• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Remembering The Mighty Core 2 Duo / Quad (post your best overclock)

bombatomba

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2021
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Ah, I had my old Q6600 (packed in an HP xw4600) OC'd up to 3 GHz...

Yeah, I know very lame, but back then (2011) I didn't have the time or money for anything but a tiny piece of electricians tape (applied with a steady hand). But good times, such nostalgia. I went from almost ten years of rocking a Pentium 4 to a quad-core monster. Wish it hadn't died.

Ah, thanks for the memories.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
773 (0.48/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + 2x Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 64GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super / RTX 3090
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,267 (0.76/day)
Location
Sanford, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
Was able to build my department a number of Q6600 workstations back in the day. Only clocked them from 2.4Ghz to 2.8Ghz, but it was from bus/ram increase and not just multiplier adjustment. No speed records or anything, but nice boost and they were very dependable.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2021
Messages
15 (0.02/day)
Location
Germany
EDIT: Or did I misinterpret and the X5470 was not on air? Still, nice sub.
no the Quad was on water. yes the penryn core had impressive performance to offer. Unfortunately Intel didn't released six or eight cores for consumer boards ;)
with more voltage this could clock pretty well I assume ;)
 

JCL

Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
51 (0.07/day)
Location
Phoenix
One from the other day, the pi one was from 1/2008. That was probably my best pi time and I think that particular chip is in another computer. If I have time I will switch them out today and see.
 

Attachments

  • 8500 5129.png
    8500 5129.png
    241.5 KB · Views: 44
  • 32m 9.48.JPG
    32m 9.48.JPG
    335.9 KB · Views: 50

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,720 (3.07/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Cant remember what this was for, I think I was having problems with my 295. I had to RMA it that summer.

3dm014806mhz.JPG
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
780 (0.46/day)
I found it!!! I thought this video was gone because crypto hackers had taken over the TigerDirect youtube channel and all the videos were gone, but it's back up now after they restored the channel.

 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,780 (0.36/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
does anybody know which ram divider was bugged in p45 chipset ? 5:6 or 3:5 or other ?
thanks in advance
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
773 (0.48/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + 2x Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 64GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super / RTX 3090
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
does anybody know which ram divider was bugged in p45 chipset ? 5:6 or 3:5 or other ?
thanks in advance
I know that 3:5 is bugged on p45. 5:6 I'm not sure.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Atlanta
System Name Daily/SFF
Processor Ryzen 5900X in ECO-mode.
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X570-I Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2
Memory GSKILL Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Video Card(s) ZOTAC 1660Ti AMP
Storage WD Black SN750 500GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24" SD590 Series
Case NCASE M1
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CORSAIR SF750
Mouse Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard KB Paradise V80 Olivette TKL
Software W10
After revisiting C2D/C2Q these last few days I've found my skills to to be rather rusty. It has been harder running high FSB speeds along with good memory performance and stabilty then I remember. Finding the proper balance between Vcore/MCH/VTT and GTL Ref voltages has been kind of challenging. I remember once when this tech was current gen trying to dial in a 600FSB overclock on this motherboard but in hindsight I think my settings were probably rather relaxed.

I guess for now I'll keep plugging away at it. To aid with my settings I've found running HyperPi 32M to be useful tool... It will give an "out of round" error message or even BSOD if my settings are not "dialed in" well enough.

E8600 533FSB DDR2-1066 1/1 ratio:

E8600 4.536GHz DDR2-1066.PNG


Same settings AIDA stress:

E8600 4.536GHz DDR2-1066 AIDA stress.PNG


My setup... Cooling is a Megahalems with a 2000RPM Delta fan. The USB floppy disk is for running MemTest (tuning overclocks) so I don't "bork" my Windows install.

BIOSTAR TPOWER I45.jpg
 

JCL

Joined
Nov 30, 2020
Messages
51 (0.07/day)
Location
Phoenix
After revisiting C2D/C2Q these last few days I've found my skills to to be rather rusty. It has been harder running high FSB speeds along with good memory performance and stabilty then I remember. Finding the proper balance between Vcore/MCH/VTT and GTL Ref voltages has been kind of challenging. I remember once when this tech was current gen trying to dial in a 600FSB overclock on this motherboard but in hindsight I think my settings were probably rather relaxed.

I guess for now I'll keep plugging away at it. To aid with my settings I've found running HyperPi 32M to be useful tool... It will give an "out of round" error message or even BSOD if my settings are not "dialed in" well enough.

E8600 533FSB DDR2-1066 1/1 ratio:

View attachment 193004

Same settings AIDA stress:

View attachment 193005

My setup... Cooling is a Megahalems with a 2000RPM Delta fan. The USB floppy disk is for running MemTest (tuning overclocks) so I don't "bork" my Windows install.

