• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Restarting issue with my new build

Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#26
Do one thing. Before the "Starting Windows" logo shows up, repeatedly tap F8. You will find the option "Disable automatic restart on system failure".

Now run the machine and see if you get any blue screens. It might happen that a BSOD is occurring so fast that you can't see it because a standard monitor takes time to switch resolutions(BSOD is displayed in 640*480)..

After you confirm this, we will help you to dig deeper.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#27
Do one thing. Before the "Starting Windows" logo shows up, repeatedly tap F8. You will find the option "Disable automatic restart on system failure".

Now run the machine and see if you get any blue screens. It might happen that a BSOD is occurring so fast that you can't see it because a standard monitor takes time to switch resolutions(BSOD is displayed in 640*480)..

After you confirm this, we will help you to dig deeper.
Ok it still just restarts. No blue
Furmark is no stress test. It does not stress GPU close to 100%. lets get that strait. It blows as any kind of stressing.

OP Test your PSU with a multimeter.
Any one in particular or just whatever I find online?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,516 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,273
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#28
Furmark is no stress test. It does not stress GPU close to 100%. lets get that strait. It blows as any kind of stressing.
??? Is this post supposed to mean what it says?

*Furmark is a GPU stress test... and DOES peg GPU to 100%...(though its overkill, yada yada, but...)

I'm a bit confused at what you were going on for a number of reasons, LOL! :)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#29
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#30
Any one in particular or just whatever I find online?
Any multimeter. check +12V yellow and +5V red on any molex connector. A physical multimeter would be better than a software, but you can try AIDA64 or Hwinfo .

Furmark is no stress test. It does not stress GPU close to 100%. lets get that strait. It blows as any kind of stressing.
There were cards with burnt VRMs due to furmark.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#31
Well check the power cable and PSU then.
Power cables in securely if that's what you mean.

Any multimeter. check +12V yellow and +5V red on any molex connector. A physical multimeter would be better than a software, but you can try AIDA64 or Hwinfo .
ok I'll check a software multimeter tonight, I don't have a physical one, would have to wait for it to ship here. I don't know what I'm doing with this but I'll figure it out!

Any multimeter. check +12V yellow and +5V red on any molex connector. A physical multimeter would be better than a software, but you can try AIDA64 or Hwinfo .
I have no idea what I am doing.


http://tinypic.com/r/ab759k/5



edit** It doesn't restart when I play TF2 on steam. I get an extra 45 minutes of usage before a restart if I have tf2 running.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#32
Power cables in securely if that's what you mean.



ok I'll check a software multimeter tonight, I don't have a physical one, would have to wait for it to ship here. I don't know what I'm doing with this but I'll figure it out!



I have no idea what I am doing.

http://tinypic.com/r/ab759k/5
http://tinypic.com/r/ab759k/5



edit** It doesn't restart when I play TF2 on steam. I get an extra 45 minutes of usage before a restart if I have tf2 running.
Close the summary window or set it aside.
Click Sensors button

Untitled.jpg


If they have really unrealistic off values like me, is due to hwinfo not supporting your sensors and you michgt have to check with AIDA64, speedfan, BIOS or a physical multimeter.

Untitled.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#33
Also another thing, your reset button wires may have broken the concealing and somehow touching the case which cause the reboot. To confirm this, unplug the reset button plug from the motherboard.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#34
Thanks guys, those looks like great ideas. I will be away for the weekend but I am excited to check this when I am back.

Also, I see there is a website called digiman, looks like an indian pc repair service. They have a free diagnostic. Is it worth it to give it a shot?

Thanks again
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#35
I think it's your RAM man. Just try RMA'ing it.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#37
??? Is this post supposed to mean what it says?

*Furmark is a GPU stress test... and DOES peg GPU to 100%...(though its overkill, yada yada, but...)

