• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 580 Bios - Please help me find out what happend

lasanchi

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
Hey guys,

i recently bought this "Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB Special Edition".
The seller told me 100% that he did not modify anything at this card. I checked the clocks and it said "1200MHz / 2200 MHz" both switches wont anything with these clocks.

This BIOS must have been modified right? Is there any way to check? How can i restore the original BIOS?
Is it possible that he just switched the cooler from another card?

BIOS dump can be found here: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208224/208224
Shouldnt the Special Edition be XTR instead of XTX?

I'm really confused by all this... please help me
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,922 (1.52/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Let me look at SKU

This is your card right here.

http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial.asp?pid=3891952B-0F89-44B0-A39E-E911C8B689F9&lang=eng#11265-21

Does the card work when the monitor is hooked up to it?

So you know yes that card has been mined with.

Do not flash any bios till I find the correct one.

These are 1430/2100
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/202292/202292

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/207206/207206

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206720/206720

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206842/206842

Let me see if I can find 1411/2000 for that card too
 
Last edited:

lasanchi

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
Does the card work when the monitor is hooked up to it?

So you know yes that card has been mined with.

Do not flash any bios till I find the correct one.
Yes, it does work - thanks for your help and support i will wait.
Is it possible that the seller modified the cooler so that the sticker wont fit to the gpu?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes, it does work - thanks for your help and support i will wait.
Is it possible that the seller modified the cooler so that the sticker wont fit to the gpu?
Erm no, that is the right cooler, backplate and SKU sticker, you also have Micron ram. Now if it was Elpidia ram that would be a fake Special Edition card, but you have a real Special Edition Card.

All he did was flash a mining bios which is found in the database.

Give me some time to find 1411/2000 bios.

Dont abandon these forums.

It will take me some time.
So relax.

I will tag you in and even send you a private message when I am all done, so we will get you fixed up alright
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,442 (0.66/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Yes, it does work - thanks for your help and support i will wait.
Is it possible that the seller modified the cooler so that the sticker wont fit to the gpu?
There isn't a single RX580 with base clock at 1200 and memory clock at 2200. And considering base clock is lower than default and memory clock higher than the highest model on the market, the card was definitely used for mining.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
There isn't a single RX580 with base clock at 1200 and memory clock at 2200. And considering base clock is lower than default and memory clock higher than the highest model on the market, the card was definitely used for mining.
Yup because those files are found in our database.
 

lasanchi

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
Ok so i dont have to fear of bricking the card if i flash the original bios right?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,442 (0.66/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
933 (0.27/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Ok I get it. :)
Just remember to wait, don't do anything or try to flash it till eidairaman1 says so,

I know it sounds like everyone is repeating themselves but without following the correct steps then it may cause issues. he's the AMD guru for this so will be along shortly to help
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
933 (0.27/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'll follow his commands and stay calm View attachment 116208
Okay I am back now give me a few moments

Ok my instructions.

Only flash one bios position, dual bios is there for your safety, never flash both unless if you are instructed to

Download this tool.
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

Download the last file I provided in my previous thread reply here

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/rx-580-bios-please-help-me-find-out-what-happend.252464/#post-3992301


Disable any antivirus or anti-malware software

Open AMD Flash, if possible preferably with administrative rights

Follow the directions of the tool find the file that you downloaded and use that for the installation.

Restart when prompted.

Here are two videos for assistance

If you need further help there are links in my signature utilize those

Once you're done let us know if it worked or not

You are going to flash it to only one bios, so if something does happen, you'll still be able to go the mining one.

@eidairaman1
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197894/sapphire-rx580-8192-171107
What about this one?
I provided several at this link right here as long as the device ID and subsystem ID match along with the memory contained in the file it should work

@lasanchi
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thank you so much for your guidance - i will report back if it worked later when i'm at home!
Ok while waiting I will try to get you the 1411/2000 bios so the card is stock (no more mining bios)
So your card will be 1411/2000 stock and 1430/2100 Boost

Warning: for the 1411/2000 bios there may be none for the Special Edition Card how ever I will be posting several files that match up to your card per memory device ID and subsystem ID considering your card is a Nitro plus, if I find one specifically for your card I will let you know.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/204118/204118

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/194212/194212

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205099/205099

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206175/206175

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205539/205539
 

lasanchi

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
8 (0.03/day)
Ok while waiting I will try to get you the 1411/2000 bios so the card is stock (no more mining bios)
So your card will be 1411/2000 stock and 1430/2100 Boost

Warning: for the 1411/2000 bios there may be none for the Special Edition Card how ever I will be posting several files that match up to your card per memory device ID and subsystem ID considering your card is a Nitro plus, if I find one specifically for your card I will let you know.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/204118/204118

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/194212/194212

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205099/205099

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206175/206175

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205539/205539
Update: flashed https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206842/206842 and its working like a charm - thank you so much!!!

Which of these files should i flash for silent mode?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Update: flashed https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206842/206842 and its working like a charm - thank you so much!!!

Which of these files should i flash for silent mode?

Im glad the first one worked
Sorry I was asleep

@lasanchi

Flip the dual bios switch to the incorrect mining bios

Do a restart

Then flash this file using the procedures as before

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/206175/206175

Let us know.

If it failed, just shut down, flip bios switch to working bios, power it on boot up then flip switch to non working bios and try another file.
 
Last edited:
Top