• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Revisiting The RV Park WiFi

Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#1
About a year ago, I was helped out immensely by people here in updating a WiFi system for a local RV Park..

Here is the thread: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/wifi-hotspot-for-rv-park.180045/

Things went real smoothly for quite a few months, but now the system keeps collapsing. Not sure if it's from User overload or something else, but Management at the RV Park wants to update the system..

Since that last discussion back in 2013, the requirements have coalesced into being more specific.

What we need is an outdoor all-weather system such as this .....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Extreme-Net...or-Access-Point-3550-5Yr-Warnty-/181294372320

.... but with a/b/g/n protocols.

We definitely need POE...

It needs to cover a lightly wooded area approx 400x400 feet http://sjfm.us/temp/RV012814.jpg

It needs to handle high load access such as streaming video for multiple (many) connections...

And it needs to come in under $5K-$8K...

And, while we're at it, lets see if we can bring peace to the Middle East and get that Mars Landing program done.. :D

Michale

NOTE: Cleared up time discrepancy. It wasn't 4 years ago, it was a year ago. My bust..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,943 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,906
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Are you looking for AC protocol as well? "A" is not used very much at all. Problem with AC is it's still emerging, so not nearly as many products on the market (yet). But it is far superior for bandwidth and range. More an more adaptors (and laptops and phones) you'll see will be both N and AC capable.

Google "Wireless AC Access point" and you won't find a lot of direct hits, but plenty of N units.

You can also build an outdoor enclosure if you want to go that route.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#3
Are you looking for AC protocol as well? "A" is not used very much at all. Problem with AC is it's still emerging, so not nearly as many products on the market (yet). But it is far superior for bandwidth and range. More an more adaptors (and laptops and phones) you'll see will be both N and AC capable.

Google "Wireless AC Access point" and you won't find a lot of direct hits, but plenty of N units.

You can also build an outdoor enclosure if you want to go that route.
Yea, that's the way I went back in 2010...

http://sjfm.us/temp/rvwifiBox.jpg

And it works and I will likely go that way again with the expanded.

But having a weather proofed AP in place is a really nice way to go. :D

Thanx for the reply... I'll check out the AC units..
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,943 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,906
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#4
Yea, that's the way I went back in 2010...

http://sjfm.us/temp/rvwifiBox.jpg

And it works and I will likely go that way again with the expanded.

But having a weather proofed AP in place is a really nice way to go. :D

Thanx for the reply... I'll check out the AC units..
Nice housing, what did you get for a router back then? I suggest AC for "future proofing". AC has been out for a while but companies are still putting out what can only be described as prototypes. Commercial use is still young.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,689
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
i say go with wifi N, the tech is mature and you get N150/N300/N600 as speed options in well tested hardware.

you could also go with powerline/homeplug tech for multiple backbones to the various AP's.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#6
Nice housing, what did you get for a router back then? I suggest AC for "future proofing". AC has been out for a while but companies are still putting out what can only be described as prototypes. Commercial use is still young.
In that pic, I had a skinned Linksys WRT54G running DD-WRT... In the 2010 hardware update, I went with a series of Amped Wireless R2000G that was suggested by RemixedCat here...

Planning for possible future needs definitely has appeal...
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#7
i say go with wifi N, the tech is mature and you get N150/N300/N600 as speed options in well tested hardware.

you could also go with powerline/homeplug tech for multiple backbones to the various AP's.
Yea, I thought that as well. But my concern is that there are one or two bandwidth hogs that might be overtaxing the current AW R2000Gs that are installed new. I am just now starting to research the logging/QoS capabilities of the R2000Gs.. If anyone has any insight on that as well...

Well, as Ross Perot said in the 1992 Presidential Debates, "I am all ears"... :D
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#8
Keep in mind that a BIG part of what we need is POE. That was the down side to the AW R2000Gs that I ended up using. POE is a major requirement.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,689
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Yea, I thought that as well. But my concern is that there are one or two bandwidth hogs that might be overtaxing the current AW R2000Gs that are installed new. I am just now starting to research the logging/QoS capabilities of the R2000Gs.. If anyone has any insight on that as well...

