• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Running coaxial cable through surge protector = ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
I had some trouble with my internet lately (shut off due to non-payment... supposed to automatically come out of the bank account but it didn't for whatever reason). I paid them with my debit card over the phone, and they came out to turn it back on the same day. Some guy came, messed with the box outside, and then left. The modem went from having a blinking receive light to a solid receive light and a blinking send light. The internet still didn't work, but I figured maybe it needed some time to sort itself out. After an hour it didn't so I called again, and they set up an appointment for some guy to come out and fix it this morning. He came in, looked at my setup and said "it's cause you're running it through here" (I had a coaxial coming from the wall into my surge protector, then another coming from the surge protector to the modem). I proceeded to tell him I've never had any issues with it before, and he said it can screw with the signal. He set it up with a wire coming from the wall directly to the modem, and as expected it still didn't work. He said "I'm gonna check something outside", and came back in shortly after. He said it started working before he even did anything out there.

It seems to me that he was trying to cover up his spotty work (especially if he was the same guy who was here in the first place to turn it back on yesterday), but now I'm left wondering: can running coaxial through a surge protector really cause problems?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
60
Location
Universal City, Texas, USA
System Name Defiant |::| Vengeance-B
Processor AMD Athlon x4 845 (3.5GHz) |::| Intel i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ |::| Asus Sabertooth P67
Cooling GELID CC-Shero-01-A w/ Corsair SP120 High Pressure |::| CM 212 w/ CM "Excalibur" Fan
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-2133 G.Skill Ares |::| 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3-1866 G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon R7 260x 2GB |::| XFX Radeon R9 285 2GB
Storage Intel 335 180G SSD / Seagate 1TB SSHD |::| 250GB Crucial BX100 SSD / Seagate 500GB SSHD
Display(s) 24" Viewsonic 1920x1080 (VX2450wm-LED)
Case CM Elite 130 ITX |::| Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 |::| Creative X-Fi Titainium PCIe
Power Supply FSP Raider 450w 80-Silver |::| Thermaltake 675w ToughPower 80-Bronze
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 Pro |::| Windows 10 Home & XP SP3 via VMware
#3
it can, but i haven't personaly experienced it yet. It has to due with the frequencies the signals are carried at. I do know that some of my older coax splitters cant be used anymore cause they are only 5mhz-900mhz and cable internet at my location is at 1720mhz, so i had to get new splitters that are good till 2200mhz. Also the only other issue i cant think of is if the protector does any "noise filtering" on the coax line. not sure how that would exactly affect it, but it certainly may in some way, perhaps someone else can expand on that portion.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,425 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,574
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
It can, but if it didn't before, it probably won't now.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
894 (0.24/day)
Likes
141
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#5
Running coax through the surge protector will cause signal loss (a few DB) and depending on the quality, different types of interference from connected equipment if it's not being filtered correctly. If you already have marginal signal strength these things can really put a damper on signal quality.

When I used to do service calls (while working for one of Florida's biggest custom A/V companies) I would often run into this. People would be amazed at how much better the signal quality was after removing the coax from the surge protector and in some cases it rectified all of the problems. It was usually the most low budget or old units that had these problems.

In my opinion it's more important to make sure the cable system is properly grounded than surge protected. You would be amazed by the number of systems that aren't grounded by the entry point to the residence.

It's possible that you were just on the edge of adequate signal and his connections outside were poorly made.
 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#6
In my opinion it's more important to make sure the cable system is properly grounded than surge protected.
^^ This is sound advice, Hat.
If you can drain off the surge before it ever gets near the equipment, it is superior to trying to let a surge protector deal with it.

If you are REALLY worried about it, convert the signal to optical (fiber) and then back.
A surge cannot get through fiber optic cable.
I did this when networking outdoor, mobile MRI units to our main network back when I worked for GE.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,896 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#7
@hat,

By chance is it Wide Open West (WOW)?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#8
it can, but i haven't personaly experienced it yet. It has to due with the frequencies the signals are carried at. I do know that some of my older coax splitters cant be used anymore cause they are only 5mhz-900mhz and cable internet at my location is at 1720mhz, so i had to get new splitters that are good till 2200mhz. Also the only other issue i cant think of is if the protector does any "noise filtering" on the coax line. not sure how that would exactly affect it, but it certainly may in some way, perhaps someone else can expand on that portion.
I have no idea what frequency my connection comes in at.

Running coax through the surge protector will cause signal loss (a few DB) and depending on the quality, different types of interference from connected equipment if it's not being filtered correctly. If you already have marginal signal strength these things can really put a damper on signal quality.

