• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Revamped PlayStation Store and PS3 Firmware 2.30 Available

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Work on the revamped interface of the PlayStation Store for the PS3 has been completed and firmware 2.30 for PS3 is now available. The PlayStation Store is no longer HTML based and will allow faster access to the revamped system. To access the new PlayStation Store you'll need to first update to firmware 2.30 over the net or manually later when download links are active. Additionally firmware 2.30 adds DTS-HD Master Audio support for Blu-ray videos.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2
I'll go and take a long at this, thanks for the info :toast:

Edit: Ok, the new store is a little easier to navigate, but I do have quite a big problem. On my 32" CRT, even though the writing should be nice and big compared to most CRTs, I still can't read some of the smaller writing and can't find a way to zoom. Anyone else found a way to do so? On the browser you just press R3, but that doesn't seem to work here.
 
Last edited:

sinner33

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
194 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada,Ontario,Markham
System Name Pencil Pusher (Because I built it to surf the net)
Processor Intel X4 Quadcore Kentsfield @3.0Ghz @1.325V
Motherboard Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500LED/Arctic Cooling MX-2 Paste
Memory 2x 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC 5,5,5,18 @ DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) Sapphire 3870x2 @825/1900
Storage 500GB Hitachi
Display(s) LG 24" LCD
Case Silverstone Lascala LC-17
Audio Device(s) DENON AVR-2808 RECEIVER W/ KLIPSCH SYSTEM/ ASUS XONAR D2 SOUND CARD
Power Supply Seasonic M12 700 WATT PSU
Software Windows Vista Premium 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 20000 3dMark06
#3
Hope this thing allows bitstream. The receiver does a better job of decoding it ;)
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#4
I'll go and take a long at this, thanks for the info :toast:

Edit: Ok, the new store is a little easier to navigate, but I do have quite a big problem. On my 32" CRT, even though the writing should be nice and big compared to most CRTs, I still can't read some of the smaller writing and can't find a way to zoom. Anyone else found a way to do so? On the browser you just press R3, but that doesn't seem to work here.
I don't know, I never had that problem when I was using my 30" in crt.

The new store looks amazing on 1080p. It's very streamlined and easy to find everything compared to the old store. Also this update brought DTS-HD (24.5bit blu ray, as compared to the 15bit supported by HD-DVD). I'm thinking it's time to update my receiver.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,513
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
Hope this thing allows bitstream. The receiver does a better job of decoding it ;)

I bit the bullet too soon and only bought a HDMI 1.2a Amp :shadedshu BUT If I choose Dolby HD(like Beowulf I am watching now) I still get a decent 1.0Mbps and up signal output over PCM vs any other choice at 640kbps:D
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
My LCD uses PCM for its speakers with the PS3 and everything sounds low, but uniform.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#7
as i posted in the ps3 clubhouse, not many people will notice the difference between lpcm and dts-hd ma. bluray discs will either have an lpcm track or a dts-hd ma track. lpcm is 16bit/48khz uncompresses audio while dts-hd ma is full 24bit/48khz compressed audio. so with dts-hd ma you actually get the tru 24bit sampling but it is encoded. some audiophiles say they can tell the difference.

on my 5.1 setup with a marantz sr4002 receiver the dts-hd ma track averages between 3-5 Mbps watching the movie Sunshine. the lpcm track on the 5.1 setup watching 3:10 to Yuma sits at 6.1 Mbps. If only they could fit both the DTS-HD MA and LPCM tracks on 1 disc do that we could compare the difference! compressed 24bit/48khz versus uncompressed 16bit/48khz!!!!!! the audiophile in me is dieing.

btw, my receiver does not decode dts-hd ma but since the PS3 does and I use HDMI 1.3 to transfer the signal, all is well.
 
Last edited:

sinner33

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
194 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada,Ontario,Markham
System Name Pencil Pusher (Because I built it to surf the net)
Processor Intel X4 Quadcore Kentsfield @3.0Ghz @1.325V
Motherboard Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500LED/Arctic Cooling MX-2 Paste
Memory 2x 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC 5,5,5,18 @ DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) Sapphire 3870x2 @825/1900
Storage 500GB Hitachi
Display(s) LG 24" LCD
Case Silverstone Lascala LC-17
Audio Device(s) DENON AVR-2808 RECEIVER W/ KLIPSCH SYSTEM/ ASUS XONAR D2 SOUND CARD
Power Supply Seasonic M12 700 WATT PSU
Software Windows Vista Premium 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 20000 3dMark06
#8
The new Denon receivers seem to do it from 2808 and up. 1.3A HDMI and decoding of DTS-HD =)
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#9
The new Denon receivers seem to do it from 2808 and up. 1.3A HDMI and decoding of DTS-HD =)
yup, but if the PS3 is already doing it and you are using hdmi 1.3 then its not worth spending the extra money on a receiver that does it.
 

sinner33

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
194 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada,Ontario,Markham
System Name Pencil Pusher (Because I built it to surf the net)
Processor Intel X4 Quadcore Kentsfield @3.0Ghz @1.325V
Motherboard Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500LED/Arctic Cooling MX-2 Paste
Memory 2x 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC 5,5,5,18 @ DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) Sapphire 3870x2 @825/1900
Storage 500GB Hitachi
Display(s) LG 24" LCD
Case Silverstone Lascala LC-17
Audio Device(s) DENON AVR-2808 RECEIVER W/ KLIPSCH SYSTEM/ ASUS XONAR D2 SOUND CARD
Power Supply Seasonic M12 700 WATT PSU
Software Windows Vista Premium 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 20000 3dMark06
#10
yup, but if the PS3 is already doing it and you are using hdmi 1.3 then its not worth spending the extra money on a receiver that does it.
I wonder if there's a difference in quality in what is used to decode the HD-DTS though? Anyone know? :confused: Does quality of the hardware play factor in this, or is it a universal standard? :ohwell:
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.55/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#11
I wonder if there's a difference in quality in what is used to decode the HD-DTS though? Anyone know? :confused: Does quality of the hardware play factor in this, or is it a universal standard? :ohwell:
i dont think there is a difference between how the PS3 decodes DTS-HD MA or how your receiver decodes it. If you use HDMI 1.3 to send the DTS-HD MA signal to your receiver it will probably default to pcm instead of bitstream since HDMI can handle all that information. If you are using an optical connection then you have to set the PS3 to bitstream and the receiver will switch to bitstream.