• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 5700 XT 50th Anniversary Edition core clock rate is buggy

Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
The main screen of GPU-Z has blank clock speeds and the sensors tabs shows ridiculously low idle clock speeds (6-22 Mhz??)
Yet in the reviews I see online examples where the clock speed is displayed properly with the same 2.22.0 GPU-Z and vanilla 5700/XT cards. Anything you need to bugfix this?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,816 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
the sensors tabs shows ridiculously low idle clock speeds (6-22 Mhz??)
these are accurate, the card really clocks down that much

The main screen of GPU-Z has blank clock speeds
i haven't found a way to read the clocks that amd claims in their spec sheets, instead of showing "800", which i can read, i decided to show 0 until a fix is found
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Weird I've even seen it adjust the clock in single Mhz increments like 18->19 Mhz and then fluctuate around. At that point can you measure power savings versus locking it at 25/30 MHz and calling it a day?

Do you know what software reliably reads the core clock so far? I can get a single data point at the end of a 3DMark run but other than that all I know is the boost clock I'm targeting in Wattman.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,816 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
606 (0.66/day)
You should be able to see core clock in Wattman, or does it also have bugs.
 

jtr1p

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
2 (0.03/day)

Im also getting the same issues my GPU CLOCK ranges anywhere from 6mhz - 4000mhz i have no idea whats going on, isnt it supposed to be at a stable clock speed?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,816 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
isnt it supposed to be at a stable clock speed?
the card will dynamically switch speed depending on the situation. down to 6 mhz is correct. 4000 mhz doesn't look right though. what does gpu-z show?
 

jtr1p

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
the card will dynamically switch speed depending on the situation. down to 6 mhz is correct. 4000 mhz doesn't look right though. what does gpu-z show?
Today it peaked at 1996mhz, on Wattman the other day it was 4006 mhz (peak) - but the speeds literally jump up and down every second anywhere in the 6-4kmhz range.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,816 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
during gaming?

you should see clocks between 1600 and 2000 or so. below 1600 only when idle or watching video

 
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
In the CIMManifest.xml file, from the Radeon drivers, is a full list of codenames from AMD btw. I don't think they are fully implemented in GPU-Z yet. For Navi:

IndexDEV_IDSS_IDVEN_IDSS_VEN_IDEngNameProNameREV_ID
9950x731F0x19030x10020x1028Navi10 XTAMD Radeon RX 5700 XT0xC1
9960x731F0x19040x10020x1028Navi10 XLAMD Radeon RX 57000xC4
9970x731F*0x1002*Navi10 XTXAMD Radeon RX 5700 XT 50th Anniversary0xC0
9980x731F*0x1002*Navi10 XTAMD Radeon RX 5700 XT0xC1
9990x731F*0x1002*Navi10 XLAMD Radeon RX 57000xC4
 
Top