• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Restarting issue with my new build

Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys, I build my first pc over the weekend and it was running great. I was very excited when it turned on and booted up properly but there was an issue the next day. It would reset itself every so often. First every fee hours and then every few minutes. For that reason I think it may be an overheating issue but I don't know anything about computers, I was surprised this thing first turned on. Any suggestions on why it keeps resetting? It boots up windows, and logs me in, then after a while it just resets. No blue screen or anything.

Thanks!

Here's the build http://pcpartpicker.com/p/15uc1
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#2
Check the temps in the bios before it goes to windows then check the temps in windows via coretemp
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#3
Use something like HWMonitor to check temps and screenshot them here - did you install the stock cooler correctly?

If you fill in your specs here it will be easier than reading that pcpartspicker thingy:
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/profile.php?do=specs

Otherwise could be faulty PSU but that's doubtful,.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#4
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#5
PSU could be an issue a possilbility. Check the rails with a multimeter
These Corsair CX series are really shitty I think Corsair just used their good brand name reputation to put out an inferior product. Still better than most or all of the generic PSUs that are hideously over-rated in what power they can put out and are a danger to use.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6
These Corsair CX series are really shitty I think Corsair just used their good brand name reputation to put out an inferior product. Still better than most or all of the generic PSUs that are hideously over-rated in what power they can put out and are a danger to use.
They are not a danger to use by no means but 500 watts could be pushing it if he overclocks and this could be an issue.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#7
They are not a danger to use by no means but 500 watts could be pushing it if he overclocks and this could be an issue.
I was saying that Corsair CX series is BETTER than all the dangerous junk PSUs and is a good choice on a super tight budget. But they are certainly not worth Corsair name. If they are interested in making mediocre-at-best powersupplies they should open a new brand like CrapPirate? IDK...
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
I'll check out hwmonitor when I get home tonight, thanks guys. And I won't be over clocking so I don't think that will be a problem.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#10
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,614 (0.83/day)
Likes
650
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#11
MemTest

Run MemTest86 to check for memory errors. I had the same problem last year on a 2500K build, one of the Corsair Vengeance 1600 sticks was bad, showed up after a few weeks - random reboots, at first every few days, then it got worse until it would only run for minutes before crashing. By the time I was able to check the system it was pretty obvious what the problem was. I removed the bad DIMM and it ran perfectly. Corsair replaced them and it's run great ever since.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.83/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#12
Make sure the ram is getting enough voltage. Same thing happened to my rig when the default bios settings were too low.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
Your temps look great.

Does it shut down faster if you run Furmark?
Does it shut down faster if you run Prime95
(run them individually not at the same time, if you run at same time it's pointless experimnet)
Furmark ran for 20 minutes with no restart. After i quit Furmark and browsed the internet for 5 minutes the computer restarted, so not sure if furmark had anything to do with it because it had been closed for 5 minutes. Now i will try prime95
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#15
Furmark ran for 20 minutes with no restart. After i quit Furmark and browsed the internet for 5 minutes the computer restarted, so not sure if furmark had anything to do with it because it had been closed for 5 minutes. Now i will try prime95
the MOM.exe thing has nothing to do with your mother - you need to install .net framework which is a requirement for AMD Catalyst drives but need to be manually installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.45/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#16
Furmark ran for 20 minutes with no restart. After i quit Furmark and browsed the internet for 5 minutes the computer restarted, so not sure if furmark had anything to do with it because it had been closed for 5 minutes. Now i will try prime95
If it didn't shut down during Furmark it's definitely not related to:
-PSU
-GPU

So those can be ruled out.

Check the RAM. That or CPU temps. But if Prime95 comes back with no overheating of CPU after running for 10-15 mins (I suspect it will be fine) then it's probably RAM.


I honestly hope I'm being helpful - I enjoy this because not only am I happy to help the community, I find troubleshooting things like this interesting, educational, and fun.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
If it didn't shut down during Furmark it's definitely not related to:
-PSU
-GPU

So those can be ruled out.

Check the RAM. That or CPU temps. But if Prime95 comes back with no overheating of CPU after running for 10-15 mins (I suspect it will be fine) then it's probably RAM.


I honestly hope I'm being helpful - I enjoy this because not only am I happy to help the community, I find troubleshooting things like this interesting, educational, and fun.
You are very helpful! I've learned a lot(even tho I haven't really found the issue). But it's nice to eliminate problems, thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
If it didn't shut down during Furmark it's definitely not related to:
-PSU
-GPU

So those can be ruled out.

Check the RAM. That or CPU temps. But if Prime95 comes back with no overheating of CPU after running for 10-15 mins (I suspect it will be fine) then it's probably RAM.


I honestly hope I'm being helpful - I enjoy this because not only am I happy to help the community, I find troubleshooting things like this interesting, educational, and fun.
The error window is gone, thanks for the link to that download.

Also, how do I check the RAM?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
Make sure the ram is getting enough voltage. Same thing happened to my rig when the default bios settings were too low.
I'm not sure how to check that. What do I look for and do when I load up bios upon start-up and press delete? Is there something that says edit voltage to RAM?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,614 (0.83/day)
Likes
650
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#20
Also, how do I check the RAM?
Download MemTest86, burn it to a CD, restart and boot from CD, run MemTest several passes to see if errors show up. If they do, sometimes just re-seating the modules firmly will fix it. If errors persist after re-seating, you probably have a bad module.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#21
Please use the mutli qoute button instead of double/triple posting. THANKS

Download memtest86 ISO and burn to a disc. Boot your PC using the disc and run the test

http://www.memtest86.com/

^^
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#22
Please use the mutli qoute button instead of double/triple posting. THANKS

Download memtest86 ISO and burn to a disc. Boot your PC using the disc and run the test

http://www.memtest86.com/

^^
Sorry, my phone didn't give me the option.

I'm running memtest86. Few passes, no errors. Can it possible just be drivers or BIOS needing updating?

Could it be my power supply? Maybe I need more watts.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.83/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#23
I'm not sure how to check that. What do I look for and do when I load up bios upon start-up and press delete? Is there something that says edit voltage to RAM?
Yeah, that'sa all controlled in bios. I'm not sure about your specific motherboard so refer to the manual for where those options fall under the menu system.

Don't go crazy bumping the voltage up, seeing as your sticks require 1.5v I would start there and if you did want to undervolt them work it down in small incriments until stability is lost.

Or, you could do as I do. Set it and forget it.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
Yeah, that'sa all controlled in bios. I'm not sure about your specific motherboard so refer to the manual for where those options fall under the menu system.

Don't go crazy bumping the voltage up, seeing as your sticks require 1.5v I would start there and if you did want to undervolt them work it down in small incriments until stability is lost.

Or, you could do as I do. Set it and forget it.
Ok I upped the voltage for RAM very slightly and it still restarts. I don't want to put it too high. What's the max I should go?

It seems to run fine in safe mode, if that helps any.

I guess tomorrow I'll remove parts and try running it and see if anything is defective. ugg
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#25
Furmark is no stress test. It does not stress GPU close to 100%. lets get that strait. It blows as any kind of stressing.

OP Test your PSU with a multimeter.