1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RV790 Reaches 1.00 GHz, Indicates Overclocked SKUs in the Making

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,575 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    i never ever claimed GT200b was a new GPU, its a shrink, no more, no less.

    like i said, we "know" (from preliminaries) it performs the same as a 4870 at that speed, so really, what does it bring to the table except for higher speeds (which arent to be downplayed, everyone loves faster gear) whatever changes have been made on the CHIP serve to facilitate this speed, clock for clock we are seeing no benefits.

    as you say its a different GPU carrying the same specs, so pretty much the same deal as GT200 to GT200b except in place of a shrink we have some minor tweaks.

    I am a huge fan of the competition, and it would be nice to see this card force nvidias hand on pricing or a new card.

    and @ Steevo, get used to it man, the better part of us are irrational when it comes to hardware. ATi lovers will always think their new unreleased GPU will tear nvidia limb from limb and it never really does, they compete well, as they should. just as nvidia fanboys think they can hold the crown forever, they cant, and it wouldn't be fun if they did.
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,771 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,509
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Now apply just that to GTX 285. Clock for clock it's equipotent to GTX 280. ATI's move to call RV790 a new GPU is not any less legitimate compared to NVIDIA's carving out new products based on G200b, a GPU with the same specs but higher clock speeds. NVIDIA needed a 55 nm chip to reduce costs, ATI needed a newer process to increase clock speeds.
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    all the boards that are released are minor revisions, I mean this has been going on since 2002 for crying outloud.
     
  4. indybird

    indybird New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    1GHz on a GPU? No big deal...S3 Graphics has had a card that can do 1GHz since September 08.

    I don't know what you guys are all getting excited about...:rolleyes:

    -Indybird [/Sarcasm]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Diff app dude, Games are what AMD/NV do, if S3 can hang with the big dogs then that's great in games, otherwise its insignificant to us.
     
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,575 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    like i said i really don't think GT200b is a new GPU at all, its a smaller GT200. the RV790 has undergone more changes than a fab switch obviously, as something under the hood has had work done to allow these higher speeds.

    what im really getting at is its a tweaked GPU, i am NOT trying to downplay it, AMD and everyone here will call it what they want to, i will always think of it as a tweaked Rv770, the same way i still think of a GTX285 as JUST a tweaked GTX280. neither of these cards brought much to the table, but offer a viable performance increase.

    neither GT200b or RV790 are sliced bread, the cats ass or the bee's knee's anyway, we are sitting smack bam in the middle of the remake cycle, i think what everyone just wants to see is R8XX vs GT3XX
     
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,495
    I found some more shots....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2009
  8. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    289 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    We've had our grubby mits on a couple of PowerColour 4890's. I believe we have the first Crossfire data from these cards.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Vantage:
    4870 1 GB
    P10228
    X4181

    4890 1GB
    P11332
    H6930
    X4671

    GTX295 (no SLi AKA GTX275, no PhysX)
    P11038
    H7351
    X4805

    4890 1GB Crossfire
    P17949
    H12587
    X8717

    GTX295 (SLi, no PhysX)
    P18144
    H13324
    X8962

    Putting 4890 ~11% ahead of 4870 and Crossfire 4890 marginally behind GTX295. However our Crysis testing for the GTX295 gave consistently lower minimum FPS with Crossfire 4890 Being on the edge of playable at 1080p on 'Very High'

    More Data and images here: http://www.cyberpowersystem.co.uk/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3786&PN=1
     
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Any OC results?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    I have a feeling i will pick up a Non Ref unit.
     
  11. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I'm gonna have to take the side of "it's a new chip." But based on what we see here, even though it's a new chip, it isn't exactly leaps and bounds over the previous 770 (which is why this argument can exist.)
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,495
    I don't think ATI or Nvidia will be making any real leaps for a while. Nothing out there is utilizing the current generations GPU power. They do not want to "over saturate" the market with power. I'm willing to bet we wont see any real big jumps for another 6 months from ether camp.
     
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,409 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,905
    GTA4
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,495
    No that has to do with a vastly un-optimized engine. Nothing to do with horsepower of the GPU.
     
  15. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    exactly. Consoles always mess up PC games in this way. Rainbow 6 Vegas was the same way.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,645 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,145
    Actually it has to do with the insane amount of textures the game has. That's why on the consoles the settings are at medium and resolution is no higher than 720p. In my opinion if they just would of limited the graphics settings and named "medium" "high" there would be a lot less bitching with the game. :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Then you would have the bitching about how the game looks shit. No matter what game companies do people will always complain about it. Usually they say the game is unoptimised whereas its just that they either have it at too high a setting or the gpu can't handle it.
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,495
    Don't you think duel 4850s should be able to handle a port on high of a game that was ran with medium settings on a SINGLE X1900 natively? Most of the time I agree with you Pepper but on this game your off.
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,645 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,145
    I'd like to see most games have settings that a high-end card can't handle. The game will have more longevity. I can remember a time (Far Cry, Oblivion) when this was true. Those games lasted quite a long time in terms of popularity. It's just my opinion, but if you don't want to mess around with video settings and tweak them to get the best performance on your system, might as well stick with consoles.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,850 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,495
    This is why I think you will see GPU makers slowing down on advancements. Why make a mid-grade card that can run everything maxed out? No one will buy your top end card. I mean a 4850 or 9800 can slap everything around now without issue with the right CPU.

    Nvidia and ATI will kill themselves in R&D to make anymore advancements if the market doesn't dictate. Consoles are really holding the PC world back now. This is why I love the Wii. It makes great innovative games that do not encroach on the PC market.

    The only positive side is we don't have to spend so much money now to play the latest and greatest anymore.
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It can, as long as you keep the textures lower. The textures are huge in that game. It's limited by framebuffer, not really gpu. A 512MB card can't use the highest textures in GTA4, regardless of the gpu attached to it. It dumps out into system mem, and while my 4870+4850 512MB crossfire ran it at great framerates on high settings, the game had all kinds of rendering errors when the cards ran out of memory. Things like cars hovering a few feet off the ground, and other anomalies, along with massive dips in framerate, I'm guessing from waiting on the testures to get back from the system memory. It's not really that it's poorly optimized, it just needs a lot of memory.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,249 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Thats the whole Problem, the game is a Port, Consoles use RISC based CPUs, but when they are ported, the code isn't really rewritten for the PC and thats where all the performance suffers. The last games that i recall running well on both PC and Console was Need For Speed Underground 1 and 2.
     
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I WANT 2Ghz out of the box damn it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,409 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,905

    Most modern CPUs are a crossover between RISC, and CISC. Leaning more to RISC, but with large amounts of cache.


    It really is all about the amount of framebuffer available, and the reason I got a 1GB model card.


    If you read the statement Rockstar had about the settings on GTA4 they mentioned the game would be like medium settings and 22 draw distance on a PC, I run 36 draw distance, detail distance maxxed, and most settings on high or very high and the game looks awsome. Adding two 1Gb readyboost USB drives made further improvement by allowing the system to dump unused parts of the OS back to the USB drives.


    You guys really need to understand what is going on. All the textures for the cars, people, trees, buildings, sidewalks. most other games they use the same texture, and small generic textures, and use other stuf to make the game look good, but with this, huge textures and even with no AA and at higher resolutions it looks awsome.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  25. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Um, Call Of Duty runs well on everything,,,damn i bet i could even play on my mobile :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)