• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RTX 2060 Super Bios Crossflash

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
HI , i have a Gainward RTX 2060 Super Ghost , does anyone know a good bios that i can crossflash? The main reason for that is that i want 0 RPM feature but a higher power limit would be nice too. Ive found some but the cards with the same specs (same Subsystem id and same ports) are basically the same and all others have different ports configurations (many without the DVI) , is it safe just to flash one with different ports? (maybe the ports are autodetected? ). This one for example has 1 extra port (and it has dvi port) but not sure if it has 0 rpm or if it will work ( EVGA RTX 2060 Super VBIOS ). My Card : TechPowerUp , Gainward RTX 2060 Super VBIOS .
edit: one of my monitors have only DVI input. (heard that some people had some ports working some not after crossflashing), is it possible to flash a bios without DVI and DVI still work?

In rest the card works great , can be overlocked to 2000+ mhz core (it clocks to about 1900 on default) and +600 vram and its working just fine , i didnt try to push it more.
I havent test any bios so far, any ideas appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
No you can only use a bios that is fully compatible with the card, including fan headers. I recommend you stick with the standard bios and just manipulate it via software with Afterburner or similar.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
@eazen Yeah , i guess but you know that it doesnt go under 29% fan speed in any software (including afterburner) , it doesnt make a lot of noise but its not silent either when just doing "office" stuff and im used to keep my computer open during the night doing non GPU related stuff and 0 RPM was great and silent on my last card thats why i was trying to find a solution.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
@eazen Yeah , i guess but you know that it doesnt go under 29% fan speed in any software (including afterburner) , it doesnt make a lot of noise but its not silent either when just doing "office" stuff and im used to keep my computer open during the night doing non GPU related stuff and 0 RPM was great and silent on my last card thats why i was trying to find a solution.
Yea that’s a bummer. I like to keep my case closed and under the table.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
@eazen Yeah , i guess but you know that it doesnt go under 29% fan speed in any software (including afterburner) , it doesnt make a lot of noise but its not silent either when just doing "office" stuff and im used to keep my computer open during the night doing non GPU related stuff and 0 RPM was great and silent on my last card thats why i was trying to find a solution.
It's not designed to, get a card that has the function
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
Well ill be more careful next time when a buy a GPU for now i have to stick with this one :) I didnt knew that it has to be "designed" for fans to be set at 0 RPM, i was thinking that its just a safety measure added by Gainward. So there isnt any OK (safe) vbios for this card i can cross flash so at least i can get higher power limit (with all working ports ^_^)? I guess its not worth it anyway.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,651 (2.23/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
Best to leave the VBIOS alone, just use it for gaming, if you want faster , a 0rpm fan speed at low loads, better buy a GPU which has already the features/speed you prefer.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
Well ill be more careful next time when a buy a GPU for now i have to stick with this one :) I didnt knew that it has to be "designed" for fans to be set at 0 RPM, i was thinking that its just a safety measure added by Gainward. So there isnt any OK (safe) vbios for this card i can cross flash so at least i can get higher power limit (with all working ports ^_^)? I guess its not worth it anyway.
It’s possible the card would overheat, because it’s not designed for 0 fan mode. You’ll survive it ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well ill be more careful next time when a buy a GPU for now i have to stick with this one :) I didnt knew that it has to be "designed" for fans to be set at 0 RPM, i was thinking that its just a safety measure added by Gainward. So there isnt any OK (safe) vbios for this card i can cross flash so at least i can get higher power limit (with all working ports ^_^)? I guess its not worth it anyway.


Ofc its not worth bricking your gpu
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
I used to play wtih AMD gpus flashing and editing vbios , seems that with nvidia is different now , havent had an nvidia card for some time, ive seen some topics people were flashing 2080s for some higher power limit but probably they are using a vbios from the same brand and they are flashing the OC version of what is basically same card or something, anyway thanks everyone for advice.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I used to play wtih AMD gpus flashing and editing vbios , seems that with nvidia is different now , havent had an nvidia card for some time, ive seen some topics people were flashing 2080s for some higher power limit but probably they are using a vbios from the same brand and they are flashing the OC version of what is basically same card or something, anyway thanks everyone for advice.
Please understand this
Now understand,

AMD RX Polaris and older AMD/ATi you can mod and crossflash.

RX VEGA-RX RDNA1 you can't mod but crossflash only.

RX-RDNA2 there is not enough data to know if they can be crossflashed.

rtx 2000 & 3000 by nvidia, there is no modding or crossflashing the vbios on them. gtx 900 and older can be modded or crossflashed, gtx 1000 can be crossflashed only, not modded.

