• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rtx 3060 ti power supply?

Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
98 (0.75/day)
Well the 3060 ti was finally revealed after a long wait but the tdp is rated at 200w... Will my power supply be enough? It's cx550m so 550w. I saw the rating labels on the side stating that the peak wattage is 550w so it's not a low quality power supply. My build will be asus tuf gaming b550m, ryzen 5 5600x, 2 8gb 3200mhz ddr4 ram, 1tb nvme ssd and 1tb 7200rpm hdd. I calculated at newegg power supply calculator and it totaled up at 397W.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
451 (0.67/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5809 - AGESA V2 PI 1.1.8.0)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
NVidia recommends a 600W PSU.
GeForce RTX 3060 Ti Graphics Card | NVIDIA
Your 550W PSU may very well work BUT if it is close to 5 years old (warranty period) I would absolutely replace it with a quality 650 W PSU.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
98 (0.75/day)
you can buy a digital watt meter to calculate the real power consumption
like this: https://www.amazon.com/Upgraded-Brighter-Consumption-Electricity-Protection/dp/B08DG5YSTD

*
*
*
*
*
*



Alright thanks ill give it a go
NVidia recommends a 600W PSU.
GeForce RTX 3060 Ti Graphics Card | NVIDIA
Your 550W PSU may very well work BUT if it is close to 5 years old (warranty period) I would absolutely replace it with a quality 650 W PSU.
It's quite new. I bought it in June 2020.
So long as the psu is doing what it's supposed to, it will be fine even with overclocking. ;)
If my psu is 550w, is it safe to let my system runs at maybe 450w to 500w?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
451 (0.67/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5809 - AGESA V2 PI 1.1.8.0)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Since it basically brand new, I'd use it.
The cx550m is a decent quality PSU.
It should work fine and worst case I see is that it doesn't supply quite enough power and you have to get a good 650W PSU.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,793 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
It's never a bad idea to have one of those digital power meters so you can monitor real time wattage, voltage etc.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
467 (0.88/day)
System Name Custom
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 arous master
Cooling corsair h150i
Memory 4x8 3200mhz corsair
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 EX Gamer White OC
Storage 500gb Samsung 970 Evo PLus
Display(s) MSi MAG341CQ
Case Lian Li Pc-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply 850w Seasonic Focus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G110
just make sure its not a no name brand that says 550w,
a quality 550w should be fine or 600w
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,301 (4.78/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
If my psu is 550w, is it safe to let my system runs at maybe 450w to 500w?
Your system will be lucky to hit 400W overclocked and gaming.. maybe stress testing overclocked would you hit 500W.. The worst that happens is some fan noise under load.

That psu isn't the best, but it will do fine.

you can buy a digital watt meter to calculate the real power consumption
just note that the reading you're seeing in these tools includes the efficiency losses/is how much electricity it is pulling from the wall. So for example if it is 90% efficient psu and that tool says 450W the pc/ppwer supply is actually using ~405W.
 

mnpoorsadegh

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2020
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Your system will be lucky to hit 400W overclocked and gaming.. maybe stress testing overclocked would you hit 500W.. The worst that happens is some fan noise under load.

That psu isn't the best, but it will do fine.

just note that the reading you're seeing in these tools includes the efficiency losses/is how much electricity it is pulling from the wall. So for example if it is 90% efficient psu and that tool says 450W the pc/ppwer supply is actually using ~405W.


Thanks your comments was very helpful ،Cost ،efficiency and Power factor lost is important.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
105 (0.14/day)
I have one of those power meters and my HX1000i also has that capability.

The power meter I have handles all components from the USB hub to the monitor to the tower.

The whole 9 yards uses maybe 140W using a browser. Playing Halo may move the power to maybe 200W.
 

ApolloMaximus

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
Hi everyone,

I am quite new in the world of PC's, and I have a 2 months old Aerocool integrator 700w 80+bronze psu.
It is a pre built pc and came with a gtx 1650 super.

Would that psu enough for the 3060ti?

Thanks for your help in advance
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,301 (4.78/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Hi everyone,

I am quite new in the world of PC's, and I have a 2 months old Aerocool integrator 700w 80+bronze psu.
It is a pre built pc and came with a gtx 1650 super.

Would that psu enough for the 3060ti?

Thanks for your help in advance
yes.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
98 (0.75/day)
Your system will be lucky to hit 400W overclocked and gaming.. maybe stress testing overclocked would you hit 500W.. The worst that happens is some fan noise under load.

