• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Rockstar Games "Considers" GTA V Wii U and PC Versions

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,917
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
Seriously, give it a rest, it wasn't unoptimized, it wasn't a poor port, for what it was it ran extremely well. No other game, even to this day, has dozens of fully destructible vehicles and NPCs on screen constantly. Of course that is going to be CPU intensive. THAT IS WHY THEY GIVE YOU THE OPTION TO TURN THE NUMBER DOWN. That is also the reason that the settings used for consoles were basically low.

If all you idiots cared about was the ability to run it on max settings on your mid-range hardware, then the only thing Rockstar would have had to do to optimize the game would be to limit max settings. Make what they called medium the max, and you all would have been happy. The game would have run perfectly fine on mid-range hardware on "max" settings. And you all would have talked about how well "optimized" the game was. And it still would have looked way better than 720p Low settings we got on the consoles.

The fact of the matter is that when the PC version game out I played through it on a Athlon X2 4400+ and an HD4670, and it looked better than the console versions.
Yea, it looked great on my Q9550 @3.8ghz and GTX285. If you turned it up it looked amazing. I need to go through this again with my 2600k @ 4.5ghz /w GTX570.. hehehe I want to play through Mafia 2 as well. :toast:

EDIT: SSD should help with this game as well! :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
99 (0.05/day)
Likes
62
Location
Budaörs, Hungary
System Name masina
Processor Ryzen R5 1600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard GigaByte AB350-Gaming 3
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 EVO
Memory 16GB (2x8) DDR4-3000 @ 2933 Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Armor OC 6GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 640GB WD Black
Display(s) LG IPS224-V
Case Zalman Z9 Neo /Black/
Power Supply be Quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys L PBT
Software Win 10 Pro
#27
They haven't given a flying crap about the PC gaming community in the last couple of years. To be honest I found it a miracle that LA Noire got ported to the PC platform...
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.82/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#28
Considers = Crap bad port
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,133 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,699
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#29
People need to chill with the bad optimization and crappy port talk. Upgrade your $400 systems and deal with it.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#30
Bunch of cry babies as they doubt the need for so much RAM, VRAM and cores to process the logic behind the awesome that is GTA4. I wonder how much more you would have cried if there would have been load screens every few blocks, or no subways, NPC, cars, police, and much else.


I bought it, and have bought almost all the other editions, and would buy GTA5 if they make it available within reason.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,856 (0.66/day)
Likes
516
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#32
"Theres not that many limitations" yes GTA V can run on consoles but I don't want to play @ 30FPS with occasional drops. I need PC
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#33
Don't care about PC GTA5, I want PC Red Dead Redemption.

GTA4 ran fine on all of my systems. There were some slow downs from time to time, but it looks and played great.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
715 (0.28/day)
Likes
208
Location
A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
System Name 192.168.1.1
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 20GB of mixed Kingston sticks (Who says mixing and matching don't work!)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 780Ti Twin Frozr Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + lots of TBs of HDD storage.
Display(s) A Samsung S24D590 Primary + Philips 220E (sans two pixel-columns) secondary
Case Corsair Graphite 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Coolermaster 850V
Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software MS Win7 Ultimate X64 (Until it reaches EoL, anyway)
Benchmark Scores Me no know English. What bench mean? Bench like one sit on?
#34
No other game, even to this day, has dozens of fully destructible vehicles and NPCs on screen constantly.
Mafia, Mafia II, Sleeping Dogs, Saints Row:The Third, and -though not with so many vehicles- Prototype. Not to mention previous versions of the game.

Not trying to be a smart ass or anything, but the game's "un"optimization was too provocative. So I think us PC gamers have the right to voice our complaints. You can't just justify Rockstar selling games they obviously never bothered to break a sweat porting by saying there are/were no games with the same gameplay :)

They haven't given a flying crap about the PC gaming community in the last couple of years. To be honest I found it a miracle that LA Noire got ported to the PC platform...
They did Max Payne 3 good. Way oversized, but at least they gave the PC platform some love.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
99 (0.05/day)
Likes
62
Location
Budaörs, Hungary
System Name masina
Processor Ryzen R5 1600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard GigaByte AB350-Gaming 3
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 EVO
Memory 16GB (2x8) DDR4-3000 @ 2933 Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Armor OC 6GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 640GB WD Black
Display(s) LG IPS224-V
Case Zalman Z9 Neo /Black/
Power Supply be Quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys L PBT
Software Win 10 Pro
#35

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#36
Mafia, Mafia II, Sleeping Dogs, Saints Row:The Third, and -though not with so many vehicles- Prototype. Not to mention previous versions of the game.

