• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Resident Evil 2 Remake: HDD can't load game zones at time and freezes

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
I recently installed Resident Evil 2 Remake on my second drive, a new Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD. Game runs smooth without stuttering but in some zone, sometimes, they aren't loaded. When I try to access a new zone, by a door for example, there is nothing and I can see the other room that was already loaded. It stays at that for some seconds and then it load and I can enter that zone.
In one of the hallways, I saw a zombie standing in in front of a window that was frozen and after zone seconds, it appears outside the window and started breaking the window. Also, there are randomly freezes in-game for some seconds and the HDD it's like it stopped working.

I checked Task Manager and Resource Monitor. HDD usage is 100% when this happens. Resource Monitor tells me that re_chunk_000.pak is being read by RE2.exe at 3.5-4.5MB/s and by System at 8.5-12.5MB/s. As this file is 22.1GB, the HDD "can't" load it a time so some zones aren't loaded in game and get freezes. (In GTA V the game only freezes and sometimes crash because of this)

I have defragged my HDD (the game folder and all the disk for make sure), checked page file is enabled and checked RAM usage in-game. Page file weren't used at all and 6GB of RAM (like much) where used while playing and when the game got freeze. For this, I think HDD could be the responsible. I also ran a Crystal Disk Benchmark and these are the results:



I moved the game to my SSD and this stopped happening. It's the HDD problem.

Some pictures:







This isn't the only game where this happens. In GTA V also does (I made a thread, but I never played the game anymore) and in CSGO also but this mostly never does. Also, in other games happens but not to much.

Can this be solved?
Sorry for long post.

My system specs:
i5 3340
8GB RAM DDR3 1333MHZ
GTX 1050 Ti
Gigabyte H61M-S1
Crucial BX300 120GB SSD (where Windows is installed)
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD (for game and media storage)
Userbenchmark bench
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,465 (1.78/day)
Likes
3,417
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10
#2
Can this be solved?
Nope. It's probably best to invest into a cheap 240-500GB SATA SSD just for games.
Also, your Seagate is actually slower. If you do an extensive test, you'll see that depending on the head position you can get somewhere between 70 and 120MB/s. Your bench result for sequential is only higher due to caching and small chunk size for testing. Random R/W is still abysmal.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#3
That a problem with normal hdd it cant keep up with the large data. I had a similar problem all i had to do is copy the the main folder to the ssd better loading time and quicker access time. As for me the freezing issue where i could walk into a room but get blocked by a non existed wall then the game will crashed to desktop. As for now that problem im having is related to ram timing as i have overclocked the ram all is needed is tweaking the timings. The game is awsome :).

theres a few fixes that can help with slow hard drives is to disable search indexng and sysmain aka prefetch as both will bog down the system while accessing slow hard drive
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,006 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,438
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
I think the main issue is that System is also accessing the files, which I don't think should be happening. As said above, disabling indexing and superfetch might help remove the load from the System process, you can also try disabling anti-virus to see if that is causing the problem.

One solution might also to get an extremely cheap SSD, like another 120GB, and use PrimoCache to create an SSD cache for the hard drive. You'll likely notice a pretty big difference doing that.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2018
Messages
179 (1.66/day)
Likes
107
Location
Hungary
Processor Intel Core i5-9600K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z390-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory G.Skill DDR4 RipjawsV 3200MHz 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Samsung 860 EVO M.2 250GB / Samsung 860 EVO 500GB / Kingston AV400 120 GB / Seagate external 1TB
Display(s) Eizo HD2442W
Case Cooler Master H500
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO headphones
Power Supply SUPER FLOWER Leadex Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech M500 refresh
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 1
#5
The game is using 6GB? are you playing on ultra? I'm playing on high settings with HBAO+ and it's only using 3.5GB
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#6
As well theres another compressing software called compactgui.exe can be found by github handly to gain more space depend per game
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,909 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,990
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#7
Is your ram a single 8GB module or 2x4GB?
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,909 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,990
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#9
Only thing i can think of is maybe turning down the settings. Your system is basically the bare minimum system requirements for the game but 8GB of ram is debatable as no-one knows how many services and apps you have loaded on your PC before you decide you want to jump into a game.

