• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 580 Red Devil 8gb crashing on benchmark

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Hi, I have bought a Red Devil RX580 and it crashes on benchmarks. I have reinstalled Windows 10 on my test bench and driver, still the same. Done DDU and reinstalled drivers too.

The card may have been an ex-mining card. Anyhow, please can anyone share their vBIOS for this card, specifically for a Micron memory? I have tried all the vBIOS on TechPowerUp and Googled for several nights. It crashes on benchmark like Heaven 4.0, even on regular Windows desktop in freezes after 30secs, also on Youtube etc. I have tested both OC and silent BIOS mode, still the same. I think both vBIOS are not correct.

Any help is appreciated. Sorry for the crappy photo.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (6.82/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
try monitoring your gpu load, you can do it with msiafterburn, start with monitoring your gpu temp, this card kind of hot plate one, it can reach 80c if your cooling system not good, same applied on other red devil, 480 even worse, i usually reach 90c if playing game more than an hour, and crash soon after reach 96c, however it cant be real refernece as my pc rig almost completed a mess, i only install x2 cheap fan on case

anyway since it was ex miner, worth to try flash correct bios just incase, take a sticker right on your gpu, cant share stock bios, never own micron one sry, just wait for @eidairaman1 :toast:
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi, I have bought a Red Devil RX580 and it crashes on benchmarks. I have reinstalled Windows 10 on my test bench and driver, still the same. Done DDU and reinstalled drivers too.

The card may have been an ex-mining card. Anyhow, please can anyone share their vBIOS for this card, specifically for a Micron memory? I have tried all the vBIOS on TechPowerUp and Googled for several nights. It crashes on benchmark like Heaven 4.0, even on regular Windows desktop in freezes after 30secs, also on Youtube etc. I have tested both OC and silent BIOS mode, still the same. I think both vBIOS are not correct.

Any help is appreciated. Sorry for the crappy photo.
Thanks for the gpu-z screenshot but I will need a picture of the white sticker on the card back, namely the model number

What are your system specs? include powersupply brand, make, model.
What are your room temperatures.

The more detailed your specs are the better
 
Last edited:

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Thanks lads for the replies. My PC spec is: i7 8700, Z390 Aorus motherboard, 16gb DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Fractal Meshify-c, H100i 240mm CPU cooler, 2x140mm intake and 3x120mm exhaust fans, Corsair AX720 Plat PSU. My ambient room temp is 22c.

I have not been able to run any benchmark due to the GPU crashing at almost immediately when Heaven 4.0 starts. Windows 10 remain working but then the PC will start to stutter or freeze after every 10secs. AMD adrenalin will run will only show it as blank, cannot browse heavy content sites like Youtube. Only solution is to reboot.

I have taken some pics of the card and can definitely confirm it has micron memory chips, the distict M logo I recognise. The photo may not show this though.

Eidairaman1 - got your white sticker too.

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks lads for the replies. My PC spec is: i7 8700, Z390 Aorus motherboard, 16gb DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Fractal Meshify-c, H100i 240mm CPU cooler, 2x140mm intake and 3x120mm exhaust fans, Corsair AX720 Plat PSU. My ambient room temp is 22c.

I have not been able to run any benchmark due to the GPU crashing at almost immediately when Heaven 4.0 starts. Windows 10 remain working but then the PC will start to stutter or freeze after every 10secs. AMD adrenalin will run will only show it as blank, cannot browse heavy content sites like Youtube. Only solution is to reboot.

I have taken some pics of the card and can definitely confirm it has micron memory chips, the distict M logo I recognise. The photo may not show this though.

Eidairaman1 - got your white sticker too.

Thanks in advance.
Can you get a clearer gpu-z screenshot?

Have you dusted the card heatsink and also replaced the thermal paste on the gpu die yet?

Once you have a clearer gpu-z screenshot i should be able to proceed

Here's your card

On the card edge look for a bios switch, your card specifies there should be one, 1 position is silent the other is performance.
 
Last edited:

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Can you get a clearer gpu-z screenshot?

Have you dusted the card heatsink and also replaced the thermal paste on the gpu die yet?

Once you have a clearer gpu-z screenshot i should be able to proceed

Here's your card

On the card edge look for a bios switch, your card specifies there should be one, 1 position is silent the other is performance.
Thanks eidairaman1.

I have attached a clearer GPUz photo.

I have already opened up and cleaned the card, replacing the paste and checking the pads. I have cleaned all the fans, heatsink and PCB using a combination of compressed air and alcohol wipes.

The switch is set on OC but when switch to silent, the card do not display.

