• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Running Games in Window mode causes crash.

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#1
Hi guys, I recently built a new pc back in Januaray and have been having this problem where if I try to run any type of game in window mode, my system will completely dip in fps then lock up and then it will crash and reboot on its own... Here are my pc specs

Q9550 @stock
Ultra 120E
Evga 780i
BFG GTX 295
Corsair 4gb 1066
Corsair 1000W
500gb Seagate 7200.11 32mb cache

Vista Home Premium 64bit
Samsung T240HD 24"

This is quite annoying because when i try to alt-tab in fullscreen it takes a while to load to desktop and then to go back takes time to load etc. I am also using 181.22 drivers.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.80/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#2
Try Reinstalling Your Video Drivers.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#3
Done it already, with a clean registry with ccleaner and removing the drivers, rebooting and then reinstalling. =[
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.80/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#4
is it all games or just a certain few? Also Check to see nothing is overheating and let me know what you find.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,890 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,187
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
I think you will find that these days, windowed mode does not invoke 3D clocks on your graphics card, hence the crash, the only way to actually get around this power saving pain that you get now with both NVidia and ATi is to mod the 2D clock set in a BIOS editor and flash it.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.12/day)
Likes
40
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
#6
I think you will find that these days, windowed mode does not invoke 3D clocks on your graphics card, hence the crash, the only way to actually get around this power saving pain that you get now with both NVidia and ATi is to mod the 2D clock set in a BIOS editor and flash it.
He might be right your windowed mode is not forcing the 3d clocks of your GFX card.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#7
hmm i would not know how to flash the bios in on my gfx. However i am in the nvidia control panel and in the advanced manage 3d settings and the last setting under the global settings tab is vertical sync and a option is use the 3d application setting which it is on atm or FORCE ON, or FORCE OFF. Would that do anything?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.64/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#8
easy fix, dont play them in windowed mode, or....what you can do...blame it on the gtx295 bursting into flames and crashing your system. HEH!
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#9
=.=" great solution....
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,568 (10.04/day)
Likes
18,342
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
From what I've read the GTX 295 in particular is bad for running in windowed mode. There is no fix really.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.95/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#11
easy fix, dont play them in windowed mode, or....what you can do...blame it on the gtx295 bursting into flames and crashing your system. HEH!
yea that's helpful...
post count +1? lol..

I'm no pro..
but flashing the bios is something I'd look into.
Not sure why you want windowed mode, but there must be a reason.
I'd actually like to learn how to flash my gpu bios as well.
Im sure it's very useful.

as for those nvidia settings you mentioned..
I doubt they will help.
they're just defaults for video processing.

I'd leave them on default if you don't know what they do..
they each have a description though as to what they do.
could help your have an idea of what your personal preferences are.
the only tings in there that have caused me issues are things like triple buffering.
triple buffering is a pain and can lead to more crashes..

I generally say to let the application decided as all applications are different..
that way you can set each individual application, to run the way that specific app works best..
no two games run the same..

triple buffering on left for dead is like praying for a crash..
while on another game it might actually be useful..
although I haven't seen it be useful yet..

good luck.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,890 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,187
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
I'm more than happy to help anyone do a BIOS mod and subsequent flash, ATi or NVidia I have done literally hundreds.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#13
hmm, ill prob stick to the full screen then. don't want to void my warranty etc. However today playing wow i was running at 1920x1200 every max full aa etc and then i was experimenting around and i set to windowed mode. The current drivers i have 181.22 when running in window mode the fps drops dramatically and then the lag begins in the game window only. Then if i minimize the window and open firefox or any program and reopen "wow" the whole system lags up with a repeating ingame atmosphere sound or w/e sound it was at when it locked up...

Now is it possible that the power supply is not adequate? It's a corsair 1000W I'm sure that its plenty but what i mean is currently i have the 8 pin and 6 pin both coming from the "non modular" side of the psu. Is it possible that when running in window mode this consumes more energy and therefore hits a pt on the rails etc?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,890 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,187
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#14
hmm, ill prob stick to the full screen then. don't want to void my warranty etc. However today playing wow i was running at 1920x1200 every max full aa etc and then i was experimenting around and i set to windowed mode. The current drivers i have 181.22 when running in window mode the fps drops dramatically and then the lag begins in the game window only. Then if i minimize the window and open firefox or any program and reopen "wow" the whole system lags up with a repeating ingame atmosphere sound or w/e sound it was at when it locked up...

Now is it possible that the power supply is not adequate? It's a corsair 1000W I'm sure that its plenty but what i mean is currently i have the 8 pin and 6 pin both coming from the "non modular" side of the psu. Is it possible that when running in window mode this consumes more energy and therefore hits a pt on the rails etc?
Because in windowed mode also, it is likely that only one GPU is active.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#15
Because in windowed mode also, it is likely that only one GPU is active.
Yeah, I think so too.... I just did a bench with furmark.



Says, one gpu active.... Is there a way to change this or have both GPU's running at all times?