Upgrade to an SSD and try to get 16GB of 1600mhz DDR3 - The ram shouldnt be hugely expensive on the pre-owned market.

is the ram a matched pair? Because if they are different then, that could also cause issues when gaming.
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Only thing i can think of is maybe turning down the settings. Your system is basically the bare minimum system requirements for the game but 8GB of ram is debatable as no-one knows how many services and apps you have loaded on your PC before you decide you want to jump into a game.

Upgrade to an SSD and try to get 16GB of 1600mhz DDR3 - The ram shouldnt be hugely expensive on the pre-owned market.

is the ram a matched pair? Because if they are different then, that could also cause issues when gaming.
Yes, they are different. My Windows installation is fresh and no software is running in background. The Ram isn't fully used in-game.
Setting config make no difference, only in FPS.
I'm actually running the game on the SSD and these problems are gone.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#11
Sure the bare spec for games can be wrong at times sure i can run resident evil 2 on xeon e5450 with asus gtx 750 ti oc as the stuttering is not a problem for me i can get 60fps most of the time and drop down to 40fps depending on place
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,246 (6.36/day)
Likes
13,474
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#12

Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD (for game and media storage)
That drive should have better 4 KiB performance than that. I'd try replacing the cable and see if the numbers improve, if they do not, I'd try a different SATA port on the motherboard. If still no improvement, I'd try updating the SATA/chipset drivers. 90% says one of those three things will fix it. The cable/port is most likely experiencing high packet loss.

Here's my Seagate Exos 12 TB with matching settings:
Exos12tb.png
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
144 (0.45/day)
Likes
55
#13
This happened to me many times and because of it, i lost countless of game hours, was checking disk usage and nothing on that regard, my hdd is a 8tb seagate, I dont think is the drive itself, I think is how re2 devs made the thing and at ratio of 20% which is high, this problem tends to happen if you leave your games on hdd. So if some of you play hardcore, change to an ssd cause if not then you will be pissed like me, a perfect game on hardcore close to the end of game, no saves at all and this thing happened. I haven't touched the game ever since.

Sure the bare spec for games can be wrong at times sure i can run resident evil 2 on xeon e5450 with asus gtx 750 ti oc as the stuttering is not a problem for me i can get 60fps most of the time and drop down to 40fps depending on place

Graphical slowdown is not an issue here cause you can always lower settings, now concerning the cpu you have no way to make it better if you have less than 4 cores. So dual core on this game is pretty much dead.
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
That drive should have better 4 KiB performance than that. I'd try replacing the cable and see if the numbers improve, if they do not, I'd try a different SATA port on the motherboard. If still no improvement, I'd try updating the SATA/chipset drivers. 90% says one of those three things will fix it. The cable/port is most likely experiencing high packet loss.

Here's my Seagate Exos 12 TB with matching settings:
View attachment 116174
I tried to enable AHCI to see if improves performance. SSD gain a really good boost but HDD loses performance in sequential and some in 4K tests.

SSD AHCI:


HDD IDE:


HDD AHCI:


I will try to search for any driver to see if there is any improvement.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,006 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,438
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Use a bigger sample than 50MB, use the default 1GB at least.
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#17
This happened to me many times and because of it, i lost countless of game hours, was checking disk usage and nothing on that regard, my hdd is a 8tb seagate, I dont think is the drive itself, I think is how re2 devs made the thing and at ratio of 20% which is high, this problem tends to happen if you leave your games on hdd. So if some of you play hardcore, change to an ssd cause if not then you will be pissed like me, a perfect game on hardcore close to the end of game, no saves at all and this thing happened. I haven't touched the game ever since.




Graphical slowdown is not an issue here cause you can always lower settings, now concerning the cpu you have no way to make it better if you have less than 4 cores. So dual core on this game is pretty much dead.
Ha the xeon e5450 is capable enough to play game s as well it alot less poeer hungry unlike some cpu nowadays. If i paired it to an asus gtx 1050ti oc expedition it will do better well at the moment cpu is overclocked 4.12ghz @ 1.240v.. i have already pushed the same cpu to 4.37ghz a few months ago i believe i can gain more headroom so yea 4 cores 4 threads does work in my case
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,246 (6.36/day)
Likes
13,474
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#18
I tried to enable AHCI to see if improves performance. SSD gain a really good boost but HDD loses performance in sequential and some in 4K tests.

