• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ROCCAT Kone[+] Laser Gaming Mouse

Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,260 (0.29/day)
Likes
481
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE z77
Cooling Scythe
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32GB LP DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) ATI HD6900
Storage Vertex 3 + Random storage
Display(s) Samsung 27"
Case Lian-Li
Audio Device(s) Boatloads
Power Supply 600 Watt Corsair
Software W7
#1
ROCCAT's latest high performance laser gaming mouse is called the Kone[+]. The [+] indicates that it is a refined version of its critically acclaimed Kone mouse. All of the features found on the original are carried over to the [+] version. The [+] brings a slew of new features and an optimized design to the table. We test the mouse to see how it fares against latest and greatest gaming mice on the market.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
301 (0.10/day)
Likes
34
#2
Tracking issues at 6000 DPi might have reason in that tiny fact, that Avago 9500 is 5040 DPi sensor. :)

Interpolated resolution can make numbers bigger, but it wont help fact, that you cant have 6000 DPi out of 5040 DPi.

Typical marketing crap.. unfortunately Logitech is doing same, well, pretty much everyone.. :/

Kinda similar to megapixel/ISO wars between digital camera makers. Yes you have bigger number, but its same crap as before or even worse. :D
 

NotEmul8d

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I'm in the states and have been trying to find some place that sells these. I see it pop up on Amazon once in a while, but they are usually gone before I'm able to order one. Any other shops that sell these in the states?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,260 (0.29/day)
Likes
481
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE z77
Cooling Scythe
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32GB LP DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) ATI HD6900
Storage Vertex 3 + Random storage
Display(s) Samsung 27"
Case Lian-Li
Audio Device(s) Boatloads
Power Supply 600 Watt Corsair
Software W7
#4
Tracking issues at 6000 DPi might have reason in that tiny fact, that Avago 9500 is 5040 DPi sensor. :)

Interpolated resolution can make numbers bigger, but it wont help fact, that you cant have 6000 DPi out of 5040 DPi.

Typical marketing crap.. unfortunately Logitech is doing same, well, pretty much everyone.. :/

Kinda similar to megapixel/ISO wars between digital camera makers. Yes you have bigger number, but its same crap as before or even worse. :D
First of all the Avago ADNS-9500 sensor will do 5700 DPI with a custom firmware supplied by their dev team. It is not unlikely that a company can expand this with a different firmware. The 6000 DPI is not always a good thing since it will most likely induce more jitter and a greater overhead.

And yes the analogy to this is the megapixel-war.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,260 (0.29/day)
Likes
481
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE z77
Cooling Scythe
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32GB LP DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) ATI HD6900
Storage Vertex 3 + Random storage
Display(s) Samsung 27"
Case Lian-Li
Audio Device(s) Boatloads
Power Supply 600 Watt Corsair
Software W7
#5
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
697 (0.20/day)
Likes
70
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor C2D E8400@3.9GHz (488x8, 1.4v :( )
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Thermaltake Sonic Tower+120mm fan
Memory 2GB kingmax ddr1066@976MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Radeon X1800GTO @700/1400MHz with Accelero S1+Glacialtech fancard
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.10 160GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 793s... just you laugh...
Case some Aplus case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Chieftec 450W
Software Win7 x64
#6
First of all the Avago ADNS-9500 sensor will do 5700 DPI with a custom firmware supplied by their dev team.
i don't know for sure but i always thought that the max dpi is limited by the sensor's physical resolution, correct me if i'm wrong.

anyhow, these dpi settings are getting bat-shit insane, who the hell needs a 6000dpi mouse?. i just switched from mx510 to g400 (i was forced to since the right click died, it turned out that the microcontroller is crapping out) and i simply run the lowest dpi setting available, the highest is just insanely fast. they should focus on the tracking accuracy at higher speeds and working with a wider range of surfaces instead of sheer resolution.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#7
i don't know for sure but i always thought that the max dpi is limited by the sensor's physical resolution, correct me if i'm wrong.

anyhow, these dpi settings are getting bat-shit insane, who the hell needs a 6000dpi mouse?. i just switched from mx510 to g400 (i was forced to since the right click died, it turned out that the microcontroller is crapping out) and i simply run the lowest dpi setting available, the highest is just insanely fast. they should focus on the tracking accuracy at higher speeds and working with a wider range of surfaces instead of sheer resolution.

Same here i don't need the fastest mouse out there but you definitely need higher DPI as you get a bigger monitor , if you switch for a bigger screen than your 17" one day you'll be using higher DPI for sure
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
697 (0.20/day)
Likes
70
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor C2D E8400@3.9GHz (488x8, 1.4v :( )
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Thermaltake Sonic Tower+120mm fan
Memory 2GB kingmax ddr1066@976MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Radeon X1800GTO @700/1400MHz with Accelero S1+Glacialtech fancard
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.10 160GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 793s... just you laugh...
Case some Aplus case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Chieftec 450W
Software Win7 x64
#8
ahaaaaaa... i got enlightened.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
1,260 (0.29/day)
Likes
481
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE z77
Cooling Scythe
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32GB LP DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) ATI HD6900
Storage Vertex 3 + Random storage
Display(s) Samsung 27"
Case Lian-Li
Audio Device(s) Boatloads
Power Supply 600 Watt Corsair
Software W7
#9
i don't know for sure but i always thought that the max dpi is limited by the sensor's physical resolution, correct me if i'm wrong.

anyhow, these dpi settings are getting bat-shit insane, who the hell needs a 6000dpi mouse?. i just switched from mx510 to g400 (i was forced to since the right click died, it turned out that the microcontroller is crapping out) and i simply run the lowest dpi setting available, the highest is just insanely fast. they should focus on the tracking accuracy at higher speeds and working with a wider range of surfaces instead of sheer resolution.
It is limited by the physical size, but with the normal firmware only part of the total resolution is used.

Even for high sensitivity gaming on 1920 x 1200, 2000 DPI is more than enough.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#10
Great review Fred and yes that site is legit. I have been wanting one as well because I have really begun to love Roccat and the Steel Series