• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RTX 3080 and GTX 1060 frametime spikes

ShadowChild

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
Hi evevryone, first sorry for my bad english I'm french :). I have a really big problem of frametime spikes (that leads to stuttering). I have this problem with my brand new RTX 3080 and my old GTX 1060.

Here is my setup:

Aorus b550 pro ac
Ryzen 7 3700x
RTX 3080/GTX 1060
Corsair rm 750x PSU
Gskill trident z neo 3600mhz CL18
Sabrent 4.0 nvme

What I have done :


-Reinstalled Windows Multiple Times (Even on New SSD) Reinstalled GPU drivers (Used DDU for clean install without Geforce Experience)
-Updated Bios/ MOBO Drivers (Audio/LAN/Chipset)
-XMP On/Off - No difference
-Disabled All In-Game Overlays
-SWAPPED EVERY SINGLE COMPONENT IN MY PC (GPU, CPU, MOBO)
-Closed all unessessary background processes
-Turned on High Performance Power Plan in Windows
-Messed with every combination of Enabling/Disabling Gsync and Vsync - stutter still occurs in any configuration
-Tried capping fps at lower values (144, 120, 60) - stutter still occurs
-Plugged PC into different wall outlet in case this is somehow a power issue. Had no effect.
-Disabled HPET
-Disabled C States
-Tested on Other - no difference
-Used different Display port - no diff
-Play games in Offline mode - no effect
-Ran Memtest86 - no errors found
-Turned game settings all low - no effect


Notes :

-My Temps are under 70
-Cpu usage is not the bottleneck
-Disabling fullscreen optimization for each game lower the frametime spikes but the problem is always there

Here you can see the frametime :

Example 1 : Exameple 2 :
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,375 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
First off, how did you get your hands on a RTX 3080 is what I want to know :eek::laugh:

Secondly, what types of games do you play? MP?SP?FPS?

Maybe post up some graphs from GPU-Z/Afterburner during gameplay so people can have a broader idea of what is going on with your system as a whole when you're gaming.

What CPU cooler do you have?

What brand RTX 3080/GTX 1060?

Also your pics don't help much, whilst we see spikes in frametime, there is no indication of what the numbers are we are looking at, could well be 10ms to 15ms or 5ms to 100ms for all I can work out.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,982 (2.07/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
need more information
what games
did you check the cpu usage/DISK I-O/ Memory paging or DPC latency to see if it corresponds to when the problem happens
 

ShadowChild

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
It happens in every gamer like Plague tale innocence, Rocket League, FF XV, Control...

My cpu cooler is a be quiet dark pure slim but my cpu is under 70°C

I have msi x trio 3080 and evga 1060 sc single fan

Frametime rise from 7ms to 100. Max is 900 ms o_O

CPU usage is very low because I've tested even at low 60 fps on Doom

For the disk I've tried on several ssd, different kits of ram

How to check DPC latency ?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,550 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Is your SSD cooled? Like a heatsink is on it?
 

dcGColts

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.03/day)
Is GPU usage maxed for the most part? If CPU usage is low but gpu usage is also low could be sign of ram bottleneck cl18 is pretty high especially on ryzen but I doubt that would be causing such crazy frametimes. Other thing you might be dumping too much heat on your m2 drive from GPU if there is a different place you can put it try that there is programs like hwinfo or aida64 you can see m2 temps and even link them to rivatuner to see in OSD mine don't go above 40's but I believe anything under 60 is ok. If m2 is getting too hot it could be causing very terrible performance thus resulting in horrible frametimes a sure fire way to know if this is a possible cause is if the high frametimes are more rare once you first load the game and the more you play the worse they get.

If it is this it could be you just need more airflow or efficient airflow in your case. Is this 3080 an aib or FE? If its an FE there should be a difference between that and 1060 aib unless your case airflow is all outta wack. AIB cards also effect pch temp more than 30 series founder edition

Have you tried reformatting windows with fresh install and just using 3080?

I see in another reply you don't have 3080 FE but MSI one kk. You say you tried other ssds is that as in sata ssds or other m2 drives? What about other components in pci-e slots? Check GPU-Z and see if your GPU is running at max 16x4.0 or 3.0 usage if your using icue and monitoring sensors stop and close icue. Make sure Ultra low latency is off and not on or ultra. Also in NVCP make sure shader cache is on. Disable sharpening or scaling as well. Set power management mode to adaptive and optimal use 30fps cap at 1080p this will tell you if its heat issue or not. Remove any OC on CPU. Set power limiter on GPU to default. The goal here is to attempt to rule out any heat/power issue. If it still happens at 30fps capped@1080p then IMO it definitely can't be a heat/power issue.

EDIT:
Here some more interesting information on this reddit thread are you using riser cable? Some m2 slots on AMD Mobo's steal CPU lanes which holds back GPU PCI-E bandwidth m2 suppose to go in lowest slot not top slot.
Reddit Link
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,220 (0.23/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX 3090 OC @?
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
Its most likely your PSU. Borrow one from a friend and check then youll know for sure. :toast:

underclock your card and limit the voltage.
 

