1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Remote ‘Kill Switch’ Added to Intel’s Newest Processor.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MatTheCat, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,354 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,913
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,252 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,206
    For it to be disabled remotely the computer has to be connected in some way to a network, and I'm sure there are some pretty big hoops to jump through to disable it.

    I'm guessing, as the artible mentioned, this is more for a laptop thing to disable the hardware if it is stolen. It isn't like Intel is just going to start disabling processors left and right just because they want to.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    I can see it now lol :laugh:

    WTF! i just hit standby on my tv remote and now my cpu is dissabled???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    No, but it gives them power t do so should they wish.

    This is setting a dangerous precedent.

    Fuck them. I am going to go for Bulldozer no matter what the benchmarks say. Sandy Brdige can GTF.
     
    Crusader says thanks.
  6. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    400 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    The FCC and the government in general (not just the US government, mind you) want the power to shut shit down - and this gives them that. They're already stealing domains without due process on "suspicions of piracy"...
     
    MadClown, MT Alex, Mussels and 2 others say thanks.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,252 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,206
    Not really, they have to know some information about the hardware before they can send the kill signal, information that only the owner of the hardware would be able to provide. You don't want it disabled, don't tell intel the info.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    400 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    Not even.
    Device serial number is all they would need, and of course that the driver for the chipset in the OS was enabled to look for the kill bit.
     
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,324 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Thats the first thing that came to my mind. What real purpose does this serve? Did we even ask for this, do we really even need this?

    Same goes for Facebook facial recognition. I just don't see why we need it, but I can see why they would like to implement it.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Ive seen the usa going crazy over security just latley and over recent years, makes me wonder if all this wikileaks business is just another excuse for more internet controls taking away more online freedoms,
    Whats to stop them logging all this information prior to sale only to push a button a couple of years down the line, people would think their cpu just died and pay out for more upgrades.

    I do this anyway lol but its besides the point, Still buying a 2600k cant resist the temptation :) .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I support this feature for users who like to remotely turn on and off the computer. However, if other 3rd parties have this feature, and it is known to the public, I will simply not buy the processor, cause I am paranoid, as well as scared to death of the government.

    I understand that some modern computers do in fact have a kill switch already, such as shown when Israel flew in planes under the Iranian radars, only to have the radars not fire on them, and mysteriously not work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    854 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Please do tell us more. The only ones I've heard about are the ones selling pirated music and fake Prada handbags. And that was a lot more than "suspicions".

    The COICA hasn't passed YET...
    http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=s111-3804
     
  13. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    400 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    If they make it so that the driver is open sourced (a bad thing and a good thing - hackers could use it, for example, but companies could create a secured driver...) then it might be ok. As it stands, I'd not buy it.
     
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    If anyone gets access to the driver who is not the governments, we are screwed? Why? How about a ransom virus that shuts down your computer unless you send someone money? Even if our governments get access we are in trouble, cause I am sure A WHOLE BUNCH of computers get shut down for piracy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. THRiLL KiLL

    THRiLL KiLL

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    758 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Seattle
  16. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,724 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    578
    I can only see this being enabled on the xeon variants and other VPRO business versions as it has been for a while now, this isn't new, its been a business feature, not worth worrying about right now.
     
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,424 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,922
    wikileaks

    Not illegal to publish, share, speach, freedom of expression, thought, ideas or otherwise by the first amendment in the US Constitution.


    However the government put pressure on multiple financial institutions to hold up the money, to shut down the site, to arrest and detain, to label a terrorist and by some stange twist a traitor, of the US when not a citizen?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    Not a traitor, but they are talking espionage. The person that stole the info,however is an american at the pentagon, in the army and is a traitor.Assange has the right to print it, but the person who gave him the info should be prosecuted. And yes, this coincides quite nicely with the internet regulation they are wanting to pass. Problem though is this: the FCC is voting on Dec 21 amongst themselves whether they will regulate the internet, without a bill from congress, who previosly voted it down, and without permission from the courts, who already ruled they could not do it. No matter what, they are gonna regulate the internet, whether we like it or not. They are simply going to deem themselves as having the power to do so, just like the EPA has deemed themselves to have the power to decide what gasses are harmful to the environment, with no oversight. Sorry a bit off topic..
     
    Bigjohn says thanks.
  19. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Makes me happy I've been using AMD for a while.
     
  20. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,324 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Intel is a big name very popular. Most people who don't know about computers probably have heard the name Intel versus AMD. Its not a big surprise intel would do this first.
     
  21. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    854 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Yeah that's one, and it's really debatable if that counts. It's actually a different topic.
     
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18,983 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,226
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Oh, it's like OnStar for computers (they can remotely turn off a stolen car and prevent it from starting). :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Isn't this going to be a big security risk if someone cracks the MS network, which has happened on multiple occasions.
     
  24. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    AMD does the same thing, don't think for a second they don't!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    I'd imagine production is well underway now. Doesn't it launch Q1? I doubt they'd scrap a few million procs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)