I only have 1 DP cable but lots of hdmi same issue with all the cables i tested.

ill be running my monitor at 60hz no big deal i guess.... but vsync locking framerate at 30fps is driving me mad

posting screenshot of radeon settings wants to set refresh rate at 75hz and monitor specs in AIDA
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,377 (1.88/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Monitor was previously working fine at 75hz on my RX480, never had an issue, I did a clean install of windows 10 after installing the new card and ran DDU before installing 19.8.1 driver, removed msi afterburner.

EDIT: The monitor reports 75 hz as available (no OC) , even radeon settings recommends 75hz as native
I have overclocked all my monitors over the years, and had a 7970 gpu on a overclocked 1440p korean panel, never had any issues ever with AMD or Nvidia. AMD is just very buggy this round sadly.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
593 (0.65/day)
Location
Tanagra
Processor Intel i5-9600K
Motherboard ASRock H370M-ITX/ac
Cooling Gammax 300
Memory 16GB DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 570 4GB
Storage Inland 512GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) My ears
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Software Windows 10
People don't usually suspect their cables, because their intuition tells them there can't be anything wrong with them, but there can. I've had a number of HDMI and DP cables that just didn't like working properly anymore. Decent quality cables too, that had served for many years with nary an issue. It's always worth a shot.

As for the monitor, it is running overclocked, and the 5700 XT is a physically very different GPU, so there's no reason it'll just work because it did on the 480.

The VSync problem - does it occur at 60 or 75Hz?
That ain’t no lie. I recently sold a device on eBay, and the seller kept saying he couldn’t get it to display a picture, even on different displays. He was about to start a return, then he tried a new HDMI cable and it worked perfectly. Glad I didn’t have to eat shipping on something that I knew worked when I sent it off.

I have overclocked all my monitors over the years, and had a 7970 gpu on a overclocked 1440p korean panel, never had any issues ever with AMD or Nvidia. AMD is just very buggy this round sadly.
I’m curious what the percentage is for folks with issues. While we can appreciate pushing the envelope, there is something to be said for iterative updates that increase stability and compatibility. 1.0 can be the stuff of nightmares, queue Kaby Lake and Surface Book and Surface Pro 4.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
171 (0.10/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise x64 1903
Even if it's not faulty, I'd return the card and get an aftermarket one since they're available now.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,935 (1.04/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
Yeah probably just dodgy drivers, I doubt the card is faulty.

Get your money back for the time being and use your old card, give em 6 months for the "fine wine" to kick in.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Even if it's not faulty, I'd return the card and get an aftermarket one since they're available now.
Yeah, I did think of that but there are no aftermarket cards in my country yet, only reference, also card boosts to 2050, something I havent seen on any card yet, and my case doesnt take 3 slot cards (Corsair 250D, and max length is 29cm)
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,935 (1.04/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
How many days you got left before you can return it?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,002 (1.21/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Get your money back for the time being and use your old card, give em 6 months for the "fine wine" to kick in.
What if it corks? This could be the best bottle of Boone's Farm the OP is going to get.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,935 (1.04/day)
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic
first day of september

Edit: about 7 days
Ah okay, so the clock is ticking. Hopefully you can get to the bottom of these issues quickly!
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
543 (2.64/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard Generic Dell
Does the same thing happen on 60 Hz?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Does the same thing happen on 60 Hz?
just happens at 75hz, the vsync 30 fps lock happens at any refresh rate, and when using vulkan API it locks to 30fps vsync off or on doesnt matter

EDIT: lol just crashed while responding to this thread on firefox (Hard lock)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Card out of the system, back to my RX480, so far no more random locks, played Farcry 5 and to my surprise stutters are gone, yeah FPS went down a bit but far more fluid experience.

Returning the RX5700 too many bugs right now that shouldnt be there, and the fact u cant use many features is just sad. Really wanted to keep it :(
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,381 (0.50/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) gtx1660TI 6GB MSI Gaming X / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
just happens at 75hz
If it happens at 75 then it is the overclock on the monitor, regardless of what display settings says it can do. Philips says 1440 at 60hz is optimal. Meaning stable. Just like if you overclock your gpu too far it will have problems, lock up/freezes, system crashes. Just run the monitor at the default 60 or upgrade to a 144 or higher monitor.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8Gb
Storage TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2Tb / ADATA SP550 240Gb
Display(s) Philips Momentum 326M6FJSB 32”
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
If it happens at 75 then it is the overclock on the monitor, regardless of what display settings says it can do. Philips says 1440 at 60hz is optimal. Meaning stable. Just like if you overclock your gpu too far it will have problems, lock up/freezes, system crashes. Just run the monitor at the default 60 or upgrade to a 144 or higher monitor.
It's not OC, Monitor reports that refresh rate as native, no modding is being done. Using that refresh rate fine on my RX480 not a single issue (DisplayPort). Anyways, the card is no longer on my system going back to Retailer
 

Relik18q

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2019
Messages
1 (0.05/day)
It's not OC, Monitor reports that refresh rate as native, no modding is being done. Using that refresh rate fine on my RX480 not a single issue (DisplayPort). Anyways, the card is no longer on my system going back to Retailer
its because 5700 xt is unstable at 75hz, my luck ı didnt know that and bought lg34wk650 75 hz freesync HDR monitör whenever ı active freesync ı get 30 fps or lower so ı deactive freesync adn play with vsync ı hope they fix this with driver updates cause its serious problem and shame for amd ı think
 
Top