• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Rma time?

Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#1
So I was updating my bios from the asus windows bios utility. My computer crashes at about 70%. And now after following the manual and pulling the battery I still cannot get a post. I have removed my GPU and I am using the onboard. With 1 stick of ram I know is good. Have i killed it? Would asus even bother helping me? I am within warranty but this might be consider user stupidity...

Resolved

I had two systems;

System A

Antec Earth Watts 430W psu - Good
Gigabyte GA-990FX - UD3 -Good
FX 8120 -Good
4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1066 -Good
250 GB Main HDD -Good
1.5 TB Secondary HDD -Good


System B
Corsair TX750W PSU - Good
Asus M5A88-V EVO motherboard - BAD
AMD Phenom ii X4 955 CPU - BAD
4x4 GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Good
G.Skill Pheonix 128 GB SSD - Good

I have isolated the bad parts, by taking each piece of system B, and individually replacing it's corresponding part in System A(which I know to be functioning).

It simply came down to, System A would not post with just the Phenom II X4 chip. And the Asus M5A88-V Evo(An AM3+ board), would not post when setup with the rest of System A. This was very difficult to isolate, because I initially replaced the System B Board with a Gigabyte GA 970A- UD3, and because two parts had gone bad.
 
Last edited:

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#2
Seems like every decent motherboard manufacturer has some feature to help recover from bad BIOS updates (whether that be from crashing or extracurricular activities). Have you looked into that at all?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
Yeah, I thought Asus has some sort of bios restore utility ....

Might only work on ROG boards **shrugs**
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,232
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#4
I believe ASUS boards use removable BIOS chips so they may be able to just send you a new one.

Also, much safer to update BIOS thru DOS using a bootable USB flash drive.... flashing thru Windows is a dangerous game as you have just found out. Not mentioning to rub salt in a fresh wound or anything... just a caution for future BIOS updates :eek:
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
13
Location
Seattle area
Processor Core I7 4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Extreme
Memory 4x8GB Mushkin Blackline PC3-2133 11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980 TI Superclocked
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro + 4x 250GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 2x Dell UP2414Q
Case Fractal Design XL R2
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620M
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
#5
That's odd, under normal bios flashing operations, the normal bios code and boot block sections are flashed independently to avoid complete catastrophe like that. Many systems will be able to flash a bios file off a floppy, but it looks like asus has more advanced ones generally.

Assuming the PQ5 Pro listed in system specs,

Features:

CrashFree BIOS 3

Simply restore corrupted BIOS data from USB flash disk
The ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3 allows users to restore corrupted BIOS data from a USB flash disk containing the BIOS file. This utility saves users the cost and hassle of buying a replacement BIOS chip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LirQ-oM9XBI

Are you not seeing the emergency boot block spamming messages about not finding a bios file to flash from?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#6
Sorry, this isn't a system listed on the side, It's an M5A88 EVO Asus. It's the system I run at work. Like I said, the bios reset instructions from the manual, state that you swap a jumper after powering off, and in worst case scenarios, you unplug the battery as well for 10 seconds. Then battery in, jumper back in place, and power up. After doing all that, the DDRLED keeps lighting up like it has bad memory. And won't post.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,232
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#7
That board supports the Crash Free BIOS utility- check the BIOS section of the manual for the procedure

The mobo DVD or a specially prepped Flash drive is necessary. Also, pull the Clear BIOS jumper off of the board just in case it is on the wrong pins- it is not necessary to be on there.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
The EVO has the "ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3 "
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#9
To do all the Crash Free bios stuff, I'd need post.. I can't even see that.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,232
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#10
To do all the Crash Free bios stuff, I'd need post.. I can't even see that.
According to what I read the board checks for the presence of a crash free file on the DVD drive or USB drive upon bootup and the utility starts prior to post to restore/rewrite the BIOS. I don't think you need to see it- just start the PC with the DVD in the drive or the flash drive plugged in and go from there....
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#11
According to what I read the board checks for the presence of a crash free file on the DVD drive or USB drive upon bootup and the utility starts prior to post to restore/rewrite the BIOS. I don't think you need to see it- just start the PC with the DVD in the drive or the flash drive plugged in and go from there....
I have tried the original CD, and a thumb drive. I have let the system sit there for 30 minutes each time. Nothing, no post on restart. Nada. The board is acting like the ram is bad, and the DR-LED is lit, every time I boot. I have tried, known working ram in this system, and get the same result.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Have you tried using the mem-OK button?

