• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Replacing 24" LCD Monitor with 32" LED-LCD TV for PC Gaming

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#1
Hey all...

I'm considering replacing my 24" LCD monitor (Asus VW246H) with a 32" LED-LCD 120Hz TV possibly in the future. I really don't want to go much larger than 32" because it will sit on my desk (Staples Mobile Techstation - http://www.staples.com/office/suppl...ns-_-January%202010%20Furniture%20Collections ), and I am not using the KB tray due to space in my room in my apt atm. I sit approx 3 feet away from the screen, so going much larger than 30" is probably pushing it for comfort of gaming on a single screen.

I am open to suggestions for TV's, I've been looking at Walmart.com, Tiger, Newegg, BB, etc. I am looking for a TV that is LED-LCD, 120hz (does it matter for PC gaming?), and trying to keep it closer to $400 because that's about all I will have to spend. I might be able to push $500 if my next couple of paychecks are any good. My HD5870 has hdmi connections and what-not, it seems a lot of modern hdtv's are pushing pc connectivity and what-not. But I would really like to have something larger than what I currently have...and going the TV route seems to be a decent idea...so I'm open to suggestions at this point to get an idea. I am watching Black Friday deals and what-not...and depending on how x-mas shopping goes for the family I might have to wait...but I want to learn some of the TPU wisdom in this area as I am not sure if this is the right way to go or not...odds are I'll be keeping the Asus monitor as a backup and 2nd screen. I don't mind 1080 gaming, and I'm hoping what I plan is a good idea...otherwise I might just bag it, save my money and keep what I have.

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
4,034 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
USA
Processor I7 920 @ 4.1
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin
Video Card(s) 580
Storage 320GB
Display(s) BenQ V2400W
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
#2
sub'd for info ...
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
Well I'm still looking and researching, getting some conflicting results for 60Hz, 120Hz, 240Hz, etc. I am sure someday I'll try 3D, but seeing as you need glasses to utilize it, it's definitely not a priority at this time. I am perfectly fine with 2D screen, no-glasses game playing.

I have found an Asus AT3265 (Acer AT3265 Black 32" 6.5ms HDMI LCD Monitor Buil...), while rather expensive on the 'Egg can be had for around $400 elsewhere. Seems to review well, has a lot of connections, etc. Could this be what I'm after? Seems I missed an uber good deal on it, where it was around $350 on the 'egg with a promo code...lol. But that looks pretty close to what I'm after. I'll keep researching and post my findings, hope to see some experience posted here too!

This is $499 w/instant savings...an LG 32", 120HZ, 1080P, LED-LCD...http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0039RWAVS/?tag=tec06d-20

Gonna keep my eyes peeled more and more...it'd be sweet to snag something good for sub $400...closer to $350 would be freaking awesome!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#4
Kursah, 1 week ago I switched from 22" to a 32" HD TV! This model: Philips 32pfl5405h/12.
Funny thing is, i don't know if it is or not LED. Some parts of the documentation say it is, some ignore a clear definition...
Anyways.... I am amazed. Going from 22 to 32 was no problem for my GTX470, BF BC2 at maximum everything is a blessing...

I am sitting at a big desk, at about 70 cm from the screen. Only reading text needs some easy tweaks (image modes). White on websites or word or pdf documents is too intense otherwise
And then 1 little side-effect: when Windows goes into sleep or standby, the screen shows a message "No input, etc" that stays on forever... So I need to manually turn this monitor off at night.

But games and movies, and also office work, is better than ever! 32 is the max at this distance, I would suggest 30 or 28" if you are close to the screen.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#5
I can't give info on 120hz TV's, but i did for a while have a 32" @1920x1080 w/ HD 5770. Definitely worth it imo. I love the massive desktop space.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
Well doing conversion, I'm approx 86CM from the screen currently. There are so many variations and options to go with...just not sure what to choose! I still like the idea of the Acer above...if I can find it for a better price. I already run 1920x1080, so I have no worries in performance there. But text clarity is definitely very important to me as I do a TON of reading on my PC.