Not trying to be a smart ass or anything, but the game's "un"optimization was too provocative. So I think us PC gamers have the right to voice our complaints. You can't just justify Rockstar selling games they obviously never bothered to break a sweat porting by saying there are/were no games with the same gameplay
Ok, I'll say that there are some games that have matched it recently, so I kind of misspoke, but those games came out at least 2 years after GTA 4 was released on the PC. Mafia is an exception, but the original Mafia didn't come close to doing what GTA 4 did, you were lucky to get 10 cars on screen at the same time, as the same with NPCs. But the more recent games are comparable to GTA 4.

However, the game still wasn't unoptimized. It ran very well on the PC, it ran on low end PCs very well, that shows they put some time into optimization. Again, the fact that I ran it, with it looking better than consoles, on a mid-range system when it was released is a testimony to the fact that they did put time into optimizing it.

People bitched because they couldn't play it at max settings, but your post points to the fact that it took other games 2+ years to reach the same level as GTA4. The developers said when they released the game that they designed it beyond what the hardware of the day was capable of, they allowed the options of the engine to exceed what current hardware could handle. They knew that. But they also allowed the settings to go extremely low, and the game ran very well on low-end hardware, and looked good too. That is what defines an optimized game. It isn't the fact that max settings can be played on high end hardware, but that the game is playable and looks good on current hardware. If you think max settings being playable is the only test of an optimized game, then all Rockstar had to do to optimize the game would be to cut all the options in half and call those max. BAM, I just optimized the game to your definition in 5 seconds.

They didn't do a crappy port, crappy ports are what we are getting now, ones that don't even let us raise the graphics options beyond what they were on consoles. Rockstar letting us set the settings as high as we wanted, way beyond what consoles are capable of is a good thing, and idiots just bitched about how max settings were too high.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
64 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Yakima, Washington
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4@3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory 4x ADATA XPG Gaming Series DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) CL9 2GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 560ti
Storage KingstonSSDNow V Series SNV425-S2BD/64GB; WD 500GB Black; WD 1TB Black; WD 2TB Green
Display(s) ASUS VW266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Case NZXT PHantom Black full fan complement
Audio Device(s) Onboard with 5.1 Logitech speakers
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Truth be told, never really bothered to overclock it... I probably should. Any tips? Send me a PM.
#37
I'll buy when the full edition including DLC's is at 75% off on Steam.
I'll probably do the same.. but that's just because you and I both are cheap bastards with limited money. That's life.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
665 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#38
I'd be worried about his one TBF. The lead programmer (Matt Shepcar) on the previous GTA games for console went and set up double eleven a few years ago along with a few other accredited people from the GTA projects (Lee Hutchinson) . It could be why there is no PC version, If the consoles were proving labour some to get sorted within budget then the PC is the platform that will be cut.

Matt has just had a very real success with the rest of double11 with the success of little big planet on the PSV. I still need to pop in and have a Guinness with him :D

