• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ROP of Navi 23???

Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
84 (0.26/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6600 XT
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
Hey, guys. I've been looking forward to Navi 23-based 6600 XT for such a long time, and I just found that there are different data of the number of ROP of Navi 23.
The number of ROP is always 64 on 6600M, W6600 and W6600M in our TPU database, while it's not the same at the VideoCardz - it's 64 on 6600M, but 32 on W6600 and W6600M.
And I think they are both not evidence-supported enough.
Could it be that AMD cut half of the ROP on workstation models and leave full spec on gaming models?
What do you think of this? And I'm looking forward to some convincing replies.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,922 (4.02/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
It's not physically possible to have the same chips with the same number of CUs but different number of ROPs. They all have 64 ROPs, VideoCardz probably just made typo.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,837 (3.60/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
It is 64 ROPs, I personally confirmed the number with AMD

edit: I had originally written "CU", I meant "ROP" of course
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
84 (0.26/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6600 XT
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
It's not physically possible to have the same chips with the same number of CUs but different number of ROPs. They all have 64 ROPs, VideoCardz probably just made typo.
Yeah, that's what I think. But I then recalled what happened to K10.5 microarch and its Phenom II and Athlon II lineup... We unlocked the disabled cores and cache by ACC function. Beside that, we unlocked some CUs by flashing VBIOS into certain GPU models... I hope it's a typo. I don't think 32 ROPs are enough to match 128 TMUs.

It is 64 CU, I personally confirmed the number with AMD
Thanks a lot, bro! It's great to have official reply to get rid of my worries! Now I'm more looking forward to 6600 XT, lol

It is 64 CU, I personally confirmed the number with AMD
Oh, btw, I remembered the screenshot of 6600M using our GPU-Z version 2.40.0 still indicated that it was 32 ROP. Is that to be corrected in the next version? Thanks for all your efforts.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,837 (3.60/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
GPU-Z version 2.40.0 still indicated that it was 32 ROP. Is that to be corrected in the next version?
Yeah this is already fixed in the codebase, fix will be included with next release
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
84 (0.26/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6600 XT
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
84 (0.26/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 6600 XT
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
AMD, come on, launch 6600 series please... I have been waiting for too long now... I just need a card that's affordable and also powerful enough just like 6600 XT!
 
Top