• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 570 Low mining Performance

marcr

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
Hello,

I have recently purchased a RX 570 8G. Without anything, it did about 8-9MH/s in Ethash, which seems quite usual without compute mode enabled.
After enabling compute mode I think I got around 22-24MH/s.

Here comes my problem: I did the BIOS update using ATIWinflash and the Polaris Bios Editor. However, I'm still only getting around 23-24MH/s (don't even know if there was an improvement at all.)

The Bios Flash seems to have worked, however I expected to get something along the lines of 27-28MH/s, with the few remaining MH obtained by different clock speeds and voltages.

How do I get my speeds up to "normal" RX 570 performance?

Thanks for your help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,210 (0.67/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Something doesnt seem right, I was doing ETH mining and was getting 22-23MH/s on stock settings. I never bios mod the AMD cards because I knew I would switch over to all Nvidia cards in the future. With a few tweaks the rx470 and rx480s where getting a 2-3mh/s more than stock without bios mod, but this was over 2 years ago when I was mining.
 
Low quality post by blobster21
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
1,294 (0.22/day)

1610305124511.png
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Processor ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard AB350m Pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force TXKD416G3600HC18ADC01 16gbs @ 3266mhz 14-14-14-28-42
Video Card(s) msi rx470 8gb (1425/2000) 1625 memory strap.
Storage MZNTY128HDHP-00L1(128gb ssd) /3TB HDD
Display(s) HP 25cw 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA 600W
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
Make sure your drivers are set to "compute" mode and not "gaming".
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,187 (4.81/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
The Card detects "Samsung" Memory in GPU-Z. In Polaris Bios Editor however, it shows "Hynix", "Macron" and "Samsung". It's quite uncommon, yet possible that I have a card with three different Memory Vendors onboard.
Uncommon?
It's impossible.
Polaris bios editor is only showing memory supported by that Bios, not what your card actually has.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I think it sounds about right to be honest. My RX 480's are only doing about the same stock and then with a few tweaks I'm able to do, they are only hitting 25MH/sec.. If you want more performance the only real option is to have or use a better card... Seriously the only way to do it
 

marcr

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.08/day)
I think it sounds about right to be honest. My RX 480's are only doing about the same stock and then with a few tweaks I'm able to do, they are only hitting 25MH/sec.. If you want more performance the only real option is to have or use a better card... Seriously the only way to do it
I've got my 480s up to about 29.5MHs. With bios mod. Bios modding the 570 however didn't seem to work that well and I'm not quite sure why. Maybe the default 1500 Straps set by Asus are just not good. Does anybody have an Idea here? Used Polaris "One Click" Editor. Bios Signature has changed, performance hasnt.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I don't bother modding the cards I use, I just get the power down as far as possible and then run it as I can... I suppose I could put the 580 bios on the cards and see if that helps with performance but I'm not sure it'll do much more than be an arse when I need to flash them back again... Saved all the ROMs I needed when I did it the last time...
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,187 (4.81/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,711 (3.54/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I've restored the original post and thread title. Not sure why op removed all content
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I've got my 480s up to about 29.5MHs. With bios mod. Bios modding the 570 however didn't seem to work that well and I'm not quite sure why. Maybe the default 1500 Straps set by Asus are just not good. Does anybody have an Idea here? Used Polaris "One Click" Editor. Bios Signature has changed, performance hasnt.
I forgot to ask but on Nicehash they do a little comparison for the GPUs, it might be worth taking a look and seeing what they say a 570 can do...
 

pxj

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7 (0.15/day)
I have much lower values. :-/ I can't solve this problem. I use RX 570 8G (XFX), the drivers are in computer mode, but I still have an extremely low hashrate. Average hashrate is 6.3 MH/s.
My settings:
GPU: 1200 MHz / 1150 mV, VRAM: 1800 MHz, 910 mV, power limit: -10%
Dvivers: 20.12.1, OS: Win 10 Pro, Claymore 15

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal ******************* -eworker ******** -clKernel 0 -epsw x -mode 1 -dbg -1 -fanmin 40 -fanmax 50
pause

if I don't have the option: -clKernel 0:
Disabling dag pre-allocation (not enough vram)
GPU1: ClSetKernelArg (-48)
Fatal error detected. Restarting.

If a have turn on option: -clKernel 0 , mining goes, but I have very low hashrate and ican see message:
Unknown OpenCL driver version! Hashrate and stale shares may suffer

Any help is much appreciated.

Now i am testing Phoenix miner.
Hashrate is better: 14.3 MH/s, but still not ideal :-/
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Set your AMD drivers to compute and not gaming, that tripled my performance :)
 

pxj

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7 (0.15/day)
Set your AMD drivers to compute and not gaming, that tripled my performance :)

Setting drivers to compute mode I have already done. With gaming mode a have 3.5-4 Mh/s, with compute mode 6.3 MH/s (Claymore) and 14.3 MH/s (Phoenix).
IMO there will still be a problem somewhere because others have 20-24 MH/s with the same card.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
122 (0.46/day)
Location
Florida
Are you on the latest drivers? Make sure you lower your core clock (1100 is good enough) set voltage to 1.0 (lower is possible but you'll need to test to see your silicon's floor) and lower power target to like -15.
 

pxj

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
7 (0.15/day)
Memory speed is 2000 MHz at 910 mV. It seems to be stable.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
This is what I run my RX 480s at

1610800798811.png


I'm getting about 52MH between two of them :)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,094 (3.83/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3600MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
In order to make the cards perform better (at least for Polaris) you need also to tight VRAM timings and OC VRAM as far as possible.
I was able to run a few (different) 580s with tight timings and Core 1150Mhz, VRAM 2025~2150MHz all voltages 850mV. This resulted to 130~135W and 30~31.5MH/s per card.

Every card had their own original BIOS modded with PBE after saving the original BIOS for later reflash. And at the time I was using a compute specific driver (Win10-64Bit-Crimson-ReLive-Beta-Blockchain-Workloads-Aug23).
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,024 (0.64/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
I believe that modoed bios for mining ain't going to get you some incredible better performance in mining but instead it will most likely lower your power consumption compared to the stock settings.......
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
9,482 (2.67/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
In order to make the cards perform better (at least for Polaris) you need also to tight VRAM timings and OC VRAM as far as possible.
I was able to run a few (different) 580s with tight timings and Core 1150Mhz, VRAM 2025~2150MHz all voltages 850mV. This resulted to 130~135W and 30~31.5MH/s per card.

Every card had their own original BIOS modded with PBE after saving the original BIOS for later reflash. And at the time I was using a compute specific driver (Win10-64Bit-Crimson-ReLive-Beta-Blockchain-Workloads-Aug23).
Mine now after a little mod are sat quite happily at 27.5MH ish per card and I'm very happy with it.. 65w usage from the GPU core and the total of the system is under 500w all loaded, so I'm fine with it... Ideally, I'd like some newer cards because of the power draw and the hashrate, but I'm not in a rush :)

Efficiency is king, screw having the most MH from something... Just won't last...
 
Top