• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RTX 3090 - PCIe slot power limit. Possibly going OoS

Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
136 (0.06/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Scrap
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K - 4,5 GHz@ 1,325V
Motherboard MSI Z77 G45
Cooling Be Quiet! Black Rock 3
Memory Kingston Blu DDR3-1600C9@1866C10
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage 1 TB Crucial MX300
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Lian Li PC-T70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire XT
Software W10
Hey guys

So right now my theory is that the RTX 3090 might be going OoS on the PCIe slots...? I haven't used GPU-Z to check power draw from slots, but it just seems very strange that even for a dual card setup, the 6 pin was needed...

The client running dual 3090 STRIX @ ASRock TRX40 Creator is using a Xilence Gold 1250W
The client running 3090 and 2080 Ti @ ASRock X570 Extreme4 is using a Xilence Gold 1050W
The quad 3090 build I did, was running dual 1200W PSUs. It is stable.

I do have 2 more builds coming up soon with quad 3090, and I will be using Super Flower 2000W for them.

UPDATE 17-02-2021: The dual 3090 STRIX machine is still crashing even though we added the motherboard 6pin. So right now I have to do some checking on the cards, because the crashing started when GPU2 was added - the card could be a defect. So right now my entire theory is kinda in the way. Besides the fact that the X570 board running 3090+2080Ti doesnt work - and is now only running the 3090.

Discuss!?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,682 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Sounds more like their PSUs aren't up to the task.
They need to go large.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,553 (0.95/day)
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair Hero VIII
Cooling NZXT Z72 w/ Corsair ML120 Pro White LED
Memory 2x8GB Zadak Spark DDR4 4133MHz 19-21-21-42 Samsung B-die
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6800 Fighter
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 256GB, WD 1TB SSD
Display(s) LG 43" 4k UHD HDR
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM 850X
Mouse Roccat Kova AIMO
Keyboard PNY Hyper X Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 x64
I agree with Caring1, what are the PSU specs for all the rigs?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,779 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
Hey guys

So I have built 1 single machine with quad RTX 3090, based on a TRX40 Creator board, which has a 6 pin power connection for extra juice for the slots. Usually these things are needed for 3+ cards, so in this case it was completely fine.

But I just had a client running dual 3090 Strix cards, and it would crash before we threw in the 6 pin power cable to the mobo. I also have another client running a 3090 and a 2080 Ti, but his machine crashes too. Sadly his board does not have the posibility of adding a 6 pin power cable for the PCIe slots, so he is kinda screwed.

So right now my theory is that the RTX 3090 might be going OoS on the PCIe slots...? I haven't used GPU-Z to check power draw from slots, but it just seems very strange that even for a dual card setup, the 6 pin was needed...

Discuss!?
i think the 3090's are drawing WAY more peak power than is being disclosed. both of my 3090's have caused full PSU shutdown, on a 750Watt Seasonic Focus+. its a solid PSU, & based on specifications of the 3090, more than capable of powering it, yet here i am. i monitored GPUz PCIe wattage & didnt see anything out of the ordinary, but i think it is slow for real time monitoring. So many users have reported crashing, with different PSU brands & OEM's, that i feel it cant be a PSU issue, i think the 3090 peaks high & is overwhelming PSU's that should otherwise drive the 3090. i feel liek it might be the capacitors in the PCIe cables not handling the load, but im no expert, i just know many have reported critical shotdown when running 3090's on what should be acceptable PSU's
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,224 (0.38/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W (10 years strong)
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Honestly, running any more than 1 high power card off just the power provided by the 24-pin connector is asking for trouble. Trust me, I've seen the nasty results. The 24-pin just wasn't designed to provide more than 75w of power to the PCI-E bus.

It is why products like this exist: https://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Power-Booster-Black-100-MB-PB01-BR/dp/B005OTXUYU
Spec says 75 watts but generally they can do more then that. Problem is when you are dealing with cheaper boards that might skimp on tracing so that 75 watts ends up being absolute max. Usually higher ends boards can do 75 problem and even a bit more. Nvidia hasn't been known to go above spec on and only ones that ever would are ones that are sole relying on pcie for all its power but generally they rely more on extra power connectors 6/8pin. AMD on other hand they had cards in history that drew more then they should be from pcie slot which did cause issues which they had to fix with updates i think to the cards bios to make it draw from the 6pin over pcie slot.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,092 (0.56/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
If what the Op suggests were true, many many more of us would have come across this issue, which doesn't exist. These are 400w gpus, ya better have the psu to run them.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
38 (0.04/day)
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z170I GAMING PRO AC
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series™ H100i GTX Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Memory Corsair Dominator® Platinum Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING
Storage Corsair Neutron Series™ XT 240GB SATA 3 6Gb/s SSD (2015 Edition) x2 RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q x2
Case Obsidian Series® 250D Mini ITX PC Case
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID RGB Wireless Premium Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair RMi Series RM850i High-Performance ATX Power Supply
Mouse Corsair SCIMITAR RGB Optical MOBA/MMO Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — CHERRY® MX Silent
Software Microsoft Windows 10 PRO
What is your PSU? For TRX40 platform + quad RTX 3090, you really need dual PSU or single 2000 WATT PSU.

