• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 2700 and 4 DIMMs

Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#1

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,120 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,309
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,750 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,847
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2
Processor W3670 3.7 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#3
So i bought a Ryzen 2700 and a MSI B350 Mate https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B350-PC-MATE/Overview , updated it to the latest BIOS. And now my troubles started, 2133 or 2400 are fine, anything over that like 2667 is not bootable no mather the voltages i try or timings.
I can boot at 2667 with two DIMMs (btw https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313643 this is my kit)
So what settings must i fiddle with to get it to work at 2993 and 4 DIMMs ?
Thank you.
The linked memory is a 2x8 GB set. Do you have two set? The memory is not on the list of supported memory but that is of course not the same as it shouldn't work. Just saying.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#4
No, a 4x4 4GB DIMM set.
Rolled back to the first version that supports Ryzen 2, 7A34vAD. Got it to work at 2667 for now. I overclocks fine to 4Ghz with 1.4V but the RAM seems stuck at 2667.
CapRyture.JPG
EDIT: i think i just found my answer http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_ryzen_7_2700_review,19.html
Four DIMM Support
Small sidenote - I've had a question on using four DIMMs in the forums. basically, with 2017 Ryzen and X370 if you used 4 DIMMS, you often got stuck at a maximum 2667 MHz. We tested this with four Flare-X DIMMs from G.Skill. Basically, we inserted them, enabled the XMP and after a reboot, the system posted nicely at 32GB (4x16GB) 3200 MHz CL16. No problem there.
I should have not cheaped out on the motherboard :(
The 4x4 kit works well at 3000 CL16 on an Z370 and i5 8600k so it is not a problem by itself.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,879
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#5
Even the more expensive boards only support 2 Dimms of higher speed ram.
The QVL should show that.
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,237 (0.63/day)
Likes
711
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Titanium
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 AIO
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070Ti Titanium
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#6
No, a 4x4 4GB DIMM set.
Rolled back to the first version that supports Ryzen 2, 7A34vAD. Got it to work at 2667 for now. I overclocks fine to 4Ghz with 1.4V but the RAM seems stuck at 2667.
View attachment 101597
EDIT: i think i just found my answer http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_ryzen_7_2700_review,19.html

I should have not cheaped out on the motherboard :(
The 4x4 kit works well at 3000 CL16 on an Z370 and i5 8600k so it is not a problem by itself.
It's not the motherboard it's the RAM.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#7
Even the more expensive boards only support 2 Dimms of higher speed ram.
The QVL should show that.
It's not the motherboard it's the RAM.
You are talking about the Ryzen platform only, right ? cause the 4x4 kit works perfectly at 3000Mhz on the Intel Z370 motherboard and has been for the last seven months since i got it.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
4,663 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,759
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus Old School
Processor i7-3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H70 ( Push/Pull Swiftech GT 120mm Fans)
Memory Samsung 20GB(6x2GB+2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB x6
Display(s) LG Triple Monitor Setup (5760x1080) ( Vivo Desk Swing Arm Mount)
Case Fractal Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#8
You are talking about the Ryzen platform only, right ? cause the 4x4 kit workes perfectly at 3000Mhz on the Intel Z370 motherboard.
But is the RAM rated for intel or AMD.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#9
I don't understand the question, dose Ryzen require a special RAM ?
The performance of the Ryzen 2700 is on par with that of the i5 8600k in the games i tested, but i`m really considering returning it, since i don't know if i want to invest in a X470 motherboard or a different kit of RAM.

Also is that worth it ? at 4000Mhz CPU speed, would 3000 or 3200 RAM bring a big performance boost ? thanks.
This is how it compares to my "old" i5 8600k, quite impressive since it is running at 800Mhz less than the latter.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,879
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#10
You are talking about the Ryzen platform only, right ? cause the 4x4 kit works perfectly at 3000Mhz on the Intel Z370 motherboard and has been for the last seven months since i got it.
Yes, I was talking about the Ryzen platform as that is what the thread is about.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#11
So what do i have to look for then ? any special feature or series of RAM, a 2x8GB would be sufficient for my needs. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
4,663 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,759
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus Old School
Processor i7-3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H70 ( Push/Pull Swiftech GT 120mm Fans)
Memory Samsung 20GB(6x2GB+2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB x6
Display(s) LG Triple Monitor Setup (5760x1080) ( Vivo Desk Swing Arm Mount)
Case Fractal Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#12
So what do i have to look for then ? any special feature or series of RAM, a 2x8GB would be sufficient for my needs. Thanks.
G.Skill FlareX and G.Skill TridentZ is normally the goto for Ryzen
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,237 (0.63/day)
Likes
711
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Titanium
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 AIO
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070Ti Titanium
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#13
I don't understand the question, dose Ryzen require a special RAM ?
The performance of the Ryzen 2700 is on par with that of the i5 8600k in the games i tested, but i`m really considering returning it, since i don't know if i want to invest in a X470 motherboard or a different kit of RAM.