I'm a bit confused at what you were going on for a number of reasons, LOL! :)
Furmark sux for testing GPU. LOL 3Dmark presses GPU harder.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,516 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,273
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#38
Lol, do tell...
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#39
Overclock your GPU and run furmark till it passes(high overclock as possible), then run 3Dmark 11. You will crash. Done it many times. So thats what I am telling you Mr. LOL. It is well documented furmark is not a great Stress for GPU's plus it is so dated. Furmark does not come close to maximizing power draw. I tested it against 3DMark and it is not even close on the GPU test for power draw

If you google it and read threads, many pass Furmark and crash while gaming. Furmark will allow higher core speeds and when playing CPU intensive games, boom....


http://www.overclock.net/t/951349/how-much-of-a-stress-test-is-furmark

I found it wasn't much of a stress test, more of a maximum temperature indication.
A couple years ago when i started folding I ran furmark for several hours, trying to fine tune my overclock on my gtx285s, found my max stable & went to start folding, crashed about 10 seconds after loading. Same for 3d benchmarks.

Long story short, furmark stable wasn't even close to folding/gaming stable.
http://www.overclock.net/t/387213/best-video-card-stress-test-tool/20

I found furmark useless for stability testing, great for seeing the highest temps a gpu can reach though.
Spent a good amount of time using furmark once to find the highest stable clocks, got to where I saw some artifacts after a little while running so backed it down to where it was all good for 20 minutes or so. Stable in furmark wasn't stable for anything else, folding & benchmarks would all crash within seconds.
Gputool or evga OC scanner are supposed to be OK, quick tests with something like that to get a good starting point then test with the games/benches you normally run is best.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#40
Overclock your GPU and run furmark till it passes(high overclock as possible), then run 3Dmark 11. You will crash. Done it many times. So thats what I am telling you Mr. LOL. It is well documented furmark is not a great Stress for GPU's plus it is so dated. Furmark does not come close to maximizing power draw. I tested it against 3DMark and it is not even close on the GPU test for power draw

If you google it and read threads, many pass Furmark and crash while gaming. Furmark will allow higher core speeds and when playing CPU intensive games, boom....


http://www.overclock.net/t/951349/how-much-of-a-stress-test-is-furmark



http://www.overclock.net/t/387213/best-video-card-stress-test-tool/20
Totally agreed. I got 985 MHz core and 1310 MHz mem, on my 6770 absolutely stable in Furmark. However, when I was playing sleeping dogs, occasionally the game was stuttering and finally froze with the famous 6xxx series lines. I had to reboot computer and decrease clocks as on my specs.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,516 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,273
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#41
Overclock your GPU and run furmark till it passes(high overclock as possible), then run 3Dmark 11. You will crash. Done it many times. So thats what I am telling you Mr. LOL. It is well documented furmark is not a great Stress for GPU's plus it is so dated. Furmark does not come close to maximizing power draw. I tested it against 3DMark and it is not even close on the GPU test for power draw

If you google it and read threads, many pass Furmark and crash while gaming. Furmark will allow higher core speeds and when playing CPU intensive games, boom....


http://www.overclock.net/t/951349/how-much-of-a-stress-test-is-furmark



http://www.overclock.net/t/387213/best-video-card-stress-test-tool/20
Let me clear something up. My "LOL" in my initial post was a (failed) attempt to keep things 'light' since your attitude here more than usually precedes you. I'm going to guess that is what started your "LOL" to me which I took in a similar fashion. Damn the internet! So let's start over.

Thanks for providing that information. That said, Furmark was a shitty tool for stability as soon as card makers started throttling their line to compensate for the 'power virus' that they call it. To me though, it wasn't because its a bad test and that others use more power or get the GPU hotter, but b/c it was a power virus and could potentially hurt your card as the load that was put on it is unrealistic. In fact, I have an Nvidia press deck stating not to use it for those reasons.

Thanks for providing links... though they are from the same user, so who cares there (I know its easy to find others which goes a long way in making a point). Citing the same source in different threads, doesn't help, especially since we have no clue how knowledgeable that user is in the first place. Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one! :p

That said, Furmark still pegs your GPU @ 100% and was the application that gets my GPU's the hottest. So to bring this full circle, I see, now, what you are saying... It doesn't stress the CPU along with the GPU? That said, it wasn't made to be a CPU test. I was wondering about this statement:
DrDx said:
Furmark is no stress test. It does not stress GPU close to 100%. lets get that strait.
Furmark IS a GPU stress test and does stress the GPU to 100% (says 100%). Stability is a different ball game. But I understand now you are using stress and stability tests interchangeably. Perhaps elaborating a bit in that post would have helped (me) out b/c as it stands that statement left a bit to be assumed, hence my original request for clarity. ;)

For our testing, we use 3dMark11 and Unigine Heaven for power and temperatures. Unigine Heaven gets things a bit warmer on the GPU side than 11, Partly b/c its a constant load of the GPU versus 11 that has a couple of small breaks between tests. I haven't tested Furmark in years, but will check that out soon against 11 and reply back with my findings.

