• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 570 not giving a video signal

Games Goblin

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
7 (0.23/day)
Hi guys

I have an office PC with me with the following specs

CPU: AMD A8 9600
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-A320M-HD2-CF
Memory : 8GB DDR4 2400 MHz (x1)
PSU: Corsair VS450

Since this machine has a socket AM4 mobo, I wanted to upgrade this machine with a more powerful Ryzen processor - so I bought a Ryzen 5 1400 (New) and a Radeon RX 570 4GB (Used, from eBay) - since the Ryzen CPU does not have integrated graphics like the APU already on the system

I updated the motherboard BIOS to the latest version available and took apart the system. Installed the new processor + GPU and fired it up, the GPU fans spin up, but I did not get a video signal from the GPU - the motherboard speaker gave this error beep

BEEP CODE

Tried resetting the BIOS (using the jumper in the mobo), but no luck

I removed the Ryzen 5 and re-installed the old A8-9600 APU, switched the video cable from the RX 570 to the motherboard and the system booted back up again

The card showed up in device manager and GPU-Z





Since this card was used, I thought it might have been used as a mining card, so I tried to flash a new VBIOS with ATIflash (backed up the original)

I was unsure what type of card I had - the seller advertised it as a Sapphire one, so I flashed this BIOS (using the forced switch in the command line tool)



After flashing the Sapphire VBIOS, GPU-Z was now correctly displaying the VRAM and showing values in the "Sensors" tab




Installed the latest catalyst drivers from AMD, and the card was now showing up as an RX 570 in device manager, but with an error code 43



I tried going to the BIOS and switching the video output from integrated graphics to PCI-E and also disabled the integrated graphics all together - but still no luck

I am using the HDMI port of the card to connect to my monitor (my monitor does not have display port) - dunno if this makes any difference

Took apart the card and re-applied the thermal paste - as expected, that made no difference





Is this a problem with the card, or with my system? Can a PSU cause such symptoms? Seller told me he tested the card before shipping

Thanks for your help

Regards
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
548 (2.66/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard Generic Dell
@Games Goblin seller is feeding you BS, return the card and demand your money back. Oh, you flashed it on your own afterwards? Well so much for refund.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Should of referred to me

There are White Silkscreen Rectangles on the back of the card, please take clear pictures of those close up
 

Games Goblin

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
7 (0.23/day)
Hi friend,test
this worked: error 43
Thanks for sharing this. My problem is that I can't get a signal out of the card - so I can't boot into windows with the card selected as the one outputting the display

@Games Goblin seller is feeding you BS, return the card and demand your money back. Oh, you flashed it on your own afterwards? Well so much for refund.
Hi, the card was shipped to me from another country, so return shipping costs would be more than what it would be worth

and I only tested this card a month after I received it, so the return window may be over as well (my fault - I did not get time to put this system together, as I had to find a new case for accommodating the GPU - the old case as a slim atx case)

I have saved the stock BIOS before flashing the other one - should I share it here? Maybe the expert members here can look thorough it and see if the BIOS is faulty? (tampered with for mining etc)

Should of referred to me

There are White Silkscreen Rectangles on the back of the card, please take clear pictures of those close up
Hi,

Can you please mark which area of the card I should photograph in detail?




Thank you again all of you for your assistance

Regards
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks for sharing this. My problem is that I can't get a signal out of the card - so I can't boot into windows with the card selected as the one outputting the display



Hi, the card was shipped to me from another country, so return shipping costs would be more than what it would be worth

and I only tested this card a month after I received it, so the return window may be over as well (my fault - I did not get time to put this system together, as I had to find a new case for accommodating the GPU - the old case as a slim atx case)

I have saved the stock BIOS before flashing the other one - should I share it here? Maybe the expert members here can look thorough it and see if the BIOS is faulty? (tampered with for mining etc)



Hi,

Can you please mark which area of the card I should photograph in detail?




Thank you again all of you for your assistance

Regards
Zoom in where it says FC take a picture and then if you look at the back of the card where the blower fan overlaps the card there is another rectangle take a picture of that spot to make sure they are buff clear so the information can be read from them please
 

Games Goblin

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
7 (0.23/day)
Zoom in where it says FC take a picture and then if you look at the back of the card where the blower fan overlaps the card there is another rectangle take a picture of that spot to make sure they are buff clear so the information can be read from them please
Hi

thanks for the reply

Here are the pictures and the BIOS file that was on the card when I received it

LINK

Regards
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
That card has been defaced

Pull the ram chip heatsink and take a pic of all of then and then a closeup of 1, also take a pic of the pci bracket
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi

Defaced as in something removed?



I'll post the pics tomorrow.

What do you think of this card? Any hope for a revival?

Regards
Yes model number has been removed
 

Games Goblin

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
7 (0.23/day)
Yes model number has been removed
Hi

I googled the sticker on the front of the card

another user on the LTT forum has posted pics of the same card and his has a sticker on the back - maybe this is helpful



SOURCE THREAD

I googled the number 0WNH0V - it appears this is an OEM DELL card which comes bundled inside DELL desktops

I'll post the PCB pics tomorrow

Thanks again for all your help

Regards
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,381 (0.50/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) gtx1660TI 6GB MSI Gaming X / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
I googled the sticker on the front of the card
Pull the ram chip heatsink and take a pic of all of then and then a closeup of 1, also take a pic of the pci bracket

Remove your card(rx570) then remove the heatsink and pads from the memory and take actual photos of your card and then post them.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Remove your card(rx570) then remove the heatsink and pads from the memory and take actual photos of your card and then post them.
Since we know its a dell we need the physical ram lol
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi

Here are the pictures as requested

LINK

The RAM chip is an SK Hynix H5GC4H24AJR

Regards
you can upload images directly to techpowerup without having to send us to odd ball links

Since it is a Dell and Not a Sapphire.

Here is 1 bios, it is for dell and has hynix ram.


Here are the rest of the files, all have hynix ram timings too.


Use this tool to flash


Here are 4 videos





Credit to @F7GOS @buildzoid
 

Games Goblin

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2019
Messages
7 (0.23/day)
you can upload images directly to techpowerup without having to send us to odd ball links
hi,

I used another file hosting service so that I could upload the full size images without re-sizing anything (so no loss of detail) - usually forums have an image size limit

Since it is a Dell and Not a Sapphire.

Here is 1 bios, it is for dell and has hynix ram.
Thank you for the detailed instructions and files

I successfully flashed the 201166.rom file (with the ativbflash command line utility) and the program said something along the lines of "flashing complete, restart windows to complete the update"

I restarted the computer, but it did not POST (no beep from the mobo, not even an error code beep) - tried resetting everything - CMOS clear etc, but still the computer would not post. It would start back up up if I unplugged the 6-pin power connector from the GPU.

I have an old HTPC (AMD A8-7600 with FM2+ mobo) - tried putting the card in that (used it's PSU too - a generic 400W one) - same symptom - no POST no beeps.

So either this card is faulty or there is something wrong with my power supply (my doubt if its supplying enough power for the card to work properly).

Thanks a lot for all the help you have provided so far. I will try to get another RX 570 locally and see if I can get it to work.

Regards
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,096 (6.07/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
There are other files you can try there. Or you can go to Dells website and locate the bios
 
Top