• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RTX 3070 Usage Under 1% When Gaming

PeacefulTech

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
22 (0.17/day)
Hi all,

I just got a RTX 3070. However, when I play Cyberpunk 2077 with mostly max setting, I observe from Windows Task Manager that GPU is under 1% most of the time.

The graphics generated is not as good as a expected. It was fuzzy and strange looking (I was getting reasonably smooth frame rate, however). My previous GPU was Radeon 5600 XT, and that card was rendering Cyberpunk better than the RTX 3070 I have.

I think the issue may lay in the fact that my GPU is being underutlized (under 1%) when gaming. I have already downloaded the best driver but it didn't make a difference. Could you guys give me some pointers in how to solve this issue?

Thanks a lot guys.

Cheers
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
755 (3.00/day)
System Name Whonock
Processor Amd 3200g
Motherboard A320m-h
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
Hi all,

I just got a RTX 3070. However, when I play Cyberpunk 2077 with mostly max setting, I observe from Windows Task Manager that GPU is under 1% most of the time.

The graphics generated is not as good as a expected. It was fuzzy and strange looking (I was getting reasonably smooth frame rate, however). My previous GPU was Radeon 5600 XT, and that card was rendering Cyberpunk better than the RTX 3070 I have.

I think the issue may lay in the fact that my GPU is being underutlized (under 1%) when gaming. I have already downloaded the best driver but it didn't make a difference. Could you guys give me some pointers in how to solve this issue?

Thanks a lot guys.

Cheers
is it actually running at 1% in games try getting a overlay software Nvideas or msi are good?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
286 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) AOC Q27G2U QHD, Dell S2415H FHD
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I'd start with uninstalling the drivers completely using DDU in safe mode and re-installing Nvidia drivers, unless you already did that. Maybe there's something left from AMD drivers.
Also did you buy it new or used?
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
755 (3.00/day)
System Name Whonock
Processor Amd 3200g
Motherboard A320m-h
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
To me it sounds like he is running games fine alt tabbing to check the usage and the game is stopping using
thats why i recommended the overlay
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
286 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) AOC Q27G2U QHD, Dell S2415H FHD
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
To me it sounds like he is running games fine alt tabbing to check the usage and the game is stopping using
thats why i recommended the overlay
Not sure how Ampere works in this situation, but I still get GPU usage when I alt+tab with a RX480. But yes, overlay is a good idea.
 

PeacefulTech

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
22 (0.17/day)
To me it sounds like he is running games fine alt tabbing to check the usage and the game is stopping using
thats why i recommended the overlay
I have two screens, so I'm running Cyberpunk in my main display while opening Task Manager on the other. From there I observe the GPU usage being under 1% most of the time, no matter what I do in the game.

It is my first time hearing about overlay software so I'm not sure what it does. I will do some research and download one. I will update here about the results.

I'd start with uninstalling the drivers completely using DDU in safe mode and re-installing Nvidia drivers, unless you already did that. Maybe there's something left from AMD drivers.
Also did you buy it new or used?
I bought the card new. I read about uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling it again in my research so far. In your experience, is this an effective strategy? It sounds kind of like a big, risky operation, so I would like to try to be cautious :)

It is possible that there is something left from the old AMD drivers; I didn't get out of my way to uninstall them anyways. Is this something known to cause issues?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
286 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) AOC Q27G2U QHD, Dell S2415H FHD
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I bought the card new. I read about uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling it again in my research so far. In your experience, is this an effective strategy? It sounds kind of like a big, risky operation, so I would like to try to be cautious :)

It is possible that there is something left from the old AMD drivers; I didn't get out of my way to uninstall them anyways. Is this something known to cause issues?
It's not risky at all, you're not messing with GPU firmware here. AMD driver uninstaller leaves registry entries and other things that will most likely affect Nvidia drivers. So this is what I would do, get DDU from guru3d (trusted source), boot Windows in safe mode, run DDU, select Clean and Restart. Run DDU again, see if there are any more drivers present, if there are repeat the process for said drivers. After rebooting, download the latest Nvidia drivers.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
755 (3.00/day)
System Name Whonock
Processor Amd 3200g
Motherboard A320m-h
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
It's not risky at all, you're not messing with GPU firmware here. AMD driver uninstaller leaves registry entries and other things that will most likely affect Nvidia drivers. So this is what I would do, get DDU from guru3d (trusted source), boot Windows in safe mode, run DDU, select Clean and Restart. Run DDU again, see if there are any more drivers present, if there are repeat the process for said drivers. After rebooting, download the latest Nvidia drivers.
i i forgot to this
whoops my systems been fine i think lol
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
238 (0.10/day)
Processor i7-3700K
Motherboard asus z77 pro-v
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ddr3-1866
Video Card(s) 980TI SC+
Storage PNY 1311 240Gb ssd, 1Tb and 3Tb spinners
Case cheap!
Audio Device(s) Recon3D
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G2
Mouse eats cheese
as mentioned; drivers, drivers, drivers. esp cyberpunk that is tuned different for vendors - in the graphics settings. (benchmarking, i'd re-install the whole OS)
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
526 (0.40/day)
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) EVGA 3090 XC3 ULTRA HYBRID
Storage 2x Seagate Barracuda 120 SSD 1 TB, XPG SX8200 PRO 1 TB
Display(s) Acer Predator Z321QU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Be Quiet Straight Power 11 850w
Did buy the 3070 from a legit store?

