1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

running a server

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by devilzsniper, Jul 6, 2006.

  1. devilzsniper New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all will i be able to make a game server with 20 people on with this setup

    Asus M2N32-SLi Deluxe Motherboard (Skt AM2)
    Processor: AMD 64-Bit Dual Core FX-62 (Skt AM2)
    System Memory: 2Gb Corsair DDR2 667 Dual Channel Memory (2x 1Gb)
    Hard Drive One: 200Gb Serial ATA300 7200RPM
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I would say so, but it might depend on the game & its requirements... so, it may depend on the game itself more than anything imo, because that is NOT a "whimpy setup" imo @ least!

    :)

    * I would say, "yes, that's more than adequate", but check w/ the OEM's of the games you have, or their manuals, IF they are comprehensive in this area!

    APK
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Do servers have system requirements?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Depends on the server, & what it runs (this much I know):

    For instance, just to install SQLServer 2005, you need 1gb of RAM as the "recommended minimum amount", but it will install nevertheless (however, it does "warn" you).

    Gaming servers though? Whew, got me...

    There probably is a "per user logged on memory amt. required" per each of their sessions, based on the game involved.

    APK
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Of course they have system requirements. usualyl a dedicated server doesn't require much processing power. It does however need enough RAM to cache maps and other stuff. The main bottleneck is the internetconnection though. If it's a LAN server you should be fine here.

    As for using a dual core CPU for a single game server, it's pointless.
    Look up the servers documentation, find recommended RAM/bandwidth per client and do the math.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. devilzsniper New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Recommended Specification, based on playing a 64 player game:

    CPU: 3 Ghz. For AMD Athlon 64 CPU: 3500+ (2.2 Ghz)

    RAM: 2 Gb
    this is 4 battlefireld 2


    It is reported that a full 64player server requires 8Mb/s of bandwidth.


    and my net is 10mb so i think it will be ok
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    You should check with EA or Dice and see how to make your server 'ranked'.

    You have to actually pay dice (or ea) to make your server ranked.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Your net connect may be 10mb down....but what your servers gonna depend on Is the Upload Bandwidth.....not so much the download......the Ability for your server to communicate with all the players on the Net.....thats where the speed will be needed.....10mb down Is fine......but Unlikely your gonna have 10mb up......you have to find out what your upload cap Is before you can set the player limit on your server.

    I used to run an SOF2 server.....4mb down and 1.5up......Time Warner caps my up at 44k though...so I could only run a 12-14 man server smoothly....was fun though.

    Upload matters most when running any type of server.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)