• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Regards the temperature of HD7970 Crossfire?

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#1
Hi, all:

Sorry for my poor english.
I'm using HD7970 Crossfire. The GPU1's Core and GPU Memory clock will descend to 300/150 when the card is idle, but the GPU2's Core and GPU Memory clock always running at 925/1375. I try to change catalyst from 12.3 to 12.7 beta, but no use. Even in the same frequency (925/1375), the temperature of GPU2 is higher than GPU1, I don't know why. And, MSI Afterburner always miss GPU2, only can monitor the GPU1.

The attach is screenprint on GPU-Z 0.6.2.
Anyone can give me a help, thank you.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#2
Screenprint on Diablo3, odd...
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#3
What card do you have your monitors connected to?

How many Monitors do you have?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#4
This couldn't be anything with that amd zero core thing could it?. I am not to familiar with that.
 
Last edited:

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#5
What card do you have your monitors connected to?

How many Monitors do you have?
1. I connect to the card on PCI-E 16X. (another card in PCI-E 8X)
2. Only one monitor
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
How do you connect your monitors as in dvi or vga cable? Also fill out your specs in your profile information so we can see them.
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#7
How do you connect your monitors as in dvi or vga cable? Also fill out your specs in your profile information so we can see them.
I connect my monitor as in HDMI cable. I have fill out the specs, please see the list. Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#8
At the top of the screen click "user cp".
Then on the right of screen <-- click "edit system specs". Second option down.

Is you monitor plugged into the gpu that had the high clocks? If so that would make sense as to why it was doing that.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#9
How to add the hard information in specs profile?
Hi

Log in/Forums/UserCP/Edit System Specs [Show System Specs] Yes/Save Changes

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#10
At the top of the screen click "user cp".
Then on the right of screen <-- click "edit system specs". Second option down.

Is you monitor plugged into the gpu that had the high clocks? If so that would make sense as to why it was doing that.
I got it, thank you.
I find the GPU2's temperature will recover to 40-50C when I running a game then exit it.
 
Last edited:

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#11
Hi

Log in/Forums/UserCP/Edit System Specs [Show System Specs] Yes/Save Changes

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Thank you. :)
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#12
One more question... The fps are not very high when I was playing battlefield 3. (1920*1080 + 4xAA + 16xAF + other setting at maximum + 12.7 + Open Vertical Sync) In some chapter the fps will reduce to 3x-4x, and the fps is not very stable in all of the game. When I open the battlefield 3 profile in the CCC, the fps have little improvement (greater than 5x). I see the test report on the other webside, the min fps are greater than 8x (Off Vertical Sync) at HD7970 crossfire... It's very strange...
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#13
Does it do the same thing with only a single gpu being used? Sounds like a driver issue.
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#14
Does it do the same thing with only a single gpu being used? Sounds like a driver issue.
I will try to use single card to test it. Thank you. :)
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
337 (0.15/day)
Likes
82
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling CoolerMaster V6GT
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX @2133Mhz(11-13-13-32)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD6950 2GB CrossfireX
Storage Hyper X 3K 90GB(OS+BF3),WD 500 + Samsung HD502HJ
Display(s) Samsung P2350,Full HD,2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#15
One more question... The fps are not very high when I was playing battlefield 3. (1920*1080 + 4xAA + 16xAF + other setting at maximum + 12.7 + Open Vertical Sync) In some chapter the fps will reduce to 3x-4x, and the fps is not very stable in all of the game. When I open the battlefield 3 profile in the CCC, the fps have little improvement (greater than 5x). I see the test report on the other webside, the min fps are greater than 8x (Off Vertical Sync) at HD7970 crossfire... It's very strange...
Follow this guide step by step : http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502
It's a driver issue...my 2nd hd6950 did the same thing on 12.4
Maybe go back to 12.6,at least for me that is the best actual driver
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#16

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#17
1. I follow the guide to reinstall the drivers (12.6) and uninstall the MSI Afterburn 2.2.2. The problem of the temperature seems to be solved. Very Cool. (The temperature is abnormal again when I restart the computer....bad...)
2. Regarding fps of the battlefield3: I use single card to test the game, the fps is better than crossfire. Although I have reinstall the drivers (12.6), the fps is still terrible. I used to use nvidia card (GTX 560Ti SLI), but the OS have not been reinstalled after change to HD7970 (only clean the nvida driver except Physx). I can not sure whether they have an impact on the present...
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
289 (0.11/day)
Likes
117
System Name IntelSLI Z370 KEW's Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 8770K @ 4.9GHz 1.290V
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition
Memory G.Skill TridenZ RGB 32GB 3000Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP Edition 11 GB GDDR5X in SLI
Storage Samsung Evo 256 GB SSD + G.Skill Phoenix III 120GB SDD + 9TB HDD
Display(s) 3x Asus PG278Q in Surround Mode
Case Thermaltake View 71 TG RGB
Audio Device(s) Built-in Audio Sound BlasterX 720°
Power Supply Cooler Master V1200W 80 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#18
Try install Sapphire Trixx. In the setting tab, tick 'Disable ULPS'.
 

supwang

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K OC 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 Macho
Memory Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R 4G*2
Video Card(s) MSI HD7970 CF
Storage OCZ Solid3 60G SLD3-25SAT3-60G Sata3 +Westdate WD640G WD6401AALS 32M (Black)
Display(s) Dell ST2420L
Case Sliver Stone Raven2 RV02-E
Power Supply Coolmaster GX750W
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64 with SP1
#19
Try install Sapphire Trixx. In the setting tab, tick 'Disable ULPS'.
Thank you. I have try it, but it's no use.

I find the reason final. As I click the compatibility (compatible windows 7) on the shortcut of battlefield 3, the fps is unstable. When I cancel the options, everthing is fine. (fps 88-145):laugh:
 
Last edited: