1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RV635 to Feature DisplayPort

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    According to HotHardware, AMD is planning to equip its upcoming graphics cards based on the RV635 core with the new DisplayPort technology, which is expected to be adopted by future monitors. The RV635 cards (at least the XT version) look set to feature DisplayPort alongside HDMI and DVI-D, and whilst there are no monitors that use DisplayPort on the market right now, they are expected to be launched sometime next year. The advantages of this new port are that its micropacket architecture offers significantly more bandwidth with multi-monitor support over a single cable, and it offers the same support for 8-channel 24-bit audio as HDMI as well as a dedicated auxiliary link for control communications of things like panel I/O and microphone connections. There are some pictures below, but there’s no word of a release date just yet.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: HotHardware
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    US
    thats cool, if nvidia will not have support for it, people will start buying ATi cards :)
    but i don't think there will be a lot of people with these new displays
     
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    NICE i see 2 dvi and one display port! :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I see the point of this, but why can't we just have one standard video cable for tvs and monitors...aka HDMI which is widely accepted by tv manufactures. Just makes things more confusing for people. Or just stick with DVI....
     
  5. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so who does this benifit. or some one put it in caveman terms for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,395 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,899
    DVI is running out of bandwidth. DVI
    How many high resolution high end computers have spekers onthe monitor? HDMI
    DisplayPort. More bandwidth, same audio for those that need it, and more features.


    Who likes the super long cables to plug into your computers audio, imagine being able to plug your headphones and mic into the side of your monitor.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Oh nice... one card, multiple monitors!

    Kind of bad news for AMD. I won't be buying two cards from them :)
     
  8. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i still dont really get it but owell.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    leave it to ATI to be the first to hop on the new technology


    . . . and how long until that connection type probably catches on?

    . . . and how many people actually use DVI at this point?


    at least ATI tries to stay at the forefront of new hardware demand, as much as that can be self-defeating at times.
     
  10. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    I got my monitor this summer and it has a DVI and RGB port. I think most monitors nowadays are coming with both unless it's a low-end/cheap model then it probably only comes in RGB. Or whatever you want to call the blue connector.
     
  11. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    a lot of LCD monitors still use dvi but as hd progresses i think they might need displayport for the higher resolutions i agree that with displayport speakers and sound connections will be possible more.

    i took the graphics card out of my old pc and into this one so i cant get a monitor yet as i need a dvi port to get a new monitor for my old pc

    tbh nvidia dont even have hdmi on thier cards correct me if im mistaken tho
     
  12. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    not sure.

    Anyway, for true HD playback, you need DVI anyhow. I prefer using DVI so that the digital signal doesn't have to be converted down to analog, and then back to digital at the display.

    I haven't seen a LCD monitor that doesn't have both VGA and DVI ports, yet (not to say they don't exist, though - I just haven't seen one).

    DVI cables are hard to come by around here, though, and most monitor manufacturers don't include a DVI cable with the monitor, only a VGA.

    DVI got too confusing too quick, and it didn't seem like any manu wanted to really support it (lack of a DVI cable with a new monitor, DVI-VGA adapters with new video cards, single link cables, double link cables, differences in DVI ports on video cards and monitors :rolleyes:) - I think that's why it never really took off.
     
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well it's smaller than DVI, but how long will it take the strain of the cable and keep in there? I hated S-Video for the simple fact that it doesn't stay on the socket if plugged in more than a year. VGA doesn't come of, DVI doesn't come of, this will eventually.

    I don't like HDMI even that much for the same reason, luckily it comes to my LCD TV on the underside, so it doesn't put strain on the plug. On graphics card it will be bending the plug downwards all the time. I like DVI->HDMI cable more, and audio with coaxial or optical cable. You take surround sound to TV with one cable and you'll still need to route it to your home theater system.

    Put some screws there and then it's awesome. Will be a sad day when you can't get GPUs with 2xDVI. 2xDVI + 1xHDMI/DisplayPort would be best.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    876 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Oshkosh, WI
    Yeah.... This is JUST what we need.... more dongles and adapters hooked up to our video cards. I'm still using a CRT.... I haven't even had the pleasure of using a DVI connector, and now its changing again. I guess it's inevitable, but still, pretty lame if you ask me. How much bandwidth do we actually need for a monitor, resolutions can only get so high until they are pointless. And last time I checked, monitors don't come with EIGHT speakers, so why they need eight channel support is beyond me...? It's no wonder they lose half a billion a quarter, before anybody can even buy some technology, they bring something new and pointless out, and people buy that instead--leaving the older technology on the shelf to rot.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I wonder if they can set this up so you can daisy chain multiple monitors together? That way only one cable has to go to the card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,118 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I use DVI, it rocks. The image is sharper and brighter than VGA.
     
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yup. It's not in the blurb above, the full hot hardware article lists daisy chaining as a feature.

    Problem for AMD, as the only reason I was thinking of CrossFire with a pair of cards was that I also wanted 4 monitors. Now they can be chained til the bandwidth runs out (or if there's a "chain limit").
     
  18. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    It's bit depth and frequency as well as resolution.

    Sounds like you lucked out... skip DVI and go straight to DP :D

    Audio doesn't always have to go out to a monitor, could be to a receiver. HTPC's can directly connect up like it was DVD or Blu-Ray player.
     
  19. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,395 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,899
    Yes. More bandwidth.

    I wonder when they are going to include firewire and USB with mic, and headphone jacks on a monitor. Then it will almost be a apple, but a kick ass apple, that you can tweak, and actually play games on. :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. You can play games on a Mac Pro with Boot Camp. :p
     
    Scrizz says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    what do ya mean playa i dont get it, the oc would still be in the tower not the monitor itself then there would be no need for a display port if a pc was built into the monitor?

    i like how the monitor would have millions of ports for easy reach i mean id rather plug my headphones into my monitor or my mic or my usb dongles ect but really we only need a few sound type ports for a mic and stuff or one usb for a gamepad but now you get wireless gamepads so even one usb would be pointless.

    also id like to see a mac on bootcamp play as well as a pc with windows and as for macs being upgradable now lol its became to the point were you only want a mac for the os and even then you can use a mac os on a pc
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    A MacPro can play games just as well as a pc. You can put any PCIe card you want in it for use in Windows. Depending on which one you choose, you may lose some desktop and video acceleration in OSX, but that's about it.
     
    Scrizz says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    DVI ran out of bandwidth the day it was speced out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,118 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Florida, US
    Video Editing programs require video acceleration.
    DVD player requires video acceleration..
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No they don't. They work fine without it, just use more cpu cycles. You lose the fancy desktop effects, and video acceleration. The video acceleration doesn't matter if the cpu is powerful enough to decode it.

    My best friend has a mac pro, and we threw my old x1800XT in it for the heck of it. (his has the 7300 stock) Worked fine.
     
    Scrizz says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)