Oh before you flame my bud he never touched any of the PC versions, Just the console variants.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#39
it wasn't unoptimized, it wasn't a poor port, for what it was it ran extremely well.
If you can say things like that, I'm confident to state that you have absolutely no idea, (none whatsoever!) about the capabilities and the processing power of a modern PC, and the tasks what a video game might demand from a given platform.
The game was so horribly coded (just like 90% of all the Rockstar games), it was and is beyond repair. I had a good PC that time, but I remember that I hacked in some configs what made the game look like something from the Playstation-1, and it was still choppy.
I bet that if you would replace the entire (also unoptimized) graphics engine of the game with an engine what would only draw shaded boxes for everything (cars, NPCs, houses, etc, nothing but boxes without textures), it would still run like boiling crap.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#40
I'll probably do the same.. but that's just because you and I both are cheap bastards with limited money. That's life.
Should only take a few weeks, right? :laugh:
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
777 (0.38/day)
Likes
599
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, WD VelociRaptor 1TB (WD1000DHTZ)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Arch Linux
#41
Oh well, i'll consider if i buy another "Rockstar Games" game ever.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
US
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#42
when they finish milking the console versions after a year then dlc and such when the console cow runs dry then PC will get it.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#43
If you can say things like that, I'm confident to state that you have absolutely no idea, (none whatsoever!) about the capabilities and the processing power of a modern PC, and the tasks what a video game might demand from a given platform.
The game was so horribly coded (just like 90% of all the Rockstar games), it was and is beyond repair. I had a good PC that time, but I remember that I hacked in some configs what made the game look like something from the Playstation-1, and it was still choppy.
I bet that if you would replace the entire (also unoptimized) graphics engine of the game with an engine what would only draw shaded boxes for everything (cars, NPCs, houses, etc, nothing but boxes without textures), it would still run like boiling crap.
PC have a A LOT more overhead than consoles. Even with an Athlon X2 with a 8800gt I was able to run at medium settings. There must have been wrong with your computer.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
194 (0.08/day)
Likes
32
Location
Montreal, Canada
Processor Phenom II 955 @ 3955Mhz 1.45v
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 push-pull /2x140mm + 2x230mm + 2x120mm = super noisy computer
Memory 4x2Gb Kingston DDR3-1333 8-8-8-22 @ 1527Mhz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x Sapphire Radeon 6850 @ 850/1200
Storage 320Gb Western Digital WD3200AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 23" 1920x1080
Case Azza Solano 1000R Full-Tower
Audio Device(s) VIA VT1708S (integrated) + quadraphonic speakers
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 700w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#44
PC have a A LOT more overhead than consoles. Even with an Athlon X2 with a 8800gt I was able to run at medium settings. There must have been wrong with your computer.
there must also have been a memory leak as severe as a fat man on laxatives
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#45
They did Max Payne 3 good. Way oversized, but at least they gave the PC platform some love.
True that. Forgot about Max Payne 3.
Most probably because Max Payne 3 were made by four Rockstar studios (Vancouver, New England, Toronto, London), compared to GTA's one (Rockstar North).
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
#46
Was gonna point out Max Payne 3, but never mind. If they do as good of a job with GTA5 as they did with the optimization of Max Payne 3 I'll consider it. I didn't think they could get a GTX 460 with a I5 750 to run playable at max tessellation, SOMEHOW!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#47
If you can say things like that, I'm confident to state that you have absolutely no idea, (none whatsoever!) about the capabilities and the processing power of a modern PC, and the tasks what a video game might demand from a given platform.
The game was so horribly coded (just like 90% of all the Rockstar games), it was and is beyond repair. I had a good PC that time, but I remember that I hacked in some configs what made the game look like something from the Playstation-1, and it was still choppy.
I bet that if you would replace the entire (also unoptimized) graphics engine of the game with an engine what would only draw shaded boxes for everything (cars, NPCs, houses, etc, nothing but boxes without textures), it would still run like boiling crap.
As v12Dock says, something must have been wrong with your computer. Because as I've pointed out, I played through the game without issue on an Athlon X2 4400+(a processor that was 3 years old when GTA4 came out) and an HD4670(admitted a current gen card when GTA4 came out, but the mid-range of the current gen).
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,472
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#48
If you can say things like that, I'm confident to state that you have absolutely no idea, (none whatsoever!) about the capabilities and the processing power of a modern PC, and the tasks what a video game might demand from a given platform.
The game was so horribly coded (just like 90% of all the Rockstar games), it was and is beyond repair. I had a good PC that time, but I remember that I hacked in some configs what made the game look like something from the Playstation-1, and it was still choppy.
I bet that if you would replace the entire (also unoptimized) graphics engine of the game with an engine what would only draw shaded boxes for everything (cars, NPCs, houses, etc, nothing but boxes without textures), it would still run like boiling crap.
Runs reasonably fine on my rig. Maybe you just had a poorly built PC.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#49
If you can say things like that, I'm confident to state that you have absolutely no idea, (none whatsoever!) about the capabilities and the processing power of a modern PC, and the tasks what a video game might demand from a given platform.
The game was so horribly coded (just like 90% of all the Rockstar games), it was and is beyond repair. I had a good PC that time, but I remember that I hacked in some configs what made the game look like something from the Playstation-1, and it was still choppy.
I bet that if you would replace the entire (also unoptimized) graphics engine of the game with an engine what would only draw shaded boxes for everything (cars, NPCs, houses, etc, nothing but boxes without textures), it would still run like boiling crap.
Aren't you the same guy who .......


http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2676789#post2676789



What kind of computer are/were you running exactly. I had a quad core with 4GB of RAM and a 4850 1GB edition that I overclocked.


It ran medium high settings at 40-60FPS on my machine at 1920X1200, and more when I got my 940 and 5870.