You can thank the mining abuse for taking our ability to flash a gpu away.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,628 (1.74/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4201)
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.54V
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti 1980@0.931V
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
HI , i have a Gainward RTX 2060 Super Ghost , does anyone know a good bios that i can crossflash? The main reason for that is that i want 0 RPM feature but a higher power limit would be nice too. Ive found some but the cards with the same specs (same Subsystem id and same ports) are basically the same and all others have different ports configurations (many without the DVI) , is it safe just to flash one with different ports? (maybe the ports are autodetected? ). This one for example has 1 extra port (and it has dvi port) but not sure if it has 0 rpm or if it will work ( EVGA RTX 2060 Super VBIOS ). My Card : TechPowerUp , Gainward RTX 2060 Super VBIOS .
edit: one of my monitors have only DVI input. (heard that some people had some ports working some not after crossflashing), is it possible to flash a bios without DVI and DVI still work?

In rest the card works great , can be overlocked to 2000+ mhz core (it clocks to about 1900 on default) and +600 vram and its working just fine , i didnt try to push it more.
I havent test any bios so far, any ideas appreciated.

I'm pretty sure a BIOS flash won't change anything performance-wise, and you would need to shunt mod your card for big gains. You can max out the power limit all you want, but you will still run into demanding situations where have Perfcap Power without actually hitting the power limit. The Ghost doesn't look like that amazing a cooler anyway, that I would really trust with 220W.

I have a waterblock on my 2060 Super FE and ran at 2055MHz Effective core and 1975MHz mem (+900) @ 1.06V, up to 220W or so. In actual games it was like a 1-2 fps difference compared to my undervolt profile of 1980MHz core and stock mem @ 0.981V, 175W. But it was a big increase in heat output.

If you have Samsung VRAM you can probably push it a lot further than +600. Not much at stake, just take it one step at a time and back off when it starts artifacting/doing weird stuff. As for core, I just don't see it going much further than 2050MHz (maybe 2100 best case). You have to make sure Effective Clock is actually catching up - you can set core clock as high as you want but the performance won't be any different unless Effective Clock also improves.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
Yes , it has Samsung VRAM , ill try see how far it can go but my temps are ok (76 - 80C RD2) with +600 vram and curve in Afterburner so ill probably leave it as it is. I see it boosts around 1980 in some scenarios mostly it sits 1860 - 1920 (tested in RD2 for only half of hour, ultra settings). I am not a "big" gamer or anything i just try out a game time to time so for me would had been great if the card had 0 RMP , when i took the card i didnt look for that because i thought that all RTX have that as my old video card had it and it wasnt a top card. Thanks for the info.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,628 (1.74/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4201)
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.54V
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti 1980@0.931V
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
Yes , it has Samsung VRAM , ill try see how far it can go but my temps are ok (76 - 80C RD2) with +600 vram and curve in Afterburner so ill probably leave it as it is. I see it boosts around 1980 in some scenarios mostly it sits 1860 - 1920 (tested in RD2 for only half of hour, ultra settings). I am not a "big" gamer or anything i just try out a game time to time so for me would had been great if the card had 0 RMP , when i took the card i didnt look for that because i thought that all RTX have that as my old video card had it and it wasnt a top card. Thanks for the info.

If clock is that low at "2000MHz core", then just keep your current BIOS. It's not even close to what you set, you might even get better clocks and performance (and temps!) by undervolting compared to where you're at.

You're not even close to being able to max out the stock power limit, because it's the temps that are already holding you back. Temp is fine for the card, but 80C is way too hot if you care about OC, GPU Boost already starts reducing core clock when you hit like 68C I think.

No fan stop is a bummer, but some of the 2060 Supers just don't have the feature, including mine. Doubt it's something you can get by crossflashing a physically different card from a different AIB.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
I will just leave it as it is but it was worth asking. Yes the temps are like (with uncapped framerate) 76C - 80C but the max fan speed is something around 72% - 73%, i think ill have to play with the fan curve but i hope it wont be crazy loud after, the performance is ok as it is. (not sure if those temps are OK but if its boosting then i think they are not that bad)

Edit: gpu-z reporting 170W-176W while gaming - board power draw and 125W -135W - Gpu chip ( 97% -101% TDP )
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
I will just leave it as it is but it was worth asking. Yes the temps are like (with uncapped framerate) 76C - 80C but the max fan speed is something around 72% - 73%, i think ill have to play with the fan curve but i hope it wont be crazy loud after, the performance is ok as it is. (not sure if those temps are OK but if its boosting then i think they are not that bad)