When I used to do service calls (while working for one of Florida's biggest custom A/V companies) I would often run into this. People would be amazed at how much better the signal quality was after removing the coax from the surge protector and in some cases it rectified all of the problems. It was usually the most low budget or old units that had these problems.

In my opinion it's more important to make sure the cable system is properly grounded than surge protected. You would be amazed by the number of systems that aren't grounded by the entry point to the residence.

It's possible that you were just on the edge of adequate signal and his connections outside were poorly made.
I'd hope not. I don't know how to check for good grounding, and I'm not sure what I could do about it if I found the grounding to be poor...

@hat,

By chance is it Wide Open West (WOW)?
Nope.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,795
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
Sounds like a shady guy trying to get you charged for some thing that was not in house. Added changed a splitter or lowered the power though or just side the box what ever happened make sure you don't end up paying for it.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#10
I wasn't presented with any additional charges.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,379 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,124
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#11
That doesnt mean it wont show up on your next bill or the one after that. Just keep an eye out for anything suspicious.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#12
Well, I have it coming back through the surge protector. No issues.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#13
The guy removed the filter, though claimed he didn't do anything. That is why you always watch what these people do. They are shady, because they make commission on these "customer's fault" issues.

When a cable company disconnect someone, they either cut the cable, or install a filter (w/ tamper proof jacks) to prevent you from tamping their network (because it is shared). All the filter does is block a certain frequency that is required for digital internet signal. The tech installs the filter at the demarc or at the street's cable hub.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#14
Yeah, I'd like to think that using a surge protector wouldn't be the cause for screwing up my networking... that seems pretty far out there.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,762 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,656
Location
04578
#15
yea its a filter my cable company had one in my box as well when they put in a new drop it screwed everything up so knowing how it worked I simply broke the plastic housing and physically removed it called them up told them they were morons they cut my bill in half for 2 months and i just installed the filter on the old family tv which caused the feedback, problem solved everyone happy. its a filter, i had the same issues getting my cable internet working till i finally did the damn job the jackass was paid to do but failed to do.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#16
Yeah, I'd rather not break into stuff... especially since I live in an apt complex.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,851 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,307
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#17
@hat do you get your service from TWC?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.93/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#18
the cable guys here are just as retarded. sad really.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#19
Yeah, I'd like to think that using a surge protector wouldn't be the cause for screwing up my networking... that seems pretty far out there.
The cable guy was right on about that protector. That protector exists only because advertising promotes something that is contrary to well proven science. And a majority will be victims of the myths and lies that promoted that protector.

Protection is always about where energy dissipates. Anyone who recommends a protector must also tell you where the hundreds of thousands of joules dissipate. That protector is how many hundred joules? How does a surge's hundreds of thousands of joules magically disappear? Does not have to. Those who make themselves victims of advertising will even become angry rather than admit to ignoring important numbers.

timta2 has defined what is well understood. That post say best what probably happened. Why was the signal lower? Could also be other reasons. But if you use a plug-in protector anywhere inside the house, then you are also foolishly letting scammers steal money from your pocket. And sometimes makes electronics easier to damage.

A majority are easily manipulated by advertising. Many will even become angry while denying this well understood science. A protection always means a short (ie 'less than 10 foot'') connection to earth. Cable needs no protector. A wire does more than any protector could ever do. As was well understood over 100 years ago. Your cable installer would have confirmed a 'less than 10 foot' connection to single point earth ground. A majority do not understand this science due to contrary information promoted only by advertising - without any numbers.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,583 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,195
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#20
@hat do you get your service from TWC?
Nope.

The cable guy was right on about that protector. That protector exists only because advertising promotes something that is contrary to well proven science. And a majority will be victims of the myths and lies that promoted that protector.

Protection is always about where energy dissipates. Anyone who recommends a protector must also tell you where the hundreds of thousands of joules dissipate. That protector is how many hundred joules? How does a surge's hundreds of thousands of joules magically disappear? Does not have to. Those who make themselves victims of advertising will even become angry rather than admit to ignoring important numbers.

Does not matter if it worked before. Many electronics can be defective and still things work.

Why was the signal lower? Could also be other reasons. But if you use a plug-in protector anywhere inside the house, then you are also foolishly letting scammers steal money from your pocket.

A majority are easily manipulated by advertising. Many will even become angry while denying this well understood science. A protection always means a short (ie 'less than 10 foot'') connection to earth. Cable needs no protector. A wire does more than any protector could ever do. As was well understood over 100 years ago. Your cable installer would have confirmed a 'less than 10 foot' connection to single point earth ground. A majority do not understand this science due to contrary information promoted only by advertising - without any numbers.
Eh?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#21
The cable guy was right on about that protector. That protector exists only because advertising promotes something that is contrary to well proven science. And a majority will be victims of the myths and lies that promoted that protector.

Protection is always about where energy dissipates. Anyone who recommends a protector must also tell you where the hundreds of thousands of joules dissipate. That protector is how many hundred joules? How does a surge's hundreds of thousands of joules magically disappear? Does not have to. Those who make themselves victims of advertising will even become angry rather than admit to ignoring important numbers.

timta2 has defined what is well understood. That post say best what probably happened. Why was the signal lower? Could also be other reasons. But if you use a plug-in protector anywhere inside the house, then you are also foolishly letting scammers steal money from your pocket. And sometimes makes electronics easier to damage.

A majority are easily manipulated by advertising. Many will even become angry while denying this well understood science. A protection always means a short (ie 'less than 10 foot'') connection to earth. Cable needs no protector. A wire does more than any protector could ever do. As was well understood over 100 years ago. Your cable installer would have confirmed a 'less than 10 foot' connection to single point earth ground. A majority do not understand this science due to contrary information promoted only by advertising - without any numbers.
It doesn't have to absorb a damn lightening bolt. Just a surge. Are we really going to go through this again Westom?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#22
The cable guy was spot on. I don't know how well proven science can be explained any easier. If you bought a surge protector for the cable, then you all but begged to be scammed. It does nothing useful, will degrade cable signals, and sometimes can make adjacent appliance damage easier. That (which has been well understood for over 100 years) is unknown to a majority so easily educated only by advertising and hearsay.

The cable guy was correct about that pathetic protector. Remove it. Learn why the protector manufacturer does not even claim protection from any typically destructive surges.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#23
The cable guy was spot on. I don't know how well proven science can be explained any easier. If you bought a surge protector for the cable, then you all but begged to be scammed. It does nothing useful, will degrade cable signals, and sometimes can make adjacent appliance damage easier. That (which has been well understood for over 100 years) is unknown to a majority so easily educated only by advertising and hearsay.

The cable guy was correct about that pathetic protector. Remove it. Learn why the protector manufacturer does not even claim protection from any typically destructive surges.
I guess you never lived in an area with a lot of lighting strikes. I know so many people who's modem, cable box, & NIC all fizzled out because of a power surge. It is not a gimmick and it should not interfere with the cable signal because all it is doing is grounding the line. It does not degrade the signal or tamper the frequency.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#24
The cable guy was spot on. I don't know how well proven science can be explained any easier. If you bought a surge protector for the cable, then you all but begged to be scammed. It does nothing useful, will degrade cable signals, and sometimes can make adjacent appliance damage easier. That (which has been well understood for over 100 years) is unknown to a majority so easily educated only by advertising and hearsay.

The cable guy was correct about that pathetic protector. Remove it. Learn why the protector manufacturer does not even claim protection from any typically destructive surges.
You know I already schooled you once on lightening strikes and how they work. Do you want to be embarrassed again?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#25
I guess you never lived in an area with a lot of lighting strikes. I know so many people who's modem, cable box, & NIC all fizzled out because of a power surge. It is not a gimmick and it should not interfere with the cable signal because all it is doing is grounding the line. It does not degrade the signal or tamper the frequency.
Protection means that all surges - including lightning - cause no damage. One can foolishly spend $60 per appliance for protectors that don't protect from destructive surges. Or one can spend about $1 so that all surges (including lightning) do no damage. What is done everywhere that direct lightning strikes cause no damage? A short connection to single point ground is installed. As has been the only solution for over 100 years.

One can connect that cable protector to make surge damage easier and to degrade cable signals (obvious, seen by others here, and is what cable companies also state). Or one can inspect a cable's earth ground so that the best surge protection exists - even from direct lightning strikes.

What always exists to have direct lightning strikes without damage? A best single point earth ground. So that hundreds of thousands of joules remains outside a building. So that energy does not go hunting destructively for earth via electronics.

Protectors adjacent to electronics are not protection. Do not claim protection. And are routinely defined even in IEEE papers as a reason for appliance damage. Not only does that protector degrade cable signals. It also does not claim protection from typically destructive surges.

Lightning without damage is always about where energy must dissipate. How does near zero joules in a plug-in protector block or absorb that energy? It doesn't. It does not even claim to. Just another reason why cable companies recommend not wasting money on ineffective protectors.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.