• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Replace Router or not?

Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#1
My current Wireless router - the popular Linksys WRT54GL.
Years of Reliable Service - 7+ yrs
Wireless Range - not the best
Cost - Free (Got from previous work place, thought the device is broken, but firmware upgrade solved the problem)

I am currently remodelling the house and Hard wired the entire home. Few devices like Laptops and phones do use wireless. I was thinking of getting a new Wireless router for following reasons:
1. Gigabit WAN link with Modem (Cox High speed Cable)
2. Wireless N connection
3. Better Wireless Range.

2 and 3 are not that higher priority but with the newer Gigabit interface routers will there be speed difference in internet browsing, gaming, downloading/uploading, youtube etc?

I don't have any dual-band capable devices so don't know if I should get a dual-band router.

Is the WRT still better?

One of the Cheapest and good reviews

NETGEAR JNR3210-100NAS N300 Wireless Gigabit Route...

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Chicago
Processor Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.91Ghz
Motherboard ASRock P45X3 Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory G.Skill 4x4GB@DDR3-1228 8-8-8-16-1T
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE HD5770 SOC
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + WD3200BEKT
Display(s) Toshiba 24SLV411U + DELL P190S
Case Rosewill Wind Knight
Audio Device(s) Creative SB0460
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software Windows
Benchmark Scores WEI 7.4
#2
Seems like a good deal, the need for dual band really depends on how congested the 2.4ghz channel is, check how many APs you can see when trying to connect to wifi, if more than, lets say 10, then you should invest in dual band. Good luck :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#3
I upgraded from a WRT54GL to an ASUS RT-AC66U and I'm very happy with it. The biggest difference I notice is the routing speed. The WRT54GL can only handle about 50Mbps of traffic on the WAN, and with internet speeds increasing I was hitting its max occasionally. If you just need wireless-N, then you can pick up a cheaper ASUS RT-N66.

As far as dual band performance goes, the utility of the 5GHz band is really dependent on the location of the access point. 5GHz doesn't penetrate many walls so if you do not place the access point in an open area you can expect no better (or even worse) performance than 2.4GHz. I have a congested 2.4GHz network where I live, but to get full 5GHz coverage of my 1200 square foot apartment with many walls I need two access points.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
with the newer Gigabit interface routers will there be speed difference in internet browsing, gaming, downloading/uploading, youtube etc?
To answer this question directly, no a Gigabit interface will not make your internet any faster. the only exception would be if your internet connection is faster than 100Mbps.

However, as The Von Matrices point out, the WRT54GL is too slow to handle the routing if your internet connection is faster than about 50Mbps, I'd actually go lower than that and say 25Mbps because that is what mine topped out at. Overclocking it got me to the 35Mbps range, but that was all I could get out of it.

So I'd definitely look at replacing the router, but a Gigiabit WAN port isn't necessary.

At this point, I wouldn't look at anything that wasn't Simultaneous Dual-Band. It might not seem necessary to have the 5.0GHz band now, but it is nice to have if you ever get a device that supports it.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
This thread reminds me that I need to start looking for a dual band access point.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#6
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#7
To answer this question directly, no a Gigabit interface will not make your internet any faster. the only exception would be if your internet connection is faster than 100Mbps.

However, as The Von Matrices point out, the WRT54GL is too slow to handle the routing if your internet connection is faster than about 50Mbps, I'd actually go lower than that and say 25Mbps because that is what mine topped out at. Overclocking it got me to the 35Mbps range, but that was all I could get out of it.

So I'd definitely look at replacing the router, but a Gigiabit WAN port isn't necessary.

At this point, I wouldn't look at anything that wasn't Simultaneous Dual-Band. It might not seem necessary to have the 5.0GHz band now, but it is nice to have if you ever get a device that supports it.
Last night I checked the speed and I get 23 down and 17 up. hmm how do I OC a router?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#9
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#10
Netgear WNDR3700
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
I upgraded from a WRT54GL to an ASUS RT-AC66U and I'm very happy with it. The biggest difference I notice is the routing speed. The WRT54GL can only handle about 50Mbps of traffic on the WAN, and with internet speeds increasing I was hitting its max occasionally. If you just need wireless-N, then you can pick up a cheaper ASUS RT-N66.

As far as dual band performance goes, the utility of the 5GHz band is really dependent on the location of the access point. 5GHz doesn't penetrate many walls so if you do not place the access point in an open area you can expect no better (or even worse) performance than 2.4GHz. I have a congested 2.4GHz network where I live, but to get full 5GHz coverage of my 1200 square foot apartment with many walls I need two access points.
Yeah i was getting that with my GL v1.1



To answer this question directly, no a Gigabit interface will not make your internet any faster. the only exception would be if your internet connection is faster than 100Mbps.

However, as The Von Matrices point out, the WRT54GL is too slow to handle the routing if your internet connection is faster than about 50Mbps, I'd actually go lower than that and say 25Mbps because that is what mine topped out at. Overclocking it got me to the 35Mbps range, but that was all I could get out of it.

So I'd definitely look at replacing the router, but a Gigiabit WAN port isn't necessary.

At this point, I wouldn't look at anything that wasn't Simultaneous Dual-Band. It might not seem necessary to have the 5.0GHz band now, but it is nice to have if you ever get a device that supports it.
Well as i saaid above i was getting around 50 with my GL but aa few days ago i did a check and was getting around 25 -30 max although i am using a G v3.1 and been meaning to change it just to check if it's down to Comcast or the router.


Anyways, i been thinking of picking up one of the Newer Netgear routers as we do already use a Netgear extender and has worked nicely with the current setup..

Only reason i have not picked one up is due to cost lol.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,602
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#12
This one (Amped Wireless R20000G) is what I got and the coverage is AWESOME and I barely have to touch it cuz it works so good.

I was able to stream HD 1080p vids from 200 some ft away!!!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#13
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
Just going from G to N is a major upgrade regardless if you need dual band or not