View attachment 193006
I'm with you as far as the rust goes, that G.Skill ram cooler too, I have it on my board also. Trying to remember how changing one setting affects others. I found some old bios templates from back then but the settings I ran seem to be different and aren't working so well now. That chip I thought was in another computer was in fact the chip I was using. Now it is in another computer and will stay. I worked a some with that chip but it was stubborn. I have an 8600 to use now and maybe I can sort everything out. I have a couple 8500's if someone would like one. Clean etching work fine.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,720 (3.07/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I noticed that the last time I fired up the old Rampage. It was a little tougher then I remembered to get it to where I had it. Between PL, GTL, etc. I couldn't remember anything I thought I would never forget lol. Mind you I didn't spend much time with the X3360 on there right now. I don't have my e8600 anymore sadly. The board really shined with it. I was able to get it up to 600fsb and I am positive it had more to go but my G.Skill PC8500 didn't like it past 600MHz at all. Maybe I will plug it in this weekend and see if it still works :) Its been about 5 years since I turned it on last. I did get it to 471, but pretty sure I was able to get more out of it before.. but not much.. dam 3MHz will haunt me.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Atlanta
System Name Daily/SFF
Processor Ryzen 5900X in ECO-mode.
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X570-I Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B SE2
Memory GSKILL Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Video Card(s) ZOTAC 1660Ti AMP
Storage WD Black SN750 500GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24" SD590 Series
Case NCASE M1
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CORSAIR SF750
Mouse Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard KB Paradise V80 Olivette TKL
Software W10
One thing that irks me is when you try to boot up a kit of ram and one of the sticks has gone dead/won't boot just from sitting idle/unused on the shelf for extended period of time. I have two different sticks from two different DDR2 kits that are now dead this go around. :( Last summer I was buying some 2x8GB DDR3 kits off of Ebay and was testing them upon arrival... I did some re-testing of a few of my other old kits and I had two sticks out of a 3x2GB Corsair Dom kit (Hyper IC) dead/won't boot!
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
780 (0.46/day)
One thing that irks me is when you try to boot up a kit of ram and one of the sticks has gone dead/won't boot just from sitting idle/unused on the shelf for extended period of time. I have two different sticks from two different DDR2 kits that are now dead this go around. :( Last summer I was buying some 2x8GB DDR3 kits off of Ebay and was testing them upon arrival... I did some re-testing of a few of my other old kits and I had two sticks out of a 3x2GB Corsair Dom kit (Hyper IC) dead/won't boot!

I've spend many hundreds of hours of my life trying to fix hardware that doesn't work, then it works, then it doesn't work, then it works, then it doesn't.....but at least it hones your troubleshooting skills.

Although with RAM it can often just be due to oxidized or dirty contacts. A bit of a wipedown with IPA solves quite a few of those issues. Still, old hardware can be just plain temperamental.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
13,568 (3.23/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill - There are others!! Just no room to put! :D
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
Motherboard Asus Zenith 2 Extreme Alpha
Cooling Lots!! Dual GTX 560 rads with D5 pumps for each rad. One rad for each component
Memory Viper Steel 4 x 16GB DDR4 3600MHz not sure on the timings... Probably still at 2667!! :(
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 3090 with front and rear active full cover water blocks
Storage I'm bound to forget something here - 250GB OS, 2 x 1TB NVME, 2 x 1TB SSD, 4TB SSD, 2 x 8TB HD etc...
Display(s) 3 x Dell 27" S2721DGFA @ 7680 x 1440P @ 144Hz or 165Hz - working on it!!
Case The big Thermaltake that looks like a Case Mods
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 1600W T2
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Razer something or other....
VR HMD No headset yet
Software Windows 11 OS... Not a fan!!
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming! :( :( Not OC'd it!! :(
I knew I had some of the 775 overclocking I did... I've a few screen grabs from all of the testing I've done but I think there's a load more...

E8600 + 2GB + 4870 X2 3D 01SE.jpg E8600 + 2GB + 4870 X2 3D 03.jpg E8600 + 2GB + 4870 X2 3D 05.jpgE8600 + 2GB + 4870 X2 Aqua 3.jpg E8600 + 2GB + 4870 X2 PC 05.jpg E8600 + 2GB + 8800 GT Aqua 3.jpg E8600 + 2GB + Ramage X48 Super Pi 1m 6GHz.jpg


How I miss my original Rampage board.... And my 4870 X2 as well.... Good times :cool:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
24 (0.04/day)
System Name Dell Alienware Aurora R10
Processor Ryzen 5600x
Motherboard Dell 570 or B550
Cooling Alienware AIO sandwiched between two Corsair ML120 Pro's
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB cl16
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6800 XT
Storage Western Digital WD BLACK SN750 NVMe M.2 2280 2TB
Display(s) GIGABYTE G34WQC 34" 144Hz (plus 2 Dell 19" 1280x1024 to flank it)
Case Alienware Auraor r10
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Dell 1KW
Mouse Logitech Trackman Marble
Keyboard blue glowy thinhy 104 key KB
My q6600 was dead stable at 3ghz.

8400 was stable to 3.5ghz in same board.

Probably coulda gotten both up much higher but that was plenty far enough for me.
Pretty much one of the easiest overclocks I've done. Just flip the multiplier, set the ram, and let it go. No voltage adjustment at all.
 

rvdevil

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2021
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Got these two to remember that good old days!
 