I have yet to see a TV with a DVI connector so it seems HDMI or VGA are really the only true viable options for a PC...I will be fine on that aspect though. For now I'm window shopping, I still gotta replace a $250 radiator in my pickup soon, but hopefully I can snag me a sweet deal on a good 32" TV with a sweet picture and solid performance. Thanks for the input erixx, some good food for thought.

:toast:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#7
Are you certain that the TV accepts 120Hz inputs? Most don't, and claim to be >60Hz because they generate fake frames in between the real ones. A 600Hz plasma television has to come up with 10 frames for every 1 input frame (assuming 60Hz inputs).
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#8
Are you certain that the TV accepts 120Hz inputs? Most don't, and claim to be >60Hz because they generate fake frames in between the real ones. A 600Hz plasma television has to come up with 10 frames for every 1 input frame (assuming 60Hz inputs).
Alot of them still do, so yes make sure this is real 120hz. My tv is "120hz" but it lies, and its 60. I use a 40" and sit about 4 ft away and cannot read anything on it (text wise) from a forum. Everything else is awesome.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
4,034 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
USA
Processor I7 920 @ 4.1
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin
Video Card(s) 580
Storage 320GB
Display(s) BenQ V2400W
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
#9
whats causing you not to be able to read anything? the distance or the lying of 120MHz?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#10
Are you certain that the TV accepts 120Hz inputs? Most don't, and claim to be >60Hz because they generate fake frames in between the real ones. A 600Hz plasma television has to come up with 10 frames for every 1 input frame (assuming 60Hz inputs).
Good to know, can you tell me about possible pos/neg impacts on gaming? A good 50% of the screen usage will be gaming, the rest is split between a little hulu and web browsing/reading. So clear text is very important. I am still learning some of the lingo...I still have an old flat screen tube TV...it's been in storage forever...I've settled on using my Asus 24" monitor for TV duties the last couple of years (between hulu and my tv card). But I wouldn't mind a larger screen for damn sure...60hz, 120hz, whatever. As long as I have a clear and crisp image, solid text, etc I'll be happy...doubt I'll find it today but at least I can start searching for the correct feature set.

Thanks for the info! Please keep it coming and shoot some suggestions if ya got em!
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,721
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
Get ya self in walmart and buy one you like if ya don't simply return it for as full refund within 90 days.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#12
I don't know if this will help, but I already have a spreadsheet for figuring out the area of 16:9 screens with a particular length diagonal.

For a 24" screen the area is 246 sq. in. For a 32", the area is 437 sq. in.

Since the max resolution on HDTV's is usually 1920 x 1024, the overall resolution is the same regardless of the screen's measurements. That means that the pixels per square inch for a 24" at that resolution are 7988 and for the 32", 4493. That means you have 77% more pixels per square inch at 1920 x 1024 on a 24" than a 32".

That's a huge difference and explains why if you look at the recommended viewing distance for HDTV's, the bigger the screen, the further back you're supposed to sit.

To put it differently, if you plan to use an HDTV in the same way and at the same resolution as for a computer monitor, the resolution should theoretically be 77% better - which is something that you aren't going to find anytime soon.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#13
whats causing you not to be able to read anything? the distance or the lying of 120MHz?
Having to wear glasses. Haha

I always make the text massive. My bro hates it.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#14
Some good food for thought, I'm gonna keep researching, and I do realize that I will lose some DPI/sharpness going with a larger screen...I am just gonna have to go see for myself if it's worth it or not at this point...I was kind of hoping it'd be better than last I tried around 7-8 years ago on a tube TV with 800x600 - 1024x768 resolution (horrible experience...). Thanks for the input thus far!

:toast:
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#15
Get ya self in walmart and buy one you like if ya don't simply return it for as full refund within 90 days.


Scratch this.

