• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RTX option greyed out in games

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
If i install the full nvidia driver everything is working fine. If i use nvclean install and only select the driver and physx then rtx option in games is greyed out, dlss seems to be selectable. What am i missing?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
114 (0.05/day)
System Name Ryzen 5800X-PC / RyzenITX (2nd system 5600X stock)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X (atx) / 5600X itx
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER (ATX) / X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi (ITX)
Cooling AMD Wrath Prism Cooler / AMD Wrath Prism Cooler
Memory OLOY 4000Mhz 16GB x 2 (32GB) DDR4 3800 Mhz CL18, (22,22,22,42) 1.35v AT & ITX PC's
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT (ATX) /// AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GDDR6 (ITX)
Storage (Sys)Sammy 980 PRO 1TB & SabrentRocket 4.0+ 2TB (ATX) | 250GB SAMMY NVMe / SabrentRocket4.0 1TB NVMe
Display(s) 30" Ultra-Wide 21:9 200Hz/AMD FREESYNC 200hz/144hz LED LCD Montior Connected Via Display Port (x2)
Case Lian Li Lancool II Mesh (ATX) / Lian Li TU150 Black (ITX)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC1220 codec / Onboard HD Audio* (BOTH) w/ EQ settings
Power Supply 850w (Antec High-Current Gamer) HC-850 PSU (80+ gold certified) ATX) / 650Watt Phanteks SFX (ITX)
Mouse Logitech USB Wireless KB & MOUSE (Both Systems)
Keyboard Logitech USB Wireless KB & MOUSE (Both Systems)
Software Windows 10 Home x64bit 2400 /BOTH SYSTEMS
Benchmark Scores CPUZ - ATX-5800X (ST:670) - (MT: 6836.3 ) CPUZ - ITX -5600X (ST:660.7) - (MT: 5868.2)
on windows 10?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
114 (0.05/day)
System Name Ryzen 5800X-PC / RyzenITX (2nd system 5600X stock)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X (atx) / 5600X itx
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER (ATX) / X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi (ITX)
Cooling AMD Wrath Prism Cooler / AMD Wrath Prism Cooler
Memory OLOY 4000Mhz 16GB x 2 (32GB) DDR4 3800 Mhz CL18, (22,22,22,42) 1.35v AT & ITX PC's
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT (ATX) /// AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GDDR6 (ITX)
Storage (Sys)Sammy 980 PRO 1TB & SabrentRocket 4.0+ 2TB (ATX) | 250GB SAMMY NVMe / SabrentRocket4.0 1TB NVMe
Display(s) 30" Ultra-Wide 21:9 200Hz/AMD FREESYNC 200hz/144hz LED LCD Montior Connected Via Display Port (x2)
Case Lian Li Lancool II Mesh (ATX) / Lian Li TU150 Black (ITX)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC1220 codec / Onboard HD Audio* (BOTH) w/ EQ settings
Power Supply 850w (Antec High-Current Gamer) HC-850 PSU (80+ gold certified) ATX) / 650Watt Phanteks SFX (ITX)
Mouse Logitech USB Wireless KB & MOUSE (Both Systems)
Keyboard Logitech USB Wireless KB & MOUSE (Both Systems)
Software Windows 10 Home x64bit 2400 /BOTH SYSTEMS
Benchmark Scores CPUZ - ATX-5800X (ST:670) - (MT: 6836.3 ) CPUZ - ITX -5600X (ST:660.7) - (MT: 5868.2)
find dxsetup try re installing directx other wise im not sure if ur on win7 no rt, if on winn11 r may be bugged??
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
i dont see how its a windows problem since its working if i install the full driver. i see that its a tool problem that dosent install something when its stripping components
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,299 (3.63/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
i see that its a tool problem that dosent install something when its stripping components
RT is part of the core driver.

Which game? Any chance your Windows 10 version is too old, some games require newer Windows 10 builds for RT to enable
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
....

this is the third time i say that rt is working if i install the full nvidia driver from nvidia website. how can i be more clearer than this? i dont want to be rude.

but for the sake of this conversation, its build 1809. every driver from nvidia website rt is working, every driver through nvclean rt not working.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
794 (7.42/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
i dont see how its a windows problem since its working if i install the full driver. i see that its a tool problem that dosent install something when its stripping components
Hence a windows problem RT is part of the core driver so your installing the component needed for it, but somehow windows isn't making use of it.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,299 (3.63/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Which game?
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
every rtx game

Hence a windows problem RT is part of the core driver so your installing the component needed for it, but somehow windows isn't making use of it.
then why its working when using full driver from nvidia website? such statement makes no sense

can someone confirm that only installing core driver and physx with no hdmi audio driver or whatever, rt works?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
532 (0.13/day)
Location
Germany
System Name https://goo.gl/FDgehs
Does it happen with all installation methods - best, manually, select from disk?

Check registry for these entries (long hex number at the end of lines is driver dependent)

Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Setup\Upgrade\PnP\CurrentControlSet\Services\nvlddmkm\NGXCore]
"NGXPath"="C:\\Windows\\System32\\DriverStore\\FileRepository\\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_c3a092618292731c"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\nvlddmkm\NGXCore]
"NGXPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\DriverStore\\FileRepository\\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_e50f3a2a9964953e"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\nvlddmkm\NGXCore]
"NGXPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\DriverStore\\FileRepository\\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_e50f3a2a9964953e"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NGXCore]
"Installed"=dword:00000001
"FullPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\DriverStore\\FileRepository\\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_e50f3a2a9964953e"
"ShowDlssIndicator"=dword:00000001
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
i only used nvclean to install a driver that i already downloaded

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Setup\Upgrade\PnP\CurrentControlSet\Services\nvlddmkm\NGXCore]
"NGXPath"="C:\\Windows\\System32\\DriverStore\\FileRepository\\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_c3a092618292731c"

the above entry i do not have, the folders \nvlddmkm\NGXCore]

but for the other entries the .inf file is nvgbdi.inf and not nv_dispi.inf like you have
C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nvgbdi.inf_amd64_2991c0072d84d1f0
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
532 (0.13/day)
Location
Germany
System Name https://goo.gl/FDgehs
nv_dispi.inf is the generic one; you have nvgbdi.inf listed because the installer found one of these subsystems
NVIDIA_DEV.1E84.4001.1458 = "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER"
NVIDIA_DEV.1E84.B000.1458 = "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER"

More important would be
"Installed"=dword:00000001
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
794 (7.42/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Not sure how you got the driver but personally I download the geforce experience directly from Nvidia click the executable file let it unpack to a specific location I know. Once it's finished uncompressing and actually starts to install I cancel the process then use the location I specified to install through nvclean.
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
nv_dispi.inf is the generic one; you have nvgbdi.inf listed because the installer found one of these subsystems
NVIDIA_DEV.1E84.4001.1458 = "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER"
NVIDIA_DEV.1E84.B000.1458 = "NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER"

More important would be
"Installed"=dword:00000001
there is yes. on the last entry. but no "ShowDlssIndicator"=dword:00000001
 

hehehe

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2021
Messages
8 (0.17/day)
that logging says its for when it fails to install a driver, not for what im having.
 
Top