• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rx 570 stable driver

Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
Hello,

Don't know if this has been asked before so feel free to delete my thread.
But yesterday i made a pc for a friend, a budget gaming pc. I installed an rx 570 but man all the problems with the drivers.
I have screen flickering, green screen, black screen and so on...
This was with the latest beta driver 20.3.1, so then i rolled back to 20.2.2 using ddu but same result...
So my question is what is the best latest stable driver for the rx 570?

Thanks you all in advance!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
Does the card work better in another PC? Is it known good?

Try rolling back to pre 20.x.x drivers. The Adrenalin 2020 drivers from December on forward seems to cause problems for some users.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
It is a brand new card... I'll try the pre 20.x.x drivers thanks
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
And what specific rx570 is it, brand, model, ram? Get the white sticker pics from card back or on side of heatsink.

Can you get a gpu-z screenshot and then click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox and attempt to upload the bios through the program to the vga bios collection, you should get prompted the file is already in the database with a link to the file, copy and paste that link here.

Amazon Germany
Get the invoice and post here(need to know the vendor that sold you the card). Swap video cables and make sure monitor video ports are clean same with gpu video ports (make sure power supplies are disconnected)
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
Uninstalled the card, using a gtx 970 at the moment without issues. I can send pics of the card and box out of the pc. But brand is Xfx and it's the 4gb version
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Uninstalled the card, using a gtx 970 at the moment without issues. I can send pics of the card and box out of the pc. But brand is Xfx and it's the 4gb version
Yes send a pic however i need to know what bios is on the card specifically, same with an invoice, sometimes online vendors claim a part is brand new when it has been screwed with.

By the way when you remove gpu drivers use display driver uninstaller which is found online.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
I am using ddu i know it's important. I'll try the 19.x.x drivers first and if they don't work i'll send the pics.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I am using ddu i know it's important. I'll try the 19.x.x drivers first and if they don't work i'll send the pics.
Do it regardless, you don't need the gpu driver installed to read the gpu bios in gpu-z.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
Card works with 19.12.1 for the moment. Thanks all for the help.
Let's hope it remains stable.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Card works with 19.12.1 for the moment. Thanks all for the help.
Let's hope it remains stable.
Still pull the info out and by the way on the amd website there is Radeon Pro for Enterprise, select your card and then use those drivers as an alternative
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
Still pull the info out and by the way on the amd website there is Radeon Pro for Enterprise, select your card and then use those drivers as an alternative
As requested the pics of the card plus gpuz without drivers
Can you make something of it?
And Gpu-z with driver installed who works now at the moment
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
As requested the pics of the card plus gpuz without drivers
Can you make something of it?
And Gpu-z with driver installed who works now at the moment
Can you open gpu-z and then click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox and attempt to upload the bios through the program to the vga bios collection, you should get prompted the file is already in the database with a link to the file, copy and paste that link here.

The lable on the card is blurry and whoever had that card put a label right over the xfx one on the box, that label looks old to boot, makes me think the card was used.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
Yes got the message that the bios is already in the database, so next step comparing?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
Can you open gpu-z and then click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox and attempt to upload the bios through the program to the vga bios collection, you should get prompted the file is already in the database with a link to the file, copy and paste that link here.

The lable on the card is blurry and whoever had that card put a label right over the xfx one on the box, that label looks old to boot, makes me think the card was used.
The tag below is the original for the box. The one above, I'd guess, appears to be from the store this came from for their tracking.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Your card looks like this right?

Yes got the message that the bios is already in the database, so next step comparing?
Get the link from there and post it here
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sorry hope this helps :)
As a safe measure lets proceed to a bios flash, there is a bios from December 18th 2017.
Use this tool to flash, let me know if you have any trouble, there is an Easy ATi/AMD flash video by F7GOS in my signature.



Heres the file
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
The card is stable now so i really see no reason to flash it?
Not really a fan of flashing gpu's.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
The card is stable now so i really see no reason to flash it?
Not really a fan of flashing gpu's.
I was (still) wondering where this was all going... and why. Older driver has it working... what's wrong with the card that were checking labels and wanting to flash the bios?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
73 (0.15/day)
Location
Belgium
I was (still) wondering where this was all going... and why. Older driver has it working... what's wrong with the card that were checking labels and wanting to flash the bios?
I'm not flashing it, the card works. Ran several games for couple of hours. No issues with the older driver so i think it's clear where my problems came from.
 
Top