• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RV790 Built on Improved 55 nm Manufacturing Process

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,768 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
It is clear now, that AMD's next performance GPU, the RV790 will be built on the 55 nm manufacturing process. To build on this information, sources tell German website Hardware-Infos that one of the factors that will help the new GPU perform better and run at higher clock-speeds than its predecessor, the RV770 does, is the newer improved 55 nm manufacturing process it will be built on. Going by the foundry-partner codename "55GT", the RV790 may get a little help from its superior silicon fabrication, which invariably makes it more expensive to manufacture.

One of the reasons behind why AMD is starting its 40 nm GPU lineup with a mainstream GPU such as RV740, is that the 40 nm process needs further development by foundry companies. It hasn't developed to the level that safely permits manufacturing high-end GPUs with stellar transistor-counts. For the same reason, NVIDIA's 40 nm conquest will be flagged off by the entry-level GT218 GPU. High-density circuits built on the current 40 nm process are known to be very prone to electrical leakage.

RV790 engineering-samples undergoing testing are known to be coming in two flavours according to the source: a base model and an overclocked model. The base model comes with the same exact clock speeds as the RV770XT: 750/900 MHz (core/memory), while the overclocked model is known to come with clock speeds of 850/975 MHz (core/memory). To achieve that 100 MHz increment in core frequency, the voltage is known to be stepped-up from 1.24 to 1.30 V. Products based on this GPU are known to surface by April.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited:

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.77/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Isnt the RV770 55nm though, I'm :confused: as to what has actually been improved.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,768 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Isnt the RV770 55nm though, I'm :confused: as to what has actually been improved.
Reduced electrical leakage, removed rudimentary parts, better quality manufacturing, all to facilitate better clock speeds.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.77/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Reduced electrical leakage, removed rudimentary parts, better quality manufacturing, all to facilitate better clock speeds.
Ahh, makes more sense now. :toast:

Also, I think you meant: "To build on this information"
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.30/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
They can't always move in leaps & bounds. I would rather for them to continue to tweak this series instead of releasing another gas guzzling egg in the next.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.63/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Why isn't the RAM clocked higher?

Reduced electrical leakage, removed rudimentary parts, better quality manufacturing, all to facilitate better clock speeds.
My bog standard HIS HD 4870 512MB does 790/1100 (4400DDR) straight from the Catalyst driver - just max out the sliders. It passes all the torture tests, too. I've seen posts from others that have achieved the same from their bog standard cards, too.

So, while the GPU clock here is higher than what I've achieved with no effort at all, I don't see why the RAM isn't clocked at 1100MHz by default.
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.30/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
My only beef is all the darn clicking it does when switching between 2D & 3D clocks. It was the same for the 3800s. I could even hear it over my TV & the tons of fans that's in my case.
 

PCpraiser100

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.26/day)
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
I see where they are going...

They just created the 40nm silicon just to take on Nvidia's 40nm series early. Oh well, at least 55nm is still good enough. Maybe they will revise to 40nm sometime in the future. As for the clicking, I don't care. I think it is a way of diagnosting issues so I am confident when it clicks.
 
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.72/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
I guessed this would be a tweaked core for higher clock speeds. I would prefer a die shrink but the results are almost the same.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,768 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
So, while the GPU clock here is higher than what I've achieved with no effort at all, I don't see why the RAM isn't clocked at 1100MHz by default.
The company can't just clock memory at the speeds it wants, when drawing out reference specifications. They have to run them at the speeds they are spec'd to run at. The Qimonda-made chips featuring on RV790 samples are spec'd to run at 1000 MHz, but ATI runs them at 975 MHz, letting partners carve out overclocked SKUs with all the headroom that's remaining.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,688 (1.74/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-380 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I wonder if that stops cards from squealing
no they mean electrical leakage inside the gpu. The squealing comes from your capacitors (ever hear the flash capacitor squeal as it charges up a flash on a cheap disposable camera?). The cards will still squeal unless they use different types of caps.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,617 (1.22/day)
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X PBO
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16GB DDR4 3600 CL15
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC/UV
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
its an overclocked 4870... which uses more voltage to run faster, that could probably be done now.

lets hope these improvements bring something new to the table.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
272 (0.07/day)
Location
Grand Prairie Texas
System Name Little Girl
Processor Intel Q9650 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte x48 DQ6
Cooling liquid cooling
Memory 4gb (2x2) OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 unlock to Asus 6970 specs
Storage Crucial CT128M225 128gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 27" LCD @ 2048x1152
Case DIY (spit & glue, ducktape, cardboard)
Audio Device(s) On-board HD Audio
Power Supply ABS Tagan 850w
Software Win7 64bit
My only beef is all the darn clicking it does when switching between 2D & 3D clocks. It was the same for the 3800s. I could even hear it over my TV & the tons of fans that's in my case.
You sure if it's the card? I had an hd3870x2, hd3870, and hd3850 card and it doesn't do any clicking. Only clicking you should hear is your hard drive.
 

imperialreign

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.56/day)
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
never heard any "clicking" with my HD3870s or HD4870s . . . but I have heard the squeling before when the cards are powering up for 3D mode.

It's not annoying at all to me, though. The more closed off your case is, the less audible as well.
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.30/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
never heard any "clicking" with my HD3870s or HD4870s . . . but I have heard the squeling before when the cards are powering up for 3D mode.

It's not annoying at all to me, though. The more closed off your case is, the less audible as well.
I must be hearing it when the squeling either starts or stops, but whatever noise it is its definitely coming from the X2. Its not really annoying but I just relate that sound to something that's about to break down. Its not really a click either, more like a bump...& it always happpens twice with a 2-3 second interval. I must not be hearing what's in between the bumps.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,441 (2.03/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
the same reason the new Phenom IIs off the line are clocking higher, using better methods for lithography, thus cleaner traces, and more insulative material between the transistors. All this equates to less leakage, and more electrical handling with less migration problems, and thus higher clock speeds.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,242 (1.23/day)
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
so there is no upgrades , just overclock using voltage mode
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
the same reason the new Phenom IIs off the line are clocking higher, using better methods for lithography, thus cleaner traces, and more insulative material between the transistors. All this equates to less leakage, and more electrical handling with less migration problems, and thus higher clock speeds.

phenom 2 at least uses smaller 45nm node and give us some power reduction, unlike those power hungry monster :pimp:

and as far as insulation goes they could put it into rv770, but then again they wouldn't have shiny new refurbished product 9 month after :mad:

imho it would be much better they use that leaky rv740 x2 on same pcb to create new mainstream monster ... hey but noooo rv740 dont even have crossfire link except those software pci-e x16 cfx bridge. it a shabby tryout to squeeze as much as money they could on their new singing debutante. and what's the worst people buy it.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.72/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
phenom 2 at least uses smaller 45nm node and give us some power reduction, unlike those power hungry monster :pimp:

and as far as insulation goes they could put it into rv770, but then again they wouldn't have shiny new refurbished product 9 month after :mad:
The thing is even though it doesn't look different if you looked at the blueprints or compared them with microscopes there would be differences in the cores.

For example imagine a windy road around hills and over bumps with speed limits etc and what they've done is they've flattened it all out and made it a straight flat road allowing everything to go faster.
 
Top