SSD AHCI:


HDD IDE:


HDD AHCI:


I will try to search for any driver to see if there is any improvement.
Did you try a different cable or port? Whenever I see terrible HDD performance, that's what usually fixes it.

SATA has error correction code. Packets that are bad get dropped which presents only as decreased performance. A 1 TB drive should be able to handle far more than 2 MB/s.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
950 (0.53/day)
Likes
270
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#19
i still use mechanical drives for near everything. i run most in raid pairs. and i also have a 250gb ssd as a cache. Works out ok.
I like to keep a good handfull of games installed, becuase nothing is worse than having to download a game you randomly decide you want to play.

havent had any issues yet and the strangest part is res 2 is installed on a non raid mechanical drive.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,654 (1.13/day)
Likes
924
Location
Long Island
#20
How old I that Seagate... we talking 7200.14 or ancient 7200.10 or older. we blind tested a 72001.12 against SSDs and SSHDs with 5 users for 6 weeks .... no one noticed the difference.

Note the recommended system requirements:
  • Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system
  • OS: WINDOWS® 7, 8.1, 10 (64-BIT Required)
  • Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-3770 or AMD FX™-9590 or better
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • Graphics: NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1060 or AMD Radeon™ RX 480 with 3GB VRAM
  • DirectX: Version 11
  • Storage: 26 GB available spac
Asked my youngest son ... he's playing it with a 2600k, 2 x 8 GB and S Seagate SSHD @ 1440 with no issues.
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
CS:GO and Apex Legends also stutters, this last a lot.
This started happening when I installed the SSD.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#22
Then stuttering could be related to ram timings or drivers or something bogging in the background. As for hard drive it depends on the cache level most preferrable 64mb or higher is better anything below 32mb is slower takes longer to access have you tried disable shadow cache in resident evil 2 to see if the problem goes away?
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
Then stuttering could be related to ram timings or drivers or something bogging in the background. As for hard drive it depends on the cache level most preferrable 64mb or higher is better anything below 32mb is slower takes longer to access have you tried disable shadow cache in resident evil 2 to see if the problem goes away?
With everything in Low and with Shadow Cache disabled, it feels that the game runs at lower framerate. Still freezing but only for a few seconds.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
454 (0.42/day)
Likes
170
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
#24
Have you used msi afterburner to display the fps as for me most of the settings are on low as well 1600x900, 60hz, variable fps and vsync on as i can get 60fps most of the time and dips down to 35fps depends on area as i got to nest lab and it stuck there found an out of bound wall which i ended up in a black hole and non existed wall in one of the doors before the game crashed again which could me either the cpu or ram is unstable. I get stuttering most of the time as the game is accessing the pak file as it a massive file. I may say it could be nvidia driver that could be lacking resident evil 2 profile. What is your system spec?

Here a link if it any help
http://frondtech.com/resident-evil-...-guide-fix-lag-fps-drops-bugs-and-stuttering/
 

Letrix

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel i5-3340
Motherboard Gigabyte H61M-S1
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage Crucial BX300 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2016 1TB HDD
Display(s) HITACHI HDTV
Audio Device(s) Sony MDR V88 Headphones
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard Genius
Software Windows 10 Pro
#25
Have you used msi afterburner to display the fps as for me most of the settings are on low as well 1600x900, 60hz, variable fps and vsync on as i can get 60fps most of the time and dips down to 35fps depends on area as i got to nest lab and it stuck there found an out of bound wall which i ended up in a black hole and non existed wall in one of the doors before the game crashed again which could me either the cpu or ram is unstable. I get stuttering most of the time as the game is accessing the pak file as it a massive file. I may say it could be nvidia driver that could be lacking resident evil 2 profile. What is your system spec?

Here a link if it any help
http://frondtech.com/resident-evil-...-guide-fix-lag-fps-drops-bugs-and-stuttering/
It's only feeling. The game runs at 60FPS most the time. Entering a new zone drop FPS to almost 45 but no freezes. Back to high settings (Shadow Cache turned off) it stutter. In the first encounter with William Birkin I have times where the game freezes for a few seconds.

My system specs:
i5 3340
8GB RAM DDR3 1333MHZ
GTX 1050 Ti
Gigabyte H61M-S1
Crucial BX300 120GB SSD (where Windows is installed).

This isn't exclusive for RE2 Remake. Also happens in GTA V, CSGO, Apex Legends and other titles.
 
Top