• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 580 Flash ERROR: 0FL01

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
Hi,
I bought an older SAPPHIRE Radeon RX 580 Pulse, but it's dead.
I plugged in a second GPU. turned on the PC.
The RX580 looks like the RX590 in Device Manager. "! code 43"
disable device / enable device. and is displayed without error.
so I tried AMD / ATI flash. more versions.
I always end up here:
Failed to read ROM
ERROR: 0FL01

I tried the command:
amdvbflash -f -p 1 bios.rom
Failed to read ROM

ERROR: 0FL01

in the latest version:
amdvbflash -p -fp 1 bios.rom
AMDVBFLASH version 3.20 EXTERNAL, Copyright (c) 2021 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Failed to read ROM

ERROR: 0FL01

some ideas?
thank you very much
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi,
I bought an older SAPPHIRE Radeon RX 580 Pulse, but it's dead.
I plugged in a second GPU. turned on the PC.
The RX580 looks like the RX590 in Device Manager. "! code 43"
disable device / enable device. and is displayed without error.
so I tried AMD / ATI flash. more versions.
I always end up here:
Failed to read ROM
ERROR: 0FL01

I tried the command:
amdvbflash -f -p 1 bios.rom
Failed to read ROM

ERROR: 0FL01

in the latest version:
amdvbflash -p -fp 1 bios.rom
AMDVBFLASH version 3.20 EXTERNAL, Copyright (c) 2021 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Failed to read ROM

ERROR: 0FL01

some ideas?
thank you very much

That doesn't work anymore, syntax has been changed.

Make sure the command prompt is open with administrator privileges then type in amdvbflash -? Or /? To get the list of commands and correct syntax, post the cmd prompt screen after you do the above.
 

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
I have a screen here, so how do I use the command? the same error every time.
 

Attachments

  • flash.PNG
    flash.PNG
    40.6 KB · Views: 46

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
That doesn't work anymore, syntax has been changed.

Make sure the command prompt is open with administrator privileges then type in amdvbflash -? Or /? To get the list of commands and correct syntax, post the cmd prompt screen after you do the above.

no new idea? I gave the commands as described in "-?"
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Hello
As i helped few days ago a fellow forum member i would like to try to help you either.
I downloaded an older version (2.87) of amdvbflash.
Open cmd with admin privileges.
Use the following command : amdvbflash -fs -fp p 0 bios.rom
 

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
Hello
As i helped few days ago a fellow forum member i would like to try to help you either.
I downloaded an older version (2.87) of amdvbflash.
Open cmd with admin privileges.
Use the following command : amdvbflash -fs -fp p 0 bios.rom

Hi, thanks for the advice.
but it didn't help. I also tried the "super combo" :D :
amdvbflash -fs -fp -fm -fa -f -p 1 580.rom
Failed to read ROM

ERROR: 0FL01

please does anyone else have an idea?
 

Attachments

  • flash2.87.PNG
    flash2.87.PNG
    16.9 KB · Views: 11
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
You unlocked the BIOS first ?
Then you use the flashing procedure.
 

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
You unlocked the BIOS first ?
Then you use the flashing procedure.
I didn't do that .... like this?
amdvbflash -unlockrom flash.rom
Format: amdvbflash

but nothing has changed.

ok i have it:
amdvbflash -unlockrom 1
but same problem
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Pffff , let me dig further.
Again please be so kind and tell us what version of amdvbflash you used ?
If you used 2.87, please be so kind and try also 3.04 plus version.
Thanks
 
Last edited:

Jakiss

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2021
Messages
8 (0.16/day)
Pffff , let me dig further.
Again please be so kind and tell us what version of amdvbflash you used ?
If you used 2.87, please be so kind and try also 3.04 plus version.
Thanks
I'm currently trying in 2 versions q
2.8.7 and 3.2.0
but I have 2.9.3, 2.7.4, 2.7.1
I can try

Pffff , let me dig further.
Again please be so kind and tell us what version of amdvbflash you used ?
If you used 2.87, please be so kind and try also 3.04 plus version.
Thanks
Exactly the same problem.
only in version 2.7.1 I had a bluescreen with the unlockrom command
 
Top