1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rivatuner OSD:How does it work ?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by wolf2009, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. wolf2009 Guest

    How does the rivatuner OSD work ? does it only show up when GPU is accessed ?

    like it shows up in games, photoshop, adobe reader, and while playing a movie ?

    or can it show up even when GPU is not used ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,882 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,049
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    If it's like the EVGA Precision OSD which I would assume it is because before the Precision OSD Utility was available it was a Rivatuner extension that Precision was using.
    As far as I know it's a simple Overlay program, things you can show are:

    Pretty simple, shows any of the following that you want:
    FPS (includes rendering method DX9 or DX10)
    GPU Speed, Mem Speed, Shader Speed
    GPU Temp

    might be a couple I missed. I generally run temp and FPS.

    It does show in screenshots from what I've seen, but at least on default is for games/3d apps only, i.e. say Left 4 Dead, or a game benchmark. Though with Vista x64 I've seen some interesting things, like not being able to use the Steam overlay (shift + tab iirc) when OSD is running. But aside from that it's really simple, I do like it better than the FRAPS FPS overlay for more general use and monitoring.

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wolf2009 Guest

    no i'm not asking how to get it working. that part i know.

    I'm asking like does it intercept calls to GPU or DirectX from a particular soft and if the soft does so, it shows up in the soft ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,882 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,049
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Dunno, didn't program it. :p

    I would assume it intercepts calls though, might be worth contacting the developer for that one.

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,957 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,940
    it intercepts direct3d calls.

    it injects a dll into every application that is started, hooks calls to direct3dcreate(), returns a modified interface that has more calls hooked. before the final present() call it draws some stuff on screen and calls the original present()
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)