That psu isn't the best, but it will do fine.

just note that the reading you're seeing in these tools includes the efficiency losses/is how much electricity it is pulling from the wall. So for example if it is 90% efficient psu and that tool says 450W the pc/ppwer supply is actually using ~405W.
I think that i might overclock it since the premium rtx 3060 ti is just 50usd off the cheapest rtx 3070. I dont know which to get now. A good rtx 3060 ti that runs cool or a cheap rtx 3070 that will run since they're only 50usd apart.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.75/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
I think that i might overclock it since the premium rtx 3060 ti is just 50usd off the cheapest rtx 3070. I dont know which to get now. A good rtx 3060 ti that runs cool or a cheap rtx 3070 that will run since they're only 50usd apart.
I think any sane person would go for a RTX 3070 since it performs better, justifying the extra cost of $50. As for GPU cooling, a well cooled & ventilated casing should help do the job a bit.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,994 (0.54/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2 x 8Gb Gskill Trident Z 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus 3060Ti OC
Storage 960 evo 500Gb, 1Tb 860 evo
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Lian Li Lancool II Mesh
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 550 W
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I'm using a seasonic focus 550w currently with the Gigabyte 3060 ti Eagle, no problems so far ran for years with an RX480 nitro plus that draws more than the 3060ti with no issues.
 

Giliarwe

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2020
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
I wonder if my 9yo OCZ600SXS2 can handle 3060ti/3070... what you think?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.75/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
I wonder if my 9yo OCZ600SXS2 can handle 3060ti/3070... what you think?
I'm a bit iffy on this one. It's 600 Watts (I assume) so it should be able to handle it but it's also 9 years old, efficiency might've dropped after many years. Dunno how bad it is though. But then again, both my PSUs are older than yours, however, the way I rig my PSU to my desktop PC is a bit different.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,751 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
I wonder if my 9yo OCZ600SXS2 can handle 3060ti/3070... what you think?

Ohh no. Old budget PSU, old design... Time to upgrade and you don't even need fancy stuff.

I'm a bit iffy on this one. It's 600 Watts (I assume) so it should be able to handle it but it's also 9 years old, efficiency might've dropped after many years. Dunno how bad it is though. But then again, both my PSUs are older than yours, however, the way I rig my PSU to my desktop PC is a bit different.

Your GPU's are pretty old too. Modern GPUs can have crazy transient loads and old PSU designs don't like those at all while modern designs handle them fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.75/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Your GPU's are pretty old too.
Yeah, I know... Considering that I am a casual gaming high school student, I think a GTX 780 Ti would be impressive enough. I also dual-boot Win10 with WinXP, & that GPU is the latest & greatest graphics card that is officially supported by NVidia's driver.

As for my PSU's case, here is my quote from a different thread that explains how I rig my PSU differently:
Not sure how I should feel about my rig after all this post about old hardware considering that my system specs (as listed) are in that category except for my SSD & USB peripherals.

Certainly. both my PSU is made pre-2010 but they don't seems to be dying anytime soon. To be fair, the load from my rig is split between both PSU. The SeaSonic powers the GPU + 1 SDD + 1 HDD while the VenomRX powers 1 HDD + CD/DVD combo writer + motherboard with lottsa connected USB devices. Sure, just one of them could power my rig alone but fan noise at high speed is a bit noisy while still giving off heat. With the rig's load split in two, fan speed is low with no noticeable noise while not feeling any heat from both PSU. Plus, this way, both PSU should last longer. After all, I got the SeaSonic for free (albeit used) from a trusted individual, might as well use this method after I also replaced my GPU for a better, beefier one.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
528 (0.98/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F31o
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory G.Skill Neo 32GB @3600 MT/s C16
Video Card(s) RTX 3080 Tuf OC
Storage MP600 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) DT 770 Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro
Keyboard K95 Platinum
Only way to know is to try, if the card doesnt trip any OCP during spikes it should be good, if it does and you get restarts.. just get a new PSU.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
106 (1.83/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Meeeh
Processor 8700K at 5.2 GHz
Memory 32 GB 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080 TUF OC @ +175 MHz
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Display(s) 1440p, 165 Hz, IPS
A 500w quality PSU will easily do, 3060 Ti and 3070 are nowhere near as powerhungry as 3080/3090

When Nvidia/AMD mentions power usage requirement, they are talking about NONAME, which are very bad compared to quality PSUs

I ran a Ryzen 3600X and 5700XT on a 450 watt Seasonic (Gold I think), no OC tho, but no issues whatsoever. AMD recommends 600 watt (pref. 700w) for 5700XT

Remember THO, a PSU gets worse and worse I would not re-use a 5+ year old PSU in a new system unless it's OVERKILL for that system, ie. 1000 watts from 5 years ago would work fine in most cases, but sometimes you start seeing issues after 6-7-8 years, even on 10 yr guarrantee PSU's, seen it several times
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
117 (0.17/day)
System Name My PC
Processor AMD 2700 x @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming
Cooling Zalman CNPS20X
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 570 PULSE
Storage Adata Ultimate SU800
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A
Audio Device(s) Logitech G51
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX, 80+ Gold, 550W
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121
Is there a article/review anywhere on PSU degradation over time?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
106 (1.83/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Meeeh
Processor 8700K at 5.2 GHz
Memory 32 GB 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080 TUF OC @ +175 MHz
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Display(s) 1440p, 165 Hz, IPS
Is there a article/review anywhere on PSU degradation over time?

Don't think so because it's highly individual

Rule of thumb, don't re-use the same "old" PSU in a new high-end system. Might work, might not, might start to see issues in a few months :p Especially if the new system used more power than the old one.
 
Top