• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 480 not hitting 900mhz

Sat1600

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
I purchased a used RX 480 8gb reference card from Ebay. I needed a blower card for a small form factor build.

I checked with gpu-z and the core clock is 1266mhz. I checked in wattman also.

I ran heaven benchmark and used the relive overlay. It says 100% gpu usage but the clock stays under 900mhz. I would normally assume that wattman is getting incorrect readings, but the benchmark scores are really poor. Around 1900. I have benchmarked a reference rx 480 4gb before and got a score of 2700. I usually get around 2500 on rx 470s.

I tried to overclock using wattman but that didn't make a difference.

Temperatures are under 70c the whole time and the fan stays around 1500rpm.

With the power slider all the way up to +50% the card can hit 1200mhz. Drawing around 165w According to wattman. Still not the 1266 it's supposed to hit.

When I got the card and it saw the poor performance I checked the Vbios. It was a bios for an rx 480, but a non reference model. I forced flashed it to the reference bios but that didn't help.

Can the wrong bios have damaged the card considering it was meant for an 8 pin connector and not a 6 pin?

The card is still under the 30 days buyer protection from ebay
 

plewis00

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
I think you've hit the nail on the head there, just return it under eBay Buyer Protection. You obviously know what you're doing and have gone to great lengths to try and get it to work. When you return it, don't mention BIOS flashing or anything else.

If increasing the power limit lets it ramp up then it's probably limited elsewhere. What do the other temperature sensors say? Are the VRMs running hot?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,696 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I think you've hit the nail on the head there, just return it under eBay Buyer Protection. You obviously know what you're doing and have gone to great lengths to try and get it to work. When you return it, don't mention BIOS flashing or anything else.

If increasing the power limit lets it ramp up then it's probably limited elsewhere. What do the other temperature sensors say? Are the VRMs running hot?
I do bios restoration, many cards come here needing a reflash due to stupid mining

I purchased a used RX 480 8gb reference card from Ebay. I needed a blower card for a small form factor build.

I checked with gpu-z and the core clock is 1266mhz. I checked in wattman also.

I ran heaven benchmark and used the relive overlay. It says 100% gpu usage but the clock stays under 900mhz. I would normally assume that wattman is getting incorrect readings, but the benchmark scores are really poor. Around 1900. I have benchmarked a reference rx 480 4gb before and got a score of 2700. I usually get around 2500 on rx 470s.

I tried to overclock using wattman but that didn't make a difference.

Temperatures are under 70c the whole time and the fan stays around 1500rpm.

With the power slider all the way up to +50% the card can hit 1200mhz. Drawing around 165w According to wattman. Still not the 1266 it's supposed to hit.

When I got the card and it saw the poor performance I checked the Vbios. It was a bios for an rx 480, but a non reference model. I forced flashed it to the reference bios but that didn't help.

Can the wrong bios have damaged the card considering it was meant for an 8 pin connector and not a 6 pin?

The card is still under the 30 days buyer protection from ebay
Give me pics of white stickers on back of card or side of card heatsink and also a gpu-z screenshot, post all here.
 

plewis00

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
I do bios restoration, many cards come here needing a reflash due to stupid mining



Give me pics of white stickers on back of card or side of card heatsink and also a gpu-z screenshot, post all here.
But he has tried a reference BIOS already and it hasn’t helped. He shouldn’t buy a working item and have to waste his time fixing it, especially if it’s under eBay’s guarantee still. I would send it back, the problem may get worse over time. I’ve got some partially failed cards from mining so I would never sell them on and stitch someone up.
 

Sat1600

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
I think you've hit the nail on the head there, just return it under eBay Buyer Protection. You obviously know what you're doing and have gone to great lengths to try and get it to work. When you return it, don't mention BIOS flashing or anything else.

If increasing the power limit lets it ramp up then it's probably limited elsewhere. What do the other temperature sensors say? Are the VRMs running hot?
Thanks. That's what I figured. I'm going to send it back
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,696 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
But he has tried a reference BIOS already and it hasn’t helped. He shouldn’t buy a working item and have to waste his time fixing it, especially if it’s under eBay’s guarantee still. I would send it back, the problem may get worse over time. I’ve got some partially failed cards from mining so I would never sell them on and stitch someone up.
There is certain info that are contained in the bios that is needed for specific cards.
 