QUAD Gigabyte RTX 3090 TURBO and Intel Xeon W-2255 CPU ( 165 WATT TDP ) pulls 1717 WATT from the wall at peak usage.

I have measured 1375 WATT power draw from wall when stressing 2 RTX 3090 with F@H ( 10850K@5.2 GHz all core with EK-QuantumX Delta TEC CPU block that has a 200 WATT peltier and it was on. ). I have 2000 WATT PSU and motherboard has 6pin PCI-ex power plug as well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,481 (0.88/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 10980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.16v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
These issues are power supply related try replacing the PSU with another unit, I had to replace my 1200w ROG PSU which worked fine with my 2080TI but would crash using my EVGA 3080, and no the PSU had no issues these cards cause some hard power spikes which trip out some units.
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
568 (1.75/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, 2x XD5, Heatkiller IV SB block for chipset,Alphacool 3090 Strix block
Memory 4x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 3090 Strix OC
Storage 500GB+500GB SSD RAID0, Fusion IoDrive2 1.2TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB, 11TB on server used for steam
Display(s) Dell LG CX48 (custom res: 3840x1620@120Hz) + Acer XB271HU 2560x1440@144Hz
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 20H2
These issues are power supply related try replacing the PSU with another unit, I had to replace my 1200w ROG PSU which worked fine with my 2080TI but would crash using my EVGA 3080, and no the PSU had no issues these cards cause some hard power spikes which trip out some units.
If that 1200W is triggered by a 3080, it's sh**. I run a power-modded watercooled 3090 off a 1000W Corsair unit and never had an issue...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
136 (0.06/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Scrap
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K - 4,5 GHz@ 1,325V
Motherboard MSI Z77 G45
Cooling Be Quiet! Black Rock 3
Memory Kingston Blu DDR3-1600C9@1866C10
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage 1 TB Crucial MX300
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Lian Li PC-T70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire XT
Software W10
Alright. I will post specs here and in OP:

The client running dual 3090 STRIX is using a Xilence Gold 1250W
The client running 3090 and 2080 Ti @ X570 board is running a Xilence Gold 1050W
The quad 3090 build I did, was running dual 1200W PSUs.

I do have 2 more builds coming up soon with quad 3090, and I will be using Super Flower 2000W for them.


Update on the situation though: The dual 3090 STRIX machine is still crashing even though we added the motherboard 6pin. So right now I have to do some checking on the cards, because the crashing started when GPU2 was added - the card could be a defect. So right now my entire theory is kinda in the way. Besides the fact that the X570 board running 3090+2080Ti doesnt work - and is now only running the 3090.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,960 (3.55/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
In my testing, the 3090 FE spikes to 465 W

 
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
136 (0.06/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Scrap
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K - 4,5 GHz@ 1,325V
Motherboard MSI Z77 G45
Cooling Be Quiet! Black Rock 3
Memory Kingston Blu DDR3-1600C9@1866C10
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage 1 TB Crucial MX300
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Lian Li PC-T70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire XT
Software W10
In my testing, the 3090 FE spikes to 465 W

But that is just absolutely insane. Shouldn't it be something that newer drivers and/or BIOS updates can adjust? It's just a spike.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
2,951 (1.92/day)
Processor R5 5600X
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-2666 VLP @3800
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 3070 FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair K60
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
568 (1.75/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, 2x XD5, Heatkiller IV SB block for chipset,Alphacool 3090 Strix block
Memory 4x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 3090 Strix OC
Storage 500GB+500GB SSD RAID0, Fusion IoDrive2 1.2TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB, 11TB on server used for steam
Display(s) Dell LG CX48 (custom res: 3840x1620@120Hz) + Acer XB271HU 2560x1440@144Hz
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 20H2
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
In my testing, the 3090 FE spikes to 465 W


