• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX480 8gb problem after thermal paste replacement

Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
Hello. Today i just cleaned my PC (with compressed air), and i replaced the thermal paste from the GPU. It's an Sapphire RX480 8Gb Nitro. I get this errors when i want to install the driver, i even used DDU and the same thing

I broke something when i replaced the paste? I put an GTX750ti in the PC and everything works fine with this GPU

My PC specs are Ryzen 5 3600 , Aorus B550M Pro , 16Gb Gskill 3200Mhz, evga 850w psu
 

Attachments

  • error rx480 2.jpg
    error rx480 2.jpg
    261.1 KB · Views: 66
  • error rx480.jpg
    error rx480.jpg
    164.3 KB · Views: 66

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,503 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
You're gunna have to show us pics of the hardware, if you want us to help look at it
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
Ok i will disassemble the card and take some pics

LE - I just looked up with my phone (5x optical zoom + flash) every component on the front/back and nothing seems burned or missing. I just cleaned the PCB with isopropyl alcohol and a soft toothbrush & i will test it to see...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
102 (0.62/day)
Location
USA
System Name Desktop PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450I Gaming Plus Max Wi-Fi
Cooling Corsair Hydro X Series Custom Loop
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 Super FE
Storage 1 TB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe SSD
Display(s) UPERFECT 4K 60 Hz IPS Touchscreen
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Power Supply be quiet! SFX-L 600 W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2 Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Razer Cynosa Lite Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 10,008
What kind of compressed air did you use to blow the dust out of your PC?

I do not recommend using an air compressor to clean PC components. Those are extremely powerful and have the potential to blow things apart. They can also spray water vapor out along with the air.

I would stick to using the canned air stuff that you can buy at a store.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
614 (3.57/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) a lot... 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
did you used DDU in safe mode without internet, rebooted and installed the driver. THEN connection back to the internet?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
649 (5.03/day)
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
A DataVac can save money over canned air.
DataVac.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
i used an electric blower like that in this previous post. And i used DDU but not in safe mode, after i flashed a new vBIOS file to the card , and the software installed successfully and everything seems to be normal...
 

Attachments

  • rx480 gpuz.jpg
    rx480 gpuz.jpg
    161.9 KB · Views: 22
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
196 (2.02/day)
Location
Europe
Well, from the picture you posted , from GPU-z, i can see that the video card did not started well.
What i mean is : your clock and memory clock is zero, that means something is not functioning properly.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,020 (0.21/day)
Location
Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
System Name Rzyen Twins
Processor R5 3600 / R5 5600X
Motherboard Aorus B550M Pro / B550 Pro AC
Cooling ThermalRight ARO-M140 x2
Memory 16Gb 3200 / 32Gb 3600
Video Card(s) RX480 8Gb / RX 6700XT 12Gb
Storage 256 nvme + 4Tb / 1Tb nvme + 12Tb
Display(s) Benq 27" 1080p^60Hz / TUF 27" 1440p^165Hz
Case Fractal Design ARC Mini R2 / CM H500M
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z2300 200W 2.1 / Z906 1000W 5.1
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W x2
Software Windows 10 PRO x2
idk... but everything it's working well now, played dayz gone like 3hrs not a crash or freeze...
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
196 (2.02/day)
Location
Europe
So, let me understand...you have a fully functional card now ?
Cool
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,503 (8.23/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
idk... but everything it's working well now, played dayz gone like 3hrs not a crash or freeze...
a reinstall can fix issues you missed, its why its a common thing to try

a loose cable, a bumped stick of RAM and so on.... glad its all fixed!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
a reinstall can fix issues you missed, its why its a common thing to try

a loose cable, a bumped stick of RAM and so on.... glad its all fixed!

Wonky driver versions too
 
Top