Also is that worth it ? at 4000Mhz CPU speed, would 3000 or 3200 RAM bring a big performance boost ? thanks.
This is how it compares to my "old" i5 8600k, quite impressive since it is running at 800Mhz less than the latter.

Not necessarily special RAM but not the 4x 4 Hynix. I have some at home nice Dominator 3400 stuff and will not run worth a shit on Ryzen.
The best/most successful has been mentioned FlareX, SniperX meant for Ryzen but there are other kits which are based on Samsung and not quite as expensive. I'm currently testing a 4x8 kit from Kingston, the HyperX predator RGB and tried it on my AM4 ran perfectly at stock 2933 CL15 and also at 3200 Cl16-18 all four stick, this is also hynix based and more affordable than some others.
To answer the question about RAM speed, that also helps Ryzen performance since the infinity fabric speed which joins the CCX also runs 1:1 with the RAM bus so faster RAM speeds up the interconnect between the cores which improves performance.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#14
I tried 2x4GB (from the 4x4 kit) and it works fine at 2993 CL16, but i don't see a performance gain over 4x4 2400 CL15 :shrug:
2400.jpg
2993.jpg
EDIT: and a quick custom benchmark

Not worth the extra +100$ it would cost me to get a 2x8GB RAM kit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,582 (0.79/day)
Likes
700
#15
You won't see any difference in Cinebench, try AIDA mem tests or some other synthetic benches. With real world applications though, only handful show a marked difference.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,895 (0.78/day)
Likes
696
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#16
So I battled 4x8GB in an X470 board today. Weirdest thing, 2 per channel worked fine, also 3 sticks total worked fine any combination (therefore 2 per channel DOES work both channel A and B), but as soon as both channels had both sticks, bam it wouldn't work. Seems like a bios bug -- simply entering the timing numbers from 2 sticks per channel let the machine work grand at 3200 CL14 with all 4 sticks installed. g.skill Trident Z / asus prime pro / 2700X. Very frustrating 3 hours.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
513 (0.24/day)
Likes
120
System Name Outdated
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ 20 dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520 (Fullblock)
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Why did you choose a 300 series chipset for a 2000 series CPU? I guess price? Memory comp and supp is much better on 400 series.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#18
No PCI slots, i need my sound card, damnit ! :)
And no way i would pay double for the same performance and overclock. If it were not for this RAM problem, it would have been a perfect choice for me, that motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,879
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#19
Why did you choose a 300 series chipset for a 2000 series CPU? I guess price? Memory comp and supp is THE SAME.
Fixed it for you, a simple BIOS update is needed only. 4XX series chipset has minimal improvements.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
513 (0.24/day)
Likes
120
System Name Outdated
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ 20 dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520 (Fullblock)
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
Fixed it for you, a simple BIOS update is needed only. 4XX series chipset has minimal improvements.
Not when it comes to memory compatibility and speed.
Tons of people are still having issues with newest firmware and even beta firmware on 300 series boards.

Meanwhile 400 series runs 3200+ no problem on all boards.

AMD named them 4xx for a reason.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,605 (9.10/day)
Likes
14,193
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
not sure about the 2nd gen ryzen, but i needed to over volt my SoC to get my 2133 ram to 3066 - cant remember off top of my head but i think i raised it between 1.15v-1.2v
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,879
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#22
AMD named them 4xx for a reason.
Revised power specs for the new chipset due to the release of the new gen Ryzen, that is all, any extra features are at the mercy of the manufacturers to allow their boards to stand out.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,564 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 2600 @ stock.
Motherboard MSi X470 Gaming Plus.
Cooling AMD 92mm vanilla Wraith. Five 120mm case fans.
Memory G.SKILL Flaxe X 3200, 16GB (2x8GB) @ 3200.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8g RX 580 Pulse @ stock.
Storage Plextor M9Pe M.2 512GB NVMe.
Display(s) ASUS VP247QG Freesync.
Case Corsair Carbide SPEC-01.
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Nahimic. Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750w Gold.
Mouse Logitech MX518.
Keyboard Logitech K310.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.
Benchmark Scores It plays nicely!
#23
Good read. I want a Ryzen 2600 but want to wait for the 450 boards. Plan to start with a 2x8G kit or ram. I know the Ryzen rigs are tricky with ram, that is a bummer.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
808 (0.33/day)
Likes
549
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
#24
Found that out the hard way. But in all seriousness, there is no actual difference between 2400 and 2993 in what i tested so far. Some things like ArmA 3 are hard to test since they have no benchmark.
not sure about the 2nd gen ryzen, but i needed to over volt my SoC to get my 2133 ram to 3066 - cant remember off top of my head but i think i raised it between 1.15v-1.2v
Did not try to fiddle with it, will bump the voltage to 1.2V for a quick test once i get home from work.
 
Top