that spike right there, full resets my PC. no error message or warning. im guessing it is trigger Over Voltage Protection, of some kind. I have a Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W, but that is not sufficient for these spikes in wattage. Im hoping the Focus+ 1000W Will be enough
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
that's expected when something is triggered on the PSU, because the PSU has no way to report back to the rest of the system
i just hope the new 1000 Watt Seasonic will remedy this issue, it kills me to have to implement a $250 fix, but i dont think i have much choice.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
274 (0.09/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory 32Gb Patriot Viper 3600 RGB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Ventus Trio OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO
Display(s) Specterpro 34uw100
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Power Supply Cooler Master V750 Gold SFX
Software Windows 10 64bit
By any chance are you daisy-chaining PCIE cables? That could also be it.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
By any chance are you daisy-chaining PCIE cables? That could also be it.
if you mean me, then no. i use a cable for each female plug on the Adapter cable. using a single cable, causes the OVP to kick in even faster (maybe the added capacitors while using a second cable might increase its resistance to overload, but im no power expert). i would imagine it would have to be that, since the Focus+ has a single +12V rail, using one cable or two shouldnt effect anything, atleast in my laymans understanding.

ill update my results when the 1000Watt Focus+ arrives. what i dont get is i can run 3DMark without restarts. im not a big gamer, so i only have escape from tarkov installed currently, running EFT brings a total shutdown in seconds, but timespy, or firestrike 4k can run all day. i dont get that
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
274 (0.09/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory 32Gb Patriot Viper 3600 RGB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Ventus Trio OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO
Display(s) Specterpro 34uw100
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Power Supply Cooler Master V750 Gold SFX
Software Windows 10 64bit
In theory, your PSU should work. Have you checked newer/older drivers? Some protection kicks in if you daisy chain wires. A single wire can only carry certain wattage and amps that's why it is not advised to daisy chain them.
ill update my results when the 1000Watt Focus+ arrives. it blows my mind they are able to squeeze 1000W PSU in the same case as a 550W

I'm using a 750 watt only a bit larger than my palm.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
Have you checked newer/older drivers?
im running the most recent driver, but ill try the older version right now & see if it bears fruit. id love to save the $260, & the time it takes to swap PSU's

Edit
Rolling back to the second most recent driver fixed it apparently. Why is it we always overlook the most obvious things

2x edit. It ran for a while but it finally crashed about 10 minutes in.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
274 (0.09/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory 32Gb Patriot Viper 3600 RGB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Ventus Trio OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO
Display(s) Specterpro 34uw100
Case Cooler Master NR200P
Power Supply Cooler Master V750 Gold SFX
Software Windows 10 64bit
im running the most recent driver, but ill try the older version right now & see if it bears fruit. id love to save the $260, & the time it takes to swap PSU's

Edit
Rolling back to the second most recent driver fixed it apparently. Why is it we always overlook the most obvious things

2x edit. It ran for a while but it finally crashed about 10 minutes in.
What application are you using to cause the crash? Anything else using the 12 volt line? Try undervolting it to check if that really is the case.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,710 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard Asrock Z590 Extreme wifi 6E
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Corsair RGB fancy boi 5000
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 Reference
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb + Samsung 970 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) Dell - 27" LED QHD G-SYNC x2
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 1000 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores the MLGeesiest
What application are you using to cause the crash? Anything else using the 12 volt line? Try undervolting it to check if that really is the case.
escape from tarkov kills it every time. i can run 3dMark & it completes the run with no issue. ive never encountered this with my 2080ti, so im guessing Wizard was right, & it is spiking wattage, causing the PSU to shut down due to protection. i have the 1000Watt seasonic ordered, maybe ill be able to resell the 750watt here so its not as total loss.

there are tons of users reporting just this situation on the WWW. 99% of the time, it is using normal power, but those spikes are too much for what would normally be sufficient PSU's.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,092 (0.56/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
escape from tarkov kills it every time. i can run 3dMark & it completes the run with no issue. ive never encountered this with my 2080ti, so im guessing Wizard was right, & it is spiking wattage, causing the PSU to shut down due to protection. i have the 1000Watt seasonic ordered, maybe ill be able to resell the 750watt here so its not as total loss.

there are tons of users reporting just this situation on the WWW. 99% of the time, it is using normal power, but those spikes are too much for what would normally be sufficient PSU's.
Use hwinfo and use it to show your powerdraw in the osd. I use it to show both cpu and gpu powerdraw which gives a clearer understanding of usage.
 
Top