If that doesn't work, I'd say its RMA time.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#13
Yea, just tried it. Held it for 3-4 seconds, and still nothing. But that Dram light comes on ...immediatly everytime.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#14
From reviewing your motherboard, I noticed it has a 8 pin removable bios. This is just a shot in the dark but if you have a similar asus motherboard with the 8 pin bios you can HOT FLASH the bios by loading into the bios flashing too or your bootable usb then while the PC is on, reach in an remove the bios and put the bad bios in then flash. Once complete shut down and replace each bios to its original board and see if it will post.

As crazy as this is, I have done it more than once with success but its a chance you have to take.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
Hi,

I made the same mistake by using that Asus update utility for bios upgrade in Windows 7 x64 a few years ago when I tried to update the bios of my P5B Vanilla, because it seems that this Asus bios update utility in x64 Windows OSes is the kiss of death for motherboards. I don't believe Asus is still distributing this tool for bios flashing in Windows, especially in the x64 Windows OSes.

Luckily, I managed to revive the Asus P5B motherboard once by using that Crash Free 3 bios recovery. First it didn't work, perhaps because I made use of a 4 GB usb pendrive (too big?) which had a correct bios for the P5B in the pendrive, and also because I didn't make use of a PS/2 keyboard. Then later I switched to an old 256 mb usb stick (with the correct bios of course) and unplug all usb devices from the usb connections from the PC (including ubs keyboard and mouse), and use a PS/2 keyboard instead (had luckily one somewhere). And to my surprise the CrashFree Bios 3 bios recovery kicked in this time and was searching for cd-rom, pendrives and so on with the correct bios for the motherboard, it indeed found the 256 mb pendrive with the bios and started to re-flash process automatically, then restart voila, the PC booted up. I guess Asus didn't tell people to use smaller usb pendrives and PS/2 keyboard to make use of that CrashFree bios 3 recovery.

So it worked for me, but if it does not work for you, then it's definitely time for rma. Seriously, I will never flash bioses in Windows environment, booting up in DOS environment to flash videocards/motherboards etc. may be a little more tiresome at first, but it's way more stable and can save yourself a lot of trouble.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#16
Ok, do UPDATE TIME. Went out and picked up a Gigabyte 970 chipset based board, swapped in, working ram(1 stick in DIMM4), working PSU, NEW motherboard, and Working GPU(works in an AM3+ based system). Still, no post.

Either, another bad board OR, a bad main chip? I would think even with a bad chip, you'd still get post if the board was good....thoughts?
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,677 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,232
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#17
Ok, do UPDATE TIME. Went out and picked up a Gigabyte 970 chipset based board, swapped in, working ram(1 stick in DIMM4), working PSU, NEW motherboard, and Working GPU(works in an AM3+ based system). Still, no post.

Either, another bad board OR, a bad main chip? I would think even with a bad chip, you'd still get post if the board was good....thoughts?
Sounds like the chip is the only thing not changed- what chip are you using and are you sure that PSU is good?

*note- I had an issue with a PII 720BE not behaving well with DDR3 memory but runs fine with DDR2 in an older board :shadedshu
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#18
Exact model if the Gigabyte please.

@Norton
I remember that, ended up being a dodgy DDR3 controller.
 

zootac

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
124 (0.06/day)
Likes
39
Location
england
#19
Ok, do UPDATE TIME. Went out and picked up a Gigabyte 970 chipset based board, swapped in, working ram(1 stick in DIMM4), working PSU, NEW motherboard, and Working GPU(works in an AM3+ based system). Still, no post.

Either, another bad board OR, a bad main chip? I would think even with a bad chip, you'd still get post if the board was good....thoughts?
how good is the c.p.u. heat sink siting on the c.p.u. if its not sat good mite be over heating,
Just my 2 sens on it.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
#20
http://www.frys.com/product/6820916?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

IS the new board;

Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 AMD 970 AM3+ Motherboard

I gutted an AM3+ system I had on the side for work, and interchanged parts till I isolated the trouble makers. Turns out, bad main CPU, bad original board. The Phenom X4 won't post at all in my completely functional AM3+ based setup. Thinking of picking up a 1045T at micro center and RMA'ing both pieces and just selling em when I get the RMA's back.

That is, those pieces being the Asus M5A88-V EVO, and Phenom X4 II 955 that were apart of the original setup. The rest of those parts work great.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#21
So I was updating my bios from the asus windows bios utility. My computer crashes at about 70%.
The problem starts here so I'd lean towards PSU or RAM (since it looks like your old mobo is fine and CPU's rarely die). Oh, and disconnect HDD's/ODD's when testing; I've had a bad hard drive that stopped a mobo from even posting once.

You could still do a hot-flash on the other board since there's a good chance it's not the source of the problem.