Take rig to wallmart, ask for demo!
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#16
Very good reasoning Twylit!
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#17
Yeah I was thinking the same thing as the OP having played 1920x1200 on a 23" for years now and with prices dropping and Black Friday etc approaching. But I also recently bought a nice Panasonic 42" Plasma which I absolutely love but wasn't overly impressed with what I saw when I connected my PC to it starting with the funky, lower resolution of like 1852x1048 or some shit.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#18
But I also recently bought a nice Panasonic 42" Plasma which I absolutely love but wasn't overly impressed with what I saw when I connected my PC to it starting with the funky, lower resolution of like 1852x1048 or some shit.
Not to hijack the thread, but that sounds sweet. Congrats. You might be able to set different parameters for different inputs. If so, play with the sharpness and contrast. That makes a big difference for me but my set is 3-4 years old and uses rear projection from an LCD and color wheel (Sony KDS-50A2000) I don't know if that's going to help on a plasma or not.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#19
32 inch kinda big enough :eek:, but before you start have you check your graphic yet? is that support big screen? i mean the rate, resolution etc bigger screen could reduce the frame rate that you demand on it especially when you game on it then the price
btw for now i dont see big difference between LCD and LED :D
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
165 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
System Name Render Box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 32 Gigs Trident Z@2400 cl15
Video Card(s) Dual XFX RX 480 8gig
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda,1TB Seagate Barracuda, 250g Seagate Barracuda, 240g HyperX Predator M.2
Display(s) ACER 23.5, HP LE1911,HP LE1911,
Case Raidmax Agusta
Audio Device(s) Realtek 12 Series HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard CM Storm
Software Windows 10 x64
#20
wear sunglasses.

Ive got a 32 inch Polaroid LCD HDTV as my monitor. its great for gameing but you need a 10 foot mouse/keyboard cable. if you sit at a desk for a while with that huge screen melting your face it gets rough. Headaches, mild sun burn, and a white screen its just brutal on the eyes. At night if i have just the monitor on and open up google,a folder,a text document, or any other white page it lights up my whole house. BLAOW!!!!!!!

Get some long cabled accessories and sit back. you'll love it.

But don't sit at a desk with an HDTV as your monitor.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,946 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#21
32 inch kinda big enough :eek:, but before you start have you check your graphic yet? is that support big screen? i mean the rate, resolution etc bigger screen could reduce the frame rate that you demand on it especially when you game on it then the price
btw for now i dont see big difference between LCD and LED :D
Running 1920X1080-60hz now on my Asus monitor (in system specs), I am sure my card will have no issue at that res on a larger screen as it does not on a smaller screen.

Reason I want to go LED lit, (which is still LCD btw, just LED backlit) is for improved contrast and lower power consumption.

Thanks for the suggestions Lost Hatter. I have seen a setup with a 32" LED TV and it was pretty impressive for gaming, the text was a bit off though...could've been his tuning for the screen. But damn games looked sweet on that screen!

:toast:
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
165 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
System Name Render Box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 32 Gigs Trident Z@2400 cl15
Video Card(s) Dual XFX RX 480 8gig
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda,1TB Seagate Barracuda, 250g Seagate Barracuda, 240g HyperX Predator M.2
Display(s) ACER 23.5, HP LE1911,HP LE1911,
Case Raidmax Agusta
Audio Device(s) Realtek 12 Series HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard CM Storm
Software Windows 10 x64
#22
No doubt. i would defiantly get the 32". i can only run mine at 1360x768 (720p) but it goes up to 1600x1200 at a normal aspect ratio. i game like that and its sweet looking. i want 3 so i can go "EyeFinity" LOL imagine that 3 32" LCD HDTV's as your screen(s) id never leave...lol

So if you your looking for a straight up answer for your question.......GET THE 32" HDTV.

And if your Text is a bit weird looking or you see lines between them, try an manually setting the "Phase" and "Manual clock" if the TV allows it. With the Auto SET function it does strange things.

The best way to set this is to open up a picture of a finely spaced GRID useing red,blue, or green lines on a black background. you will see what i mean if the Phase/Manual clock is offset. Some lines will appear larger or smaller if its not set correctly.

Polaroid HDTV (FLM-3234B) settings for 1360x768 output: (DVI1)
Phase-13
Manual Clock-122
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#23
1) Tweak your display settings at the LCD side for text and save it as a Personal/Custom profile. Use the stock Game profile for gaming, etc.
2) In Windows (or whatever OS, let's be open minded, lol) go to Advanced settings in display properties and configure colores a bit darker, specially or only the white background of windows.

Tweaked correctly, the light is no issue. And text is ALSO AMAZING on a 32".

(and no I am not a shareholder of screens, hahahaha)