Edit: gpu-z reporting 170W-176W while gaming - board power draw and 125W -135W - Gpu chip ( 97% -101% TDP )
Sounds like the card is pretty maxed out, you can try a undervolt that would probably help.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: izy

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,628 (1.74/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4201)
Memory 2x16GB 3800CL14 1.54V
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti 1980@0.931V
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
I will just leave it as it is but it was worth asking. Yes the temps are like (with uncapped framerate) 76C - 80C but the max fan speed is something around 72% - 73%, i think ill have to play with the fan curve but i hope it wont be crazy loud after, the performance is ok as it is. (not sure if those temps are OK but if its boosting then i think they are not that bad)

I should clarify, the temps are on the high side for an AIB cooler but they're still fine and clocks are okay. From igor's test of the Ghost, it's about on par with the FE temps; FE is the lowest tier cooler, about 76-78 with bad case airflow and 68-72 with good airflow, so you could add some more airflow to help out. Don't know if more GPU fanspeed will help - it's a very small and simple heatsink.

Which is fine, 2060 Super is not that much an OC card anyway. A good undervolt 0.95-1.0V should drop temps by another ~5C ish under load and get you a little higher on core clock.

(1) The Ultimate GPU Undervolting Guide - Navi, Turing, Vega + More - YouTube
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
I will try undervolt and see how that will go, it seems that around 1905 Mhz is using 1012 mv and ofc higher the boost higher the volt. (as it spikes higher time to time). The case doesnt have the best airflow and its kinda warm inside the room this days (outside temps about 34C -36C during the day, not sure about the room temp but its not ideal , no AC in the room).

edit: i think it wasnt going higher than 1015 or something, ill post the results after ill play with Afterburner if any positive :) thanks again guys.
 
Last edited:

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
I ended up with 1960 @ 0.937, seem to have good temps and its boosting without dropping (with this high room temps) to 1935 - 1950 / mem +400 , seem more than ok, temps around 70C , bit less points in benchmarks but dont need that extra 50 -100 points (in Superposition bench), at least rd2 works the same and at 10C less temps , i could maybe get that at 0.931 but it didnt crash or anything with this settings, full stable so im going to sit at this for now (if im gamming) till will have more time to play with the curve but it seems very OK. Going undervolting way was the right call, no 0 rpm but eh cant have it all at cheaper price i guess, thanks.
 
Last edited:

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
Some updates , i couldnt stay away and not give a try cross flashing and here are the results for anyone else that might want to try (spoiler alert - it didnt go well)
First ive downloaded Teamviwer and i made sure i can log in from my laptop / phone and it starts on startup. (and was a smart decision)

My card has DVI output so first vbios ive tried where with DVI. (it didnt make any difference if subvendor ID was the same or not , the results were mixed)

All vbios with DVI (but more HDMI / DP ports) flashed with any problems but when installing the drivers the screen went black (it still had signal but the screen was black in windows), ive rebooted and i had signal but only in safe mode so i could reflash back my backup vbios from there. So they didnt work after installing the driver.

Ive tested one vbios from same vendor with the same vendor and subvendor ids but without DVI and the card failed even after restarting the computer (no signal) and my motherboard showed a signal for bad GPU. Connected with Teamviewer from my laptop (it can be done from the phone too) and when ive tried to reflash the backup vbios it didnt work, "GPU not found " then ive deleted the device from the device manager , rebooted and i could reflash , reflashed rebooted everything was OK again.

Ive found 3 vbios with the same specs as my card but different subvendor ID, on one of them i was getting black screen as before but i could enter safe mode and reflash ( so i had signal at boot) , what happened with the other too is interesting and not that much :) , both worked and i had higher power limit but the problem with them was that Afterburner and hwinfo could see only 1 fan (card has 2 fans and the vbios ive flashed was from cards with 2 fans), trying to manually set the fans at maximum didnt work , 1 fan was sitting at maybe 20% (default) and the second was going faster but no way near 100%, when 0 RPM was kicking in first fan was still like 20% (nothing changed) and the second fan stopped. Everything else worked as it should but when benchmarking the cooling was to low with the "broken" fans so it went really hot but the power limit was higher (120% or 140% depending of the vbios) , so basically useless.

I do not advice flashing a different bios but i think with higher end cards they might using the same type of controllers and stuff and if you flash a different bios it might work or maybe if the card you have it has an OC version (from the same brand ) and the cooler looks the same it might work too. I will stick with 1960 @ 0.937 , temps are in check and its boosting OK , (1920 -1950 depending on the load) it is still hitting the power limit sometimes (it goes to 104% 105% in a spike) .