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks i will have a bios for you by tomorrow, dont abandon the forum
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,123 (1.43/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay- RushCity1/ HP 3770/ T3500-1+T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con
Processor i5 3317U/ i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390
Cooling Air/air/ air/ Big Dell Air/ Air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
I have a Red Dragon, same card, same BIOS. Runs fine. I do have a different driver, though.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have a Red Dragon, same card, same BIOS. Runs fine. I do have a different driver, though.

Even though the BIOS has the same version number and everything you don't know if it's been modified or not
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,974 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Even though the BIOS has the same version number and everything you don't know if it's been modified or not
The fact his silent BIOS doesn’t work make me also think it’s been modded
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The fact his silent BIOS doesn’t work make me also think it’s been modded
It has been. I need to find his info fast
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,974 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (6.82/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
ive flashing 1340 bios for the hynix one, its quite bios like above yes
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Thanks
Latest performance bios

Latest Silent bios
Hi, are these BIOS for my Red Devil? I tried both today but has the same results.

Sorry if they are not, just wondered and tried it anyway.

I will see if I can reclean the PCB too as from the photos they seem to be dirty too.

Thanks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi, are these BIOS for my Red Devil? I tried both today but has the same results.

Sorry if they are not, just wondered and tried it anyway.

I will see if I can reclean the PCB too as from the photos they seem to be dirty too.

Thanks.
Yes they are due to clock speed, memory used

Make sure to have 2 separate power leads going from psu to gpu
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Yes they are due to clock speed, memory used

Make sure to have 2 separate power leads going from psu to gpu
Thanks mate. Sadly it did not fix the issue. But I will try to clean it again, and will use two PCs to test.

Do you think the memory chip might be the issue?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well I will say that if your existing bios does not fix the problem than the card might very well just have a crypt section of the chip or it could be Memory where did you buy the card from the begin with
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Well I will say that if your existing bios does not fix the problem than the card might very well just have a crypt section of the chip or it could be Memory where did you buy the card from the begin with
Bought it from eBay from a seller who sells some good Parts and Repairs components. I bought several from GPUs from him, mosty RX570, 580 and Vegas, for a few months now and they work fine just by flashing the BIOS.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Bought it from eBay from a seller who sells some good Parts and Repairs components. I bought several from GPUs from him, mosty RX570, 580 and Vegas, for a few months now and they work fine just by flashing the BIOS.

It is always possible you could have bought a bad card. That's the problem with mining, you never know what you're going to get. At least with a brand new card about 99.99999 infinite percent the card will work correctly out of the box.

Can you please get a gpu-z screenshot of the bios that is working?
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
It is always possible you could have bought a bad card. That's the problem with mining, you never know what you're going to get. At least with a brand new card about 99.99999 infinite percent the card will work correctly out of the box.

Can you please get a gpu-z screenshot of the bios that is working?
I cannot. The BIOS I have shown was the same BIOS it came with it.

The seller did say that the card was having problems on benchmarks when he sold it. I thought it might be just one of those RX580 mining cards. So I bought it and thought flashing another VBIOS might work as I have in the past. I even bought another RX580 just recently from the same seller and flashed it and it worked. Maybe 8 out of 10 cards I bought from him worked.

Would the crashing on benchmark be anything from memory chip or a bad VBIOS? Sadly I cannot get an accurate reading since the benchmark crashes it immediately.

I have re-pasted again, replaced the thermal pads even. It is such a shame to lose a ready good looking card.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I cannot. The BIOS I have shown was the same BIOS it came with it.

The seller did say that the card was having problems on benchmarks when he sold it. I thought it might be just one of those RX580 mining cards. So I bought it and thought flashing another VBIOS might work as I have in the past. I even bought another RX580 just recently from the same seller and flashed it and it worked. Maybe 8 out of 10 cards I bought from him worked.

Would the crashing on benchmark be anything from memory chip or a bad VBIOS? Sadly I cannot get an accurate reading since the benchmark crashes it immediately.

I have re-pasted again, replaced the thermal pads even. It is such a shame to lose a ready good looking card.
Yes memory/die or vrm components go bad, if you dont want to let the card go put it as a static display on a shelf or look for eli tech on youtube and have him repair it. Or just strip the cooler off and sell the cooler.

I would of never bought it to begin with.
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.21/day)
Yes memory/die or vrm components go bad, if you dont want to let the card go put it as a static display on a shelf or look for eli tech on youtube and have him repair it. Or just strip the cooler off and sell the cooler.

I would of never bought it to begin with.
Aye, I may use it as a display instead or an oversized paper weight.

I usually build refurbish gaming computers and if I can get a good value component, I usually grab them. Just a hobby and I enjoy it. But this is a lesson learned.

Anyway, thanks for your help. Really appreciate it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,407 (6.37/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Another good suggestion is the keep it as a display board in case if they another boards flash goes bad
 
Top