As a side note, have you mentioned to Wizzard that his GPU testing is all but wrong? He uses Furmark for 'maximum power draw' out of the GPU. Does Furmark land somewhere between gaming and 3d11 in your experience? Is that not really a worst case for the GPU?

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,626 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#42
Back on topic.

Were the standoffs in the case Installed in the correct positions?
Check also that the case is grounded.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#43
I am thinking it's time to unplug everything and plug it all back in.
Also some places have crappy wiring. Make sure the outlet is not causing the problem.
Try another.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#44
I am thinking it's time to unplug everything and plug it all back in.
Also some places have crappy wiring. Make sure the outlet is not causing the problem.
Try another.
My friend said it's probably my psu. You guys think I should just upgrade my psu?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#45
Also another thing, your reset button wires may have broken the concealing and somehow touching the case which cause the reboot. To confirm this, unplug the reset button plug from the motherboard.
It's not the reset plug

Close the summary window or set it aside.
Click Sensors button

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=51680&stc=1&d=1372406874

If they have really unrealistic off values like me, is due to hwinfo not supporting your sensors and you michgt have to check with AIDA64, speedfan, BIOS or a physical multimeter.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=51681&stc=1&d=1372407752
http://tinypic.com/r/34soyfs/5
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#46
These Corsair CX series are really shitty I think Corsair just used their good brand name reputation to put out an inferior product. Still better than most or all of the generic PSUs that are hideously over-rated in what power they can put out and are a danger to use.
The CX PSUs really are not that bad. Im running a CX430M in my File server and its running very well.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#48
New thing to check - are you running the latest BIOS?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#50
Let me clear something up. My "LOL" in my initial post was a (failed) attempt to keep things 'light' since your attitude here more than usually precedes you. I'm going to guess that is what started your "LOL" to me which I took in a similar fashion. Damn the internet! So let's start over.

Thanks for providing that information. That said, Furmark was a shitty tool for stability as soon as card makers started throttling their line to compensate for the 'power virus' that they call it. To me though, it wasn't because its a bad test and that others use more power or get the GPU hotter, but b/c it was a power virus and could potentially hurt your card as the load that was put on it is unrealistic. In fact, I have an Nvidia press deck stating not to use it for those reasons.

Thanks for providing links... though they are from the same user, so who cares there (I know its easy to find others which goes a long way in making a point). Citing the same source in different threads, doesn't help, especially since we have no clue how knowledgeable that user is in the first place. Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one! :p

That said, Furmark still pegs your GPU @ 100% and was the application that gets my GPU's the hottest. So to bring this full circle, I see, now, what you are saying... It doesn't stress the CPU along with the GPU? That said, it wasn't made to be a CPU test. I was wondering about this statement:
Furmark IS a GPU stress test and does stress the GPU to 100% (says 100%). Stability is a different ball game. But I understand now you are using stress and stability tests interchangeably. Perhaps elaborating a bit in that post would have helped (me) out b/c as it stands that statement left a bit to be assumed, hence my original request for clarity. ;)

For our testing, we use 3dMark11 and Unigine Heaven for power and temperatures. Unigine Heaven gets things a bit warmer on the GPU side than 11, Partly b/c its a constant load of the GPU versus 11 that has a couple of small breaks between tests. I haven't tested Furmark in years, but will check that out soon against 11 and reply back with my findings.

As a side note, have you mentioned to Wizzard that his GPU testing is all but wrong? He uses Furmark for 'maximum power draw' out of the GPU. Does Furmark land somewhere between gaming and 3d11 in your experience? Is that not really a worst case for the GPU?

Thanks!
Nothing personal, It is all cool. Furmark is a shitty stress test as I explained earlier. If it opasses and crashes in 3DMark11, makes it very shitty. Many others agree as someone did in this thread. I think we can close the case on Furmark as it does not load power draw period....