Attachments

  • OC E6400.jpg
    OC E6400.jpg
    428.3 KB · Views: 47
  • OC E8400.png
    OC E8400.png
    428.6 KB · Views: 50
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,236 (0.30/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 22H2
Joined
Jan 21, 2019
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
System Name CS Prime
Processor i7-5775C @4ghz eDRAM @ 2ghz
Motherboard Z97 Sabertooth USB 3.1 Mk1
Cooling Corsair H90
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB DDR3L @ 2ghz x2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX1080
Storage 512GB NVMe MyDigitalSSD BPXP, 4TB SATA WD Blue
Display(s) Q900RB
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR-X3700H
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 650
Mouse MX Master
Keyboard MX Keys
Ah memories. Look carefully and you'll notice a few fun things.

I still have the RAM from this setup in my closet, that was some great RAM. Also had to patch the microcode to get all the features working (it wouldn't do SSE4.1 before patching if I remember right?)
 

Attachments

  • 9_91_91184711_pl7_vs_pl6.jpeg
    9_91_91184711_pl7_vs_pl6.jpeg
    140.7 KB · Views: 49
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
781 (0.29/day)
System Name Fat NCASE
Processor Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING B550M ZAKU (WIFI) Edition
Cooling Scythe Fuma with 3 SCYTHE Wondersnail 2400RPM + Arctic MX2
Memory Corsair Vengeance 128GB @3200Mhz Cl16 (32GB X 4)
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 3060 StormX ITX 12GB
Storage MX500 4TB SATA + Toshiba MG08 16TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27UL500 4K monitor
Case Jonsbo W2 black
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek 1200 & Soundblaster G3 usb
Power Supply ASUS ROG STRIX 850W Gundam Edition
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse :)
Keyboard RK100 Royal Kludge
Software Windows 10 HOME
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
Damn I missed the days when Front side bus was a thing. I remember AMD criticise intel for it being slow versus their hypertransport integrated memory controller. Despite that Intel was still beating the AMD Phenom 1 in performance. Most important of it all it the fun overclock flexibility with FSB, seriously fsb is just soo good despite its limitations.

EDIT : I think the current AMD io die is a good spiritual successor to the FSB. The intel core 2 quad is the "original glue" before AMD did it with chiplets. AMD uses two core2duo die having it communicate through the front side bus.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,627 (3.97/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
A little hint of what im currently trying to get up and running...



Unfortunately its been sitting in the bag at the back of the shelf for so long that im going to have a beard before all the updates are completed (its been 2h30min already...) #DualCoreProblems

Trying to get this laptop up and running as a second machine as it packs more of a punch over my Clevo W310CZ. The screen is also bigger.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
781 (0.29/day)
System Name Fat NCASE
Processor Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING B550M ZAKU (WIFI) Edition
Cooling Scythe Fuma with 3 SCYTHE Wondersnail 2400RPM + Arctic MX2
Memory Corsair Vengeance 128GB @3200Mhz Cl16 (32GB X 4)
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 3060 StormX ITX 12GB
Storage MX500 4TB SATA + Toshiba MG08 16TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27UL500 4K monitor
Case Jonsbo W2 black
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek 1200 & Soundblaster G3 usb
Power Supply ASUS ROG STRIX 850W Gundam Edition
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse :)
Keyboard RK100 Royal Kludge
Software Windows 10 HOME
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
A little hint of what im currently trying to get up and running...



Unfortunately its been sitting in the bag at the back of the shelf for so long that im going to have a beard before all the updates are completed (its been 2h30min already...) #DualCoreProblems

Trying to get this laptop up and running as as second machine as it packs more of a punch over my Clevo W310CZ. The screen is also bigger.
I see this keyboard and I know its an acer gemstone. Iconic design back in the day. Even with duocore problem this is a worth machine for its looks. Old laptop have personality which many current thin design lack.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
22,627 (3.97/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Acer 5920 3DM2016.jpg


I wish i had an 8gb ram kit for this thing. you can get everything under 8GB for pennies but an 8GB kit is £100+

The laptop was running hot since i last worked on it a year ago. 70-80'c during windows update but repasting sees it around 65'c

Unfortunately unlike the picture in my previous post this one is rocking a 8600M GS and not the GT
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,257 (0.47/day)
Location
North Dakota
System Name Office
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock 3
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3050 XC Gaming
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB, Western Digital WD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Fractal Define 7 Compact
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 550
Mouse EVGA X15
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Home
View attachment 199930

I wish i had an 8gb ram kit for this thing. you can get everything under 8GB for pennies but an 8GB kit is £100+

The laptop was running hot since i last worked on it a year ago. 70-80'c during windows update but repasting sees it around 65'c

Unfortunately unlike the picture in my previous post this one is rocking a 8600M GS and not the GT
I have a similarly-spec'ed Dell XPS. Repaste did not solve its thermal issues. :(
 
Top