0 RPM (i think those vbios had 0 rpm) was a NO GO on a non 0 RPM card (if anyone managed to flash an RTX card from no 0 RPM to 0 RPM would be interesting) and for that reason ( maybe ) i cant have a higher power limit from cross flashing (or maybe the cards just have different fan controllers).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Some updates , i couldnt stay away and not give a try cross flashing and here are the results for anyone else that might want to try (spoiler alert - it didnt go well)
First ive downloaded Teamviwer and i made sure i can log in from my laptop / phone and it starts on startup. (and was a smart decision)

My card has DVI output so first vbios ive tried where with DVI. (it didnt make any difference if subvendor ID was the same or not , the results were mixed)

All vbios with DVI (but more HDMI / DP ports) flashed with any problems but when installing the drivers the screen went black (it still had signal but the screen was black in windows), ive rebooted and i had signal but only in safe mode so i could reflash back my backup vbios from there. So they didnt work after installing the driver.

Ive tested one vbios from same vendor with the same vendor and subvendor ids but without DVI and the card failed even after restarting the computer (no signal) and my motherboard showed a signal for bad GPU. Connected with Teamviewer from my laptop (it can be done from the phone too) and when ive tried to reflash the backup vbios it didnt work, "GPU not found " then ive deleted the device from the device manager , rebooted and i could reflash , reflashed rebooted everything was OK again.

Ive found 3 vbios with the same specs as my card but different subvendor ID, on one of them i was getting black screen as before but i could enter safe mode and reflash ( so i had signal at boot) , what happened with the other too is interesting and not that much :) , both worked and i had higher power limit but the problem with them was that Afterburner and hwinfo could see only 1 fan (card has 2 fans and the vbios ive flashed was from cards with 2 fans), trying to manually set the fans at maximum didnt work , 1 fan was sitting at maybe 20% (default) and the second was going faster but no way near 100%, when 0 RPM was kicking in first fan was still like 20% (nothing changed) and the second fan stopped. Everything else worked as it should but when benchmarking the cooling was to low with the "broken" fans so it went really hot but the power limit was higher (120% or 140% depending of the vbios) , so basically useless.

I do not advice flashing a different bios but i think with higher end cards they might using the same type of controllers and stuff and if you flash a different bios it might work or maybe if the card you have it has an OC version (from the same brand ) and the cooler looks the same it might work too. I will stick with 1960 @ 0.937 , temps are in check and its boosting OK , (1920 -1950 depending on the load) it is still hitting the power limit sometimes (it goes to 104% 105% in a spike) .

0 RPM (i think those vbios had 0 rpm) was a NO GO on a non 0 RPM card (if anyone managed to flash an RTX card from no 0 RPM to 0 RPM would be interesting) and for that reason ( maybe ) i cant have a higher power limit from cross flashing (or maybe the cards just have different fan controllers).
Higher end cards are the same exact way, dont bother flashing those either
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
You might be right but i saw some people with 3090s from NVIDIA RTX 3090 Owner's Club claiming that cross flashing worked for them and the power limit is higher (as expected) and some others having the same problem, as i did, with the fans.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
You might be right but i saw some people with 3090s from NVIDIA RTX 3090 Owner's Club claiming that cross flashing worked for them and the power limit is higher (as expected) and some others having the same problem, as i did, with the fans.
That only works if the bios flashed on it is 100% compatible with the card (PCB, the construction, layout). So you have to know what youre doing, otherwise the card is bricked.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
258 (2.90/day)
That only works if the bios flashed on it is 100% compatible with the card (PCB, the construction, layout). So you have to know what youre doing, otherwise the card is bricked.
Yes , i agree with you here , the cards that look the same with the same specs and cooler that ive found all have the same BIOS with the same power limits ( like Palit GeForce RTX 2060 Super , as i know Gainward is a sub brand of Palit ) , others with the same ports but with different coolers all had bugged cooler functionality (the boosting and raising the power limit was working as intended), only thing i can guess is if this card with the same cooler had an OC version with higher power limit that could work ( like GeForce® RTX 2060 SUPER™ Phoenix with the VBIOS from GeForce® RTX 2060 SUPER™ Phoenix "GS" ) but the problem is that the cards with the same cooler (that ive found) have one DP instead of a DVI port and i was hopping that the card will autodetect the ports instead of just having them preconfigured in the vbios (like different brands / types of VRAM) but i guess they are not doing that.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You might be right but i saw some people with 3090s from NVIDIA RTX 3090 Owner's Club claiming that cross flashing worked for them and the power limit is higher (as expected) and some others having the same problem, as i did, with the fans.
Yup its about 99% that come here crying they bricked their card so just stop this and enjoy what you have, or just get a different card.
 
Top