Check the specs and everything with TPU's GPU-z....

 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,888 (4.97/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Silly question, but is the cable from the monitor in the Motherboard or GPU?
 

PeacefulTech

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
22 (0.17/day)
Silly question, but is the cable from the monitor in the Motherboard or GPU?
The monitors are plugged into the GPU I/O. I don't think my monitors work if I plug them into the motherboard graphics I/O

Did buy the 3070 from a legit store?

Check the specs and everything with TPU's GPU-z....

Ya I bought the card from Canada Computers (kind of like Memory Express, but only in Canada). I put in a backorder 4 months ago and finally got it now lol

as mentioned; drivers, drivers, drivers. esp cyberpunk that is tuned different for vendors - in the graphics settings. (benchmarking, i'd re-install the whole OS)
I ran a quick Time Spy benchmark from 3D mark. My graphics score is 13730. The graphics score for RTX 3070 on 3DMark's website is 13752. So I am assuming that my graphics card isn't necessarily a defect since it is not that much lower than the posted score?

By the way, when I ran the 3dMark benchmark, my GPU usage from Task Manager was also under 1% most of the time...
 

PeacefulTech

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
22 (0.17/day)
It's not risky at all, you're not messing with GPU firmware here. AMD driver uninstaller leaves registry entries and other things that will most likely affect Nvidia drivers. So this is what I would do, get DDU from guru3d (trusted source), boot Windows in safe mode, run DDU, select Clean and Restart. Run DDU again, see if there are any more drivers present, if there are repeat the process for said drivers. After rebooting, download the latest Nvidia drivers.
Hi, I just ran DDU and reinstalled the driver. I don't see much improvement in my Cyberpunk gameplay. The generated graphics still had the same kind of fuzziness as prior to me reinstalling the drivers. The Task Manager GPU performance also only show 0 to 1 percent during most (if not all) of my game play. It did jump to around to 50% ish when I first loaded the game, although it went back to 0 - 1 % during actual game play.

Maybe I didn't use DDU properly. Here are the three areas of what I did that I found most suspicious:

1. I could never get to a state where DDU detect no graphics driver at all. After my first "clean and restart" attempt, the GPU detected became "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter". This driver never went away no matter how many time I "clean and restart"

2. I don't recall DDU detecting any AMD drivers in the log. Since I am using Nvidea GPU, "Nvidea" is selected by default. I have tried manually change the setting to "AMD" and then "clean and restart" again in that state. I don't recall DDU detecting any AMD drivers in that state though, however.

3. After I finished with DDU, I tried to download the latest Nvidea driver. However, my PC automatically installed "Nvidea Control Panel" first. I then proceeded to install "GeForce Experience", then downloaded the latest Nvidea driver from that application.

Do you think I did anything incorrectly with DDU?

Thanks a lot
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,785 (2.95/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 6TB WD Black; 1x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 4TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
"Nvidea Control Panel" first. I then proceeded to install "GeForce Experience", then downloaded the latest Nvidea driver from that application.
Hmmmm, it's been a long while since I installed Nvidia's driver's in that manner. Can you just download the full driver (use the one in the download section on the front page of TPU), and install it? It sounds a little like the Windows supplied Nvidia driver has either taken hold. This step will install over that. At this point, if you have used DDU and nothing is there, this will be fine.
 

PeacefulTech

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
22 (0.17/day)
Hmmmm, it's been a long while since I installed Nvidia's driver's in that manner. Can you just download the full driver (use the one in the download section on the front page of TPU), and install it? It sounds a little like the Windows supplied Nvidia driver has either taken hold. This step will install over that. At this point, if you have used DDU and nothing is there, this will be fine.
Do you mean I should download Nvidea driver before installing "Nvidea Control Panel"? Windows automatically reinstalled that the first time I boot up my system again after DDU, so I'm not sure how to stop it from doing that. Do you know of a way?

Or do you mean I should download the Nvidea driver from the official website without downloading the GeForce Experience application first? I do see there being an option on the Nvidea website to only download the driver rather than the GeForce Experience application. Do you think that would make a difference?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,973 (2.02/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor R7 5800X/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150 elite/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
Depending on resolution/setting DLSS can look blurry I can't remember if it's on by default and if you have any raytracing features turned on it would explain the poor performance.... Even at 1440p the 8GB on the 3070 can be a problem with raytracing on as well.

