• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Royal Queen R9 280X overclock?

Manuela

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi there,

I'm create new account here in the forum and would like to make direct inquiries to one times the experienced over takter here.

I have a Royal Queen R9 280X and would like to overclock it but I find nowhere an image of what I could use or I'm too stupid ^ ^

Would be glad if someone could give a hint with respect to a suitable Image me and possibly still other tips to optimize the performance of the card.

Kind regards
Manuela

sorry my bad englisch^^
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#2
Download the latest build of MSI Afterburner (google it) and play around with the clock speeds until you find a setting that offers 100% stability (use games and benchmarks to test this) with a good balance of speed / heat and voltage (if the latter is adjustable).
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,920 (0.75/day)
Likes
947
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.399
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1803 / OS[build 17134.48]
#3
Hi

Welcome to TPU

+1 Xaser04 ; MSI Afterburner

Factors to be built in to the OC process
-Fabrication process of the GPU [differs from one to another some OC well and other not so well]
-[General Rule of Thumb]; to find out the max OC, increase 5~10Mhz on core in stages test at each stage, if the system freezes you have gone to far, lower the OC by 40Mhz and then start the same process with the MEM increase 5~10Mhz once you get artifacts back the OC down by 40Mhz; Use GPU-Z to keep an eye on VRM Temps these can rise quickly when OC's are applied Keep these between 70~80c : 85c Max]
-Adjust vga card fan speed manualy
-Be aware that some games do not like OC's and testing with each game as well as benchmarks is nessasary
-Make sure the drivers are stable; if they are unstable they will crash the OC
-Check that the motherboard is setup and chipset drivers are up to date [Run CPU and MEM at default speeds while testing vga card OC]

Note: use MSI Afterburner, Sapphire Trixx or other software to OC

Edit: if get a chance go here ; fill in system specs brand names, models and OS

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,014 (0.44/day)
Likes
544
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4

Manuela

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
thx for fast answers, my wish is to do it without software i will make an bios update and hope its for every time without need MSI or TriXX will have it permanent.
thx for help and nice answer
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,920 (0.75/day)
Likes
947
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.399
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1803 / OS[build 17134.48]
#6
Hi

thx for fast answers, my wish is to do it without software i will make an bios update and hope its for every time without need MSI or TriXX will have it permanent.
thx for help and nice answer
First
Test the vga cards OC ability using software

First things First
Make a backup of the original vbios image: use GPU-Z
Example
Extract vga bios.jpg
Select: Bios Icon Select: Save to file [save as vbios.rom] [**keep a copy in a safe place**]

Last
If vga card is stable with OC in all windows applications; programs and games; then and only then consider flashing to higher core and mem 3d clocks

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,128 (0.28/day)
Likes
653
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
thx for fast answers, my wish is to do it without software i will make an bios update and hope its for every time without need MSI or TriXX will have it permanent.
thx for help and nice answer
the best thing is to start first with software, to know what is the limit of your card.

Personnaly, I start with the Catalyst control center, slider power to 20% and start overclocking by step of 20-30mhz. When it crashes in 3dmark, I lower until I find the maximum stable, then drop of 10-20. then after I can see if I go with voltage modification or not.

Then when you have the clocks you want, you modify the bios then flas hit! :)
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
473 (0.11/day)
Likes
303
Location
ireland, galway
Processor q6600 G0 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ex38 DS4
Cooling air
Memory 4 *1gig tracer ballistic
Video Card(s) sapphire dual bios 6950
Storage ssd- sandisk 120gb, sata- 2 500gb samsung in raid 1 & 1 samsung 400gb
Display(s) LG w2452tx
Case nzxt
Audio Device(s) na
Power Supply hiper 730
Mouse g9
Keyboard bt microsoft arch
Software win7
#8
Hi Manuela welcome! :),

yep deffo use software first to see what your card can handle,with a software overclock you can easliy adjust on the fly to test the limits of your card, then change the bios using that information,
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#9
thx for fast answers, my wish is to do it without software i will make an bios update and hope its for every time without need MSI or TriXX will have it permanent.
thx for help and nice answer
Use Afterburner and simply set a profile with your desired clocks which can be accessed at the touch of a button. I really don't see the point in flashing the bios when you have this option. You will want to use the software to monitor your framerate, temps, GPU usage anyway.

Whatever you do; DON'T flash the bios with clocks you havn't thoroughly tested first.

To me flashing the bios should only be required if offers something you otherwise can't do with standard software - like flashing a specific vendor bios which allows voltage control.

For example my GTX780m will overclock to 980/6000 using MSI Afterburner alone. To get these clocks I just select a profile when the application loads (or set the profile to load with Windows). If I want to clock further or adjust voltages I need to flash the bios to unlock these features as they are not available via the normal software methods.