Sat1600

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
I do bios restoration, many cards come here needing a reflash due to stupid mining



Give me pics of white stickers on back of card or side of card heatsink and also a gpu-z screenshot, post all here.
I flashed it to stock bios. Didn't help
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
222 (0.90/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 5 1600x @Stock
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B350-F
Cooling Be quiet! Pure Rock Slim 'CPU', 3x Raijintek Auras 12 +3x Cooler Master MF120L non led
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 570 Gaming 4G 'undervolted'
Storage 1 TB WD Blue, 3 TB Toshiba P300, 120 GB WD Green 2.5 SSD
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W
Case In Win 101c Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Kingston HyperX Cloud Stinger
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W MWE Gold
Mouse Motospeed V20
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K10
Software Windows 10 Pro
I had a similar issue with my RX 570 and some other ppl I talked to had the same 'their cards were brand new so no ex miner'.

For me undervolting the card with +20% power limit fixed the issue,now instead of 1000+ it stays on a stable 1244 'thts the normal for this card' boost clock under load.
 

plewis00

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
I had a similar issue with my RX 570 and some other ppl I talked to had the same 'their cards were brand new so no ex miner'.

For me undervolting the card with +20% power limit fixed the issue,now instead of 1000+ it stays on a stable 1244 'thts the normal for this card' boost clock under load.
Were they Gigabyte RX 570 Gaming 4GB cards by any chance? As mine needed +5% just to maintain base clock once they were fully-loaded and warmed up.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
222 (0.90/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 5 1600x @Stock
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B350-F
Cooling Be quiet! Pure Rock Slim 'CPU', 3x Raijintek Auras 12 +3x Cooler Master MF120L non led
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 570 Gaming 4G 'undervolted'
Storage 1 TB WD Blue, 3 TB Toshiba P300, 120 GB WD Green 2.5 SSD
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W
Case In Win 101c Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Kingston HyperX Cloud Stinger
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W MWE Gold
Mouse Motospeed V20
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K10
Software Windows 10 Pro
Were they Gigabyte RX 570 Gaming 4GB cards by any chance? As mine needed +5% just to maintain base clock once they were fully-loaded and warmed up.
Yep,thats the one.

It was fairly new when I bought it,still have local-ish shop warranty till 2020.december.
Ex miner card 'mined around 6 months' but everything is in order,bios and all that and ever since I did this undervolt + extra power % it works as it should just kinda weird imo.

I had a RX 470 Strix and a Giga Aorus RX 580 Xtreme borrowed for a few days and the 470 was all good out of the box but the 580 had slight issues with the boost clocks too,not as bad as my 570 tho.
Asked around and ppl told me its a AMD 'thing',happens with some cards even when they are brand new.

Also tried the card in a different PC and it does the same thing ofc.
 

plewis00

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
7 (0.09/day)
No. Refrence rx 480. Xfx branding.
I meant the guy who needed higher power limit. Those Gigabyte cards have strange BIOSes.

I have an XFX 480 and it can’t run as low voltage or clocked as it used to, the stability isn’t amazing under load any more so I use it in a spare machine where it isn’t taxed too much.
 

Sat1600

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
I think you've hit the nail on the head there, just return it under eBay Buyer Protection. You obviously know what you're doing and have gone to great lengths to try and get it to work. When you return it, don't mention BIOS flashing or anything else.

If increasing the power limit lets it ramp up then it's probably limited elsewhere. What do the other temperature sensors say? Are the VRMs running hot?
Update. The seller refunded me and said to keep the card. So now I'm curious if there is a way to fix it
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,429 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
@Sat1600 give eidairaman1 a chance he's helped an awful lot of people on here with GPU BIOS problems so take a few happy snaps of the white stickers on the back of the gpu and provide an GPUz screenshot and let him have at it he'll sort ya GPU woes out if he is able to
 

Sat1600

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
I do bios restoration, many cards come here needing a reflash due to stupid mining



Give me pics of white stickers on back of card or side of card heatsink and also a gpu-z screenshot, post all here.
There is certain info that are contained in the bios that is needed for specific cards.
Thanks for looking into it
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,119 (6.39/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
probably need reflash to stock factory bios indeed
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,696 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks for looking into it
I'll help you when I have a chance to give me a little bit of time

I found another card


Heres verified reference bios




From unverified list

Latest reference bios by build date







Make sure your motherboard chipset drivers are installed before gpu driver. Also Remove the gpu heatsink, give it a good dusting and clean the gpu die and apply fresh thermal compound.

Get this tool


Open in eindows and flash, no forcing or command prompt required

Make sure you are using w10 1803 or higher too
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,097 (1.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig C7
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 2.2TB of SSDs & 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 + Oculus Rift
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Update. The seller refunded me and said to keep the card. So now I'm curious if there is a way to fix it
Those are awesome people. My friend bought a SNES from ebay, it was broken, the seller refunded him AND send another (working) one.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
86 (0.42/day)
If flashing to default bios does nothing I would try undervolt and raise powerlimit. Can you post a Picture from GPU-Z readouts when you put the card under load?
 
Top