• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reseting BIOS on Mining Card

Maltesse

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
Ok , So i Build new PC and i get used MSI RX 580 Gaming X 8GB ( The seller Said it was from Mining Rig ) , After i Install it and using it , There is something like Always Screen Tearing
So i Search about it and People told me to Reset BIOS of my GPU ( I Believe i also read about Risk being a Brick ) That's why i asking Help here

1575789374622.png


This is My GPU-Z Result on my Used RX 580 ,I Need to Reset BIOS or not ?
If I Need , May i ask for Guidance ?
Thank you Very Much
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,143 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) 1080Ti to AVR {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,030 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GTX 750TI
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 250GB SSD + 5 HDDs // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
Screen tearing in games or everything? Vsync in games will help with the tearing.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,929 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Amd also have a enhanced sync mode in drivers plus setting a max fps in the driver's C's help tearing too, and no risk of card damage.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
876 (0.26/day)
Tearing appears when you override the amount of FPS exceeding that what your screen can produce. I.e your screen is at 60FPS but your card is generating 90FPS. You can solve this by enhanced sync, with turning on antilag and even Boost if the game you play is supported by that.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
876 (0.26/day)
Memory corruption on GDDR6 might look different, try this: lower the memory speed from 2000mhz back to 1600Mhz. Just to test. If it's gone then the timings of the 2000Mhz settings might be the ones from 1600Mhz. On mining cards producing memory errors was'nt a thing really so there was a room for margin actually.

If lowering that clock does'nt work; and lowering the GPU clock does'nt show a diff either (set it to 1200Mhz) then it might be a shader issue. And thats pretty much hardware related.
 

Maltesse

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
Sorry For Asking again
I'm Making Sure This is Correct One

1576647830286.png


So i Set this VRAM Into 1600 Mhz right ?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
876 (0.26/day)
Yep.

Retest. If it's not doing it anymore it means that a timing set of 1600mhz memory is applied on the 2000mhz setting. In short: the timings are too tight for the 2000Mhz mark. And what you need is a stock bios which can be found here > https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/195651/msi-rx580-8192-170828

You need AMD / ATI Flash for that > https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

Just dont reset your computer while it's in the updating proces. After that memory timings should be restored to normal and the 2000mhz setting is working correctly now.
 
Top