ShadowChild

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
Guys I tested my system with a gtx 1060, it doesn't need more than 750w, I tested too with an ssd 2.5" and my two graphic cards into an other system, the problem is not hardware. Disabling fullscreen optimization help. Temps always under 70°c for GPU and CPU so 0 throttle, usage are definitely fine too. The problem is elsewhere
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
434 (0.96/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F30
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory G.Skill Neo 32GB @3600 MT/s C16
Storage MP600 2TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) DT 770 Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro
Keyboard K95 Platinum
Try a different PSU, it's not a matter of enough power.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,447 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
scroll down to latencymon v7 home ed.

and there is other software on this page "whysoslow" which ya could try-never tested myself
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
348 (0.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4,2Ghz, 1,337vcore
Motherboard MSI X470 GAMING PLUS
Cooling 1x1080TI Custom loop
Memory Patriot Viper Steel DDR4-3600 16GB @ 3133mhz cl14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid0 4 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G403
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard x2
Software Windows 10
@ShadowChild
This seems to be a hard one the only offer of advice i can give you is to go ONE BY ONE.

New windows minimal drivers even basic drivers, test, test your external hardware too, Mouse Keyboard etc, plug the lowest amount possible into your pc. NO OC bassic ram timings everything the minimalist way possible THEN ADD ONE BY ONE till stutter occurs again
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,614 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Mouse MX510
Keyboard Microsoft Digital media 3000
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail )
I said it's already done, doesn't work
What you have not done this is a good reading of this forum.
RTX 3000 design it is under the microscope due issues relative with the hardware it self.
Install the old card and wait as every one else in the line.
Also check MSI news daily for any new reference or advice or announcement.
There is a possibility that you will have to RMA the card, keep all carton boxes intact.
 

ShadowChild

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.14/day)
What you have not done this is a good reading of this forum.
RTX 3000 design it is under the microscope due issues relative with the hardware it self.
Install the old card and wait as every one else in the line.
Also check MSI news daily for any new reference or advice or announcement.
There is a possibility that you will have to RMA the card, keep all carton boxes intact.
And you have you read that I have same issue with my GTX 1060 ? Thanks.

@ShadowChild
This seems to be a hard one the only offer of advice i can give you is to go ONE BY ONE.

New windows minimal drivers even basic drivers, test, test your external hardware too, Mouse Keyboard etc, plug the lowest amount possible into your pc. NO OC bassic ram timings everything the minimalist way possible THEN ADD ONE BY ONE till stutter occurs again
I did so many tests, new windows, new build and so one
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,220 (0.23/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX 3090 OC @?
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
Wasnt 850w the minimum recommended psu rating for the 3000 series?

edit: The official NVIDIA website states a 750W PSU is required for the RTX 3080 or 3090.

Try using different power profiles in w10
try underclocking the card.
Try the other pcie slot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,614 (0.37/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Q6600 QUAD
Motherboard ASUS P5QC
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon
Memory HYPER-X KHX1600C8D3T1K2 /4GX PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5770 VAPOR-X
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music + mods Audigy front Panel (full working)
Power Supply HIPER 4M780 PE 980W Peak
Mouse MX510
Keyboard Microsoft Digital media 3000
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail )
And you have you read that I have same issue with my GTX 1060 ? Thanks.
You are receiving advice's from volunteers them have one or two decades of computing experiences.
If you are in hurry to solve you problems, ask for professional help from a computer builder located in your area.
You may have half damaged motherboard or memory modules , or miss-configured BIOS settings.
Its one possibility in order to be excluded for the issues list, the specific hardware it must be replaced for testing purposes.

Therefore ask for professional help from a computer builder located in your area, he has the necessary resources for all tests.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,799 (2.92/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Wasnt 850w the minimum recommended psu rating for the 3000 series?

edit: The official NVIDIA website states a 750W PSU is required for the RTX 3080 or 3090.

Try using different power profiles in w10
try underclocking the card.
Try the other pcie slot.
750 W is plenty for 3700x and 3080.

@OP have you tried installing insider preview of W10? I saw some folks reporting stutter on 2004 build and switching to insider build fixed it for them.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
System Name RyansHaswell-PC
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1660 v3 8c/16t @ 4400 MHz
Motherboard Asus Strix X99
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Memory 32GB @ 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 8GB MSI Gaming X+ 11Gbps
Storage 1TB Samsung 960 EVO + 3TB Toshiba P300
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 2560x1440 144Hz IPS Freesync
Case Cooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
Audio Device(s) On-board 1150 "SupremeFX"
Power Supply Corsair RM850X
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB (Cherry MX Silent)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.56/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
People aren't telling you to use a different PSU because they think your current PSU is insufficient. They're telling you to do so to rule out the PSU as a possibility. The only way to confirm that this is a hardware issue is by methodically replacing one single component at a time, then re-testing. Swapping all of your hardware at once doesn't help!

Have you reinstalled Windows with the necessary/minimum set of drivers, plus a single game, plus monitoring apps? In other words, have you made sure that there are no extra trash apps like RGB controller software running?

LatencyMon will tell you if it's a software issue and if so what driver is the problem, but if LatencyMon doesn't pinpoint anything, it's certainly a hardware issue.

Have you tried the method which involves constantly flushing the Windows Standby Memory?
This Reddit thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/8ks8hm will show you how to do so.
Considering that thread is from 2 years ago, I would be quite surprised if this is still a problem. Can't hurt to try though.
 
Top