To stop windows from auto installing a driver I usually just unplug or disable internet.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2020
Messages
742 (1.81/day)
Try to go to the game settings and disable the "Film Grain" and "Chromatic Aberation" options. The former is the main culprit of the fuzzy image from what I recall. Another settings to investigate is the DLSS quality setting (assuming you enabled it) because if you select "Performance", depending on the resolution that you game, it will render from a very low resolution and try and upscale to match the resolution of the monitor.

As to the GPU utilization, you can always use "Afterburner" with the Rivatuner plugin I believe, which should allow you to either overlay information FPS, GPU and CPU utilization, etc. Otherwise, the built in monitoring tool in Afterburner should tell you the GPU utilization rate. If the GPU is indeed running at 1%, you should ideally be watching a slideshow in a taxing game like CyberPunk 2077.
 

las

Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
936 (0.30/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.2 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill @ 4000/CL15
Video Card(s) MSI 3080 Ventus 3X @ 2+ GHz
Storage WD Black SN850 1TB + 32TB NAS
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/165Hz/IPS/Gsync + LG C9 65" UHD/120Hz/OLED/HDR/Gsync
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Corsair K60 Pro (MX Low Profile Speed)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Enable Geforce Experience (Experimental) Overlay and check GPU usage ingame.

3070 should be night and day faster than 5600XT

DDU or Reinstall if not
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
329 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i9 10900KF 5.1 Ghz /4.8 GHz Cache
Motherboard ASUS Z490 PRIME-A
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio, 6900XT Merc and Nitro + & almost all Ampere, Turing, Pascal, Maxwell Cards
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
Task Manager does not monitor most new cards in DX12, Vulkan and some DX11 titles.

completely normal, known since at least 3-4 years.

there is nothing wrong, no troubleshooting necessary.
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,808 (2.58/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
Maybe he should try Heaven Benchmark and see if the card is running at 1%
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,849 (2.18/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop
Processor And 3900 3.1 base / 3.6 boost multi /4.3 boost single
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling Heatpipes, lots of them.
Memory 2x 16gb
Video Card(s) Rtx 2070 8gb
Storage 2tb intel nvme and 2tb generic ssd
Display(s) 1080p 144hz
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20 6222 multi / 473 single
Protip: windows has built in monitoring tools with the latest updates.

Windows key + G I believe.

Bottom left panel is GPU, press the pin icon to have it display even when windows game panel is closed. No need to download anything.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
191 (0.42/day)
Location
Panama City Beach, Florida
System Name Robs Singularity
Processor Intel Core i9-7960X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 280mm Premium Edition Liquid
Memory Adata DDR4 PC4-23900 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS TURBO GTX 1080 x2 SLi
Storage Samsung SSD 980 PRO 512GB C:\
Display(s) LG 34''
Case Azza Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Strix w/Alan Finote mod for Windows 10
Power Supply Corsair 1000
Mouse Steelseries Rival 600 wired
Keyboard Steelseries Apex 7 TKL red Switch
Software Win 10 Pro
so I'm not sure how to stop it from doing that. Do you know of a way?
Yes,
Click on the start button, type device installation, when it pops up click on Change Device Installation Settings, choose No, ignore the lie in parentheses, click save changes.

When you run DDU, you have a choice to remove Nvidia, AMD, or Realtek Audio. Run DDU in safe mode, choose Nvidia, let it run through its process. Run DDU again, choose AMD, let it run through its process.

Download the latest driver from Nvidia.com and install it from that.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
286 (0.17/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) AOC Q27G2U QHD, Dell S2415H FHD
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Might as well be what @GerKNG mentioned, I tried running Mad Max (uses DirectX 11) for the sake of testing, and GPU usage was noticable in Task Manager, you should try some other game. Also as mentioned before, if your GPU wasn't utilized you wouldn't be able to play anything more demanding than tetris. It's 99% a bug in Windows or drivers.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,544 (0.35/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5900x / i5-4460
Motherboard Asrock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Black / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 500GB Samsung Pro 970, 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Dell - S3220DGF 32" LED Curved QHD FreeSync Monitor / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Zephyr Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
For installing drivers with Windows 10 for GPUs you should follow these steps since Windows 10 likes to automatically try to do everything for you when it shouldn't.

First - find the latest Nvidia driver from their website and download it to an easy to find location for you.
Second - Make sure you have DDU installed and ready to use
Third - disconnect your ethernet cable or disable your Wi-Fi (whatever option you have setup to get you online).
Fourth - run DDU and uninstall any current graphic driver(s)
Fifth - install the saved Nvidia driver you have saved on your computer
Sixth - reconnect your ethernet cable or re-enable your Wi-Fi

That's how I handle things with Windows 10 so it's not trying to automatically install the driver (which may be old) when I don't need it to.

In terms of monitoring GPU usage, I will either check that with MSI Afterburner or GPU-Z.
 
Top