Well, as Ross Perot said in the 1992 Presidential Debates, "I am all ears"... :D

all i can advise is that the TP link routers i use all have per-IP bandwidth management. you can literally set a global rule say
192.168.1.2 through 192.168.1.255 all have max down of 400KB/s and max up of 40KB/s

then no one user can hammer the network, they just choke their own bandwidth pool. now clearly you should be able to get the same effect with better hardware, but if TP link can do it on a $20 router, you should be able to find a superior version with what you're dealing with.

one advantage here: you only need to do the shaping once, at the upstream level, more or less at the core modem/router.
disadvantage: if you're going to segregate the network with multiple DHCP servers, you'll have to give the router a higher allocation, and then re-shape the bandwidth after each router.


edit: the TP links i have also support PoE. they may not have the performance levels you require, however.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
I built you a system a in that other thread and it was over looked. I just built the same system using a P4 1GB ram with dual Gig NIC cards, a gig POE switch with 14 POE wireless N 300mbps nodes and it houses over 175 devices at this time and has ran strong for 3 months without a single slow down or reboot.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#11
I built you a system a in that other thread and it was over looked. I just built the same system using a P4 1GB ram with dual Gig NIC cards, a gig POE switch with 14 POE wireless N 300mbps nodes and it houses over 175 devices at this time and has ran strong for 3 months without a single slow down or reboot.
At the time, I didn't have the knowledge to really understand what you were trying to say..

I am a little smarter now. :D

What OS are you running on the P4 machine that's acting as the router??
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#12
IPcop

http://ipcop.org/

download the ISO and burn to a disk and its quite easy to install. Then you can access it via webpage using port 8443
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#14
Well with that software, the more NIC cards you put in the more interfaces you can create.

Also when it comes to access points, I would recommend UniFi AP's. They have a nice piece of software that you can control and map each of their locations along with monitor traffic/users individually.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,335
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#15
Ubiquity and any hardware router/firewall for bandwidth management.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#16
Well with that software, the more NIC cards you put in the more interfaces you can create.

Also when it comes to access points, I would recommend UniFi AP's. They have a nice piece of software that you can control and map each of their locations along with monitor traffic/users individually.
That sounds like EXACTLY what I need... Do you have any recommendations on specific models??
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#17
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,837 (0.55/day)
Likes
528
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#18
+1 ubiquiti
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,837 (0.55/day)
Likes
528
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#22
OK, I am writing up a proposal for the management for an upgrade...

One question though.. The UniFi AC AP that is POE ready would STILL require a ToughSwitch type device to actually feed the power to the APs, right?? I was thinking that, if I went for the AC units as opposed to the B/G/N units, I could forgo the ToughSwitch on the AC units.

But that's not the case. Regardless of whether I go with the AC or with the B/G/N, I will still need that TouchSwitch... Right??
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#23
You had them this long and you didnt' try the QoS???

If you want the absolute best nitty gritty QoS controls I recommend Cisco Meraki. I have tested 2 of thier routers and I have one of thier access points... the MR12.

Here's a screen shot of the QoS controls:

Group policies configuration - Meraki Dashboard.png

See this review I wrote for one of the routers I tested:
http://remixedcat.blogspot.com/2014/01/cisco-meraki-mx60w-review.html

Put the RV park guests on the seprate VLAN and throttle torrents and stuff.

Thing is the meraki stuff is more on the pricey side MR12 is 300 some including the software license, the MX60W is around 1000USD, However the range isn't as good as the amped units so you would need to deploy more of them


Now the extreme networks unit you mentioned requires a wlan controller which adds to the cost. Meraki does not require that as it's cloud managed. also with it being cloud managed it's anti theft and also they have air marshall in them as well as auto rf.
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#24
Yea remixcat, the IPcop has a pretty good QoS setup that can be done but its up to him on price he has on this project and what he want to do as the local IT support cause he may not be familar with how cisco management works. I do agree that is a good router.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#25
Is IPCop's QoS like the Meraki???