• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Router question

XFelon

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
Have a router question - With so many out there and not really sure what "stats" to look for on one I thought I would reach out online. I have searched and searched and couldn't really pin down an answer.

So here is the scenario -


I have now a modem in the living room (pretty central in the house - main floor) with a gig of internet.

Off of that room, there is my office and have cat 6 running from the modem to a router in the office where it - directly connected to a computer, xbox and tv.

I am moving that router (in the office upstairs). This is where the question comes in -


What router or devices (if there are any) out there that would be best for online gaming (mostly on xbox series x) that would be direct connected to it


Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,000 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
so you move the router from your office that in different room to upstair?
 

XFelon

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
so you move the router from your office that in different room to upstair?


Correct. I am moving the router that's in the office now to the loft upstairs.


I want to get a new router or whatever device is best for the office for gaming. Just not sure what to get. It will be direct connected to the modem in the living room and then directly connected to the xbox, computer and tv in the office
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
143 (0.03/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i7-4790
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H87N-WiFi Rev. 2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Pro 240
Memory Corsair 16Gb (2x8Gb) DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX5700XT Nitro+
Storage TOSHIBA 2Tb / ADATA SSD 240Gb
Display(s) BenQ EX2780Q
Case Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
If all wired u dont need a router. A network switch will suffice or his dumb cousin a network hub
 

XFelon

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
If all wired u dont need a router. A network switch will suffice or his dumb cousin a network hub


That's what I am wondering as well. Wasn't sure on other options. I don't really need a router (adds a little) - Mainly need something that would connect to the modem and "extend" the connections to the office. While running them best as possible as well
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,811 (1.51/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Mainly need something that would connect to the modem and "extend" the connections to the office. While running them best as possible as well
Powerline switchs one for modem and one to connect to network switch ( use your home power circut to carry the load)
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,528 (1.27/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Are you doing a wired connection from the old office to the loft? If so, all you need is a network switch. Anything that can do Gigabit speed will do, as cheap unmanaged switch are all much of a muchness these days.
I'd suggest something along the lines of this. One cable up to the loft, four cables out. There are obviously options with more ports, but you only seem to be connecting three devices to it so...
Note that you still need your old router, as a switch doesn't replace a router in a network. Reading some of the reviews of the switch I linked to, some people seem to think that you can just plug a switch into a cable modem and get multiple IP addresses...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,194 (2.02/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Powerline switchs one for modem and one to connect to network switch ( use your home power circut to carry the load)

However it may not work that well in an old house.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,528 (1.27/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
However it may not work that well in an old house.
Nor through breaker boxes in the same house, if each floor has a breaker box.
The speed is also nowhere near what's being advertised and as the OP has Gigabit speed internet...
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
184 (0.09/day)
Location
Japan
System Name ChronicleScienceWorkStation
Processor AMD Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard Asrock X399 Taichi
Cooling Noctua U14S-TR4
Memory G.Skill DDR4 3200 C14 16GB*4
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon VII
Storage Samsung 970 Pro*1, Kingston A2000 1TB*2 RAID 0, HGST 8TB*5 RAID 6
Case Lian Li PC-A75X
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Software Proxmox 6.2
Have a router question - With so many out there and not really sure what "stats" to look for on one I thought I would reach out online. I have searched and searched and couldn't really pin down an answer.

So here is the scenario -


I have now a modem in the living room (pretty central in the house - main floor) with a gig of internet.

Off of that room, there is my office and have cat 6 running from the modem to a router in the office where it - directly connected to a computer, xbox and tv.

I am moving that router (in the office upstairs). This is where the question comes in -


What router or devices (if there are any) out there that would be best for online gaming (mostly on xbox series x) that would be direct connected to it


Thanks!
I might be naive, but I don't really think a router will be a factor in performance even for intense FPS games like CS:GO. Any modern gigabit routers should work just well.
One probably simple way to check is to see the ping with and without the router, that should tell you how much the responsiveness is affected.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
160 (0.03/day)
System Name Gaming PC, ThinkCentre
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3300 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Motherboard GA-B75M-D3H (rev. 1.1)
Cooling Stock
Memory crucial dominator 8gb DDR3 dimm
Video Card(s) AMD HIS 6870 (barts XT) Fan 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E HDMI/DP/2xDVI
Storage HDS722580VLSA80
Display(s) 19" Acer P215H
Case old silver case from the office
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer Sound Card without the remote
Power Supply RX-730SS 730W
Mouse Kiwi Technology Optical mouse m/n kw114
Keyboard Mitsumi keyboard unit
Software OS is Windows 7 home premium, sometimes I use linux mint mate or sabayon both live
Benchmark Scores CL-RCD-RP-RAS Write Speed 2x DDR3-1333 SDRAM 9-9-9-23 CR1 10484 MB/s
Last edited:
Top