• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 2700X with X370 mobo: do RAM issues still persist?

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#1
In my current system (X370 Taichi and Ryzen 1700), I have problem running my RAM sticks (G. Skill Trident Z 3200MHz CL14) on their advertised speed and timings (3200MHz and CL14). I can't get them table.

I am wondering whether I can my RAM modules with 3200MHz and CL14 if I replace my current CPU Ryzen 1700 with 2700X. Memory controllers in new CPUs are better and must be stable with all the RAM modules. But I am not sure because the instability problem that I am experienced can be related to my mobo as well.

Note: I am running the newest BIOS available and still the RAMs modules are not stable. when overclocked.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,198 (5.62/day)
Likes
7,358
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
In my current system (X370 Taichi and Ryzen 1700), I have problem running my RAM sticks (G. Skill Trident Z 3200MHz CL14) on their advertised speed and timings (3200MHz and CL14). I can't get them table.

I am wondering whether I can my RAM modules with 3200MHz and CL14 if I replace my current CPU Ryzen 1700 with 2700X. Memory controllers in new CPUs are better and must be stable with all the RAM modules. But I am not sure because the instability problem that I am experienced can be related to my mobo as well.

Note: I am running the newest BIOS available and still the RAMs modules are not stable. when overclocked.
Board makers had microcode updates, the 2700 have those refinements built in and then some, check for beta bios updates if possible.

Also report your findings to AsRock and GSkill.

Here's the ram qvl for the mobo

https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370 Taichi/#Memory

Please read the red notes on each bios update too.

https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370 Taichi/#BIOS
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,334 (0.86/day)
Likes
911
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
#3
Here are some tips for manual timings (click the spoiler tag):

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/amd-ryzen-builders-thread.2499342/page-194#post-39349699

My RAM is CL 16 (see specs) so i can't really use the faster timings, but i'm using the bottom left one, with 3200 speed instead of 3466: increased the RAM volts by .03 volts but haven't stress tested yet because dunno how to under linux. Seems fine, though.

Note that i have a TaiChi X370 myself, but i have a 1600 CPU instead.

EDIT

Suggest you fill in your system specs, for more context.
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#4
Here are some tips for manual timings (click the spoiler tag):

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/amd-ryzen-builders-thread.2499342/page-194#post-39349699

My RAM is CL 16 (see specs) so i can't really use the faster timings, but i'm using the bottom left one, with 3200 speed instead of 3466: increased the RAM volts by .03 volts but haven't stress tested yet because dunno how to under linux. Seems fine, though.

Note that i have a TaiChi X370 myself, but i have a 1600 CPU instead.

EDIT

Suggest you fill in your system specs, for more context.
My system specs should be visible in my signature.

Asrock X370 Taichi || AMD Ryzen R7 1700 || Nzxt Kraken x62 AIO || G.SKILL Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz C14 2x8GB|| Evga 1080 Ti SC2 || Samsung 850 Evo 250GB || Samsung 850 Evo 1TB || WD Desktop Black 1 TB || NZXT S340 Elite Steel || Seasonic Focus Plus 650W || Asus ROG Swift PG279Q IPS 165Hz 1440p

Note: I will try bumbing RAM voltage and report back.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,334 (0.86/day)
Likes
911
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
#5
My system specs should be visible in my signature.

Asrock X370 Taichi || AMD Ryzen R7 1700 || Nzxt Kraken x62 AIO || G.SKILL Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz C14 2x8GB|| Evga 1080 Ti SC2 || Samsung 850 Evo 250GB || Samsung 850 Evo 1TB || WD Desktop Black 1 TB || NZXT S340 Elite Steel || Seasonic Focus Plus 650W || Asus ROG Swift PG279Q IPS 165Hz 1440p

Note: I will try bumbing RAM voltage and report back.
I'm not viewing any signatures, which is why i missed it.

Judging by those specs, you may be able to get away with some of the better timings on the page i linked in my earlier post. Suggest you try the more stable versions 1st and, if successful, then try the faster ones, instead of jumping straight to the faster ones 1st.
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#6
I will be bumping this thread as I haven't yet seen a full confirmation that someone can run 2700x on a X370 board with OC'ed RAM sticks (for example 3200MHz 14-14-14-34).
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,334 (0.86/day)
Likes
911
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
#7
Well ... it seems i need to go to the eye doctor ...

For a while i thought i was running the following but with MEMCLK ratio of 3200, with .03 more volts over XMP 3200 voltage:

Screenshot from 2018-05-25 10-30-12.png

Turns out i was running those sub timings @ 2133 speeds ...

With 3200, it won't even boot: reverted to XMP 3200, which works perfectly fine.

If this were Windows, a quick CPU-Z run would show right away i wasn't running 3200 as i thought i was but i'm using Linux and, short of paying attention @ boot, dunno how to check for stuff like this, so ...

Have you tried using the program from 1usmus? Has a short video with instructions on how to use.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Likes
33
System Name littlet
Processor Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro 4
Cooling NH-U12S
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 2X8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 FE
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) Dell U2913WM
Case Jonsbo VR2
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair SF 600
Software Windows
#8
Untitled1.jpg Untitled2.jpg Untitled3.jpg Untitled4.jpg

can only assume its the memory controller on the cpu and typically the x-models do have better memory controllers hence my choice before people start bashing me here
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
811 (0.33/day)
Likes
552
Location
Romania
System Name No name
Processor i5 8600k@4800Mhz 1.22v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga 980Ti SC + Accelero Xtreme III
Storage Kingston AV400 256GB, WD30PURX
Display(s) Asus MG279Q and AOC q3279vwfd8
Case Regnum RG4F Frosty White
Audio Device(s) XFI Music
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 5948 3dmark TimeSpy
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,528 (4.47/day)
Likes
3,880
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#10
Last time I checked a few days ago, the X370 needs a BIOS update to run the R7 2xxx series CPU's, and that hadn't been put out yet.
Once Manufacturers bring out the update, the CPU should just drop in and run with faster Ram.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
990 (0.22/day)
Likes
419
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen+ 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3466mhz
Video Card(s) Titan V HBM2 12GB on its way
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
#11
I upgraded on day one to the 2700x keeping the rest of my setup the same... it works perfectly on x370. the last couple of bios released included support for these new processors... good luck :toast: the memory acts differently, unfortunately your still stuck at 3466mhz...
 
Last edited:

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#12
I upgraded on day one to the 2700x keeping the rest of my setup the same... it works perfectly on x370. the last couple of bios released included support for these new processors... good luck :toast: the memory acts differently, unfortunately your still stuck at 3466mhz...
Which CPU did you have before acquiring the 2700X?
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
990 (0.22/day)
Likes
419
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen+ 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3466mhz
Video Card(s) Titan V HBM2 12GB on its way
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
#13
I used an 1800x. I still have it... I put it up for sale in the appropriate part of the forum... if anyone wants it for the memory capability. my 2700x is a little harder to get running at those speeds..
I was surprised, I expected the memory performance to be as good if not better on the 2700k.
the cpu does clock 200mhz higher at those same ram speeds with an early bios including that chip though so im happy...
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#14
I'd like to bump this thread as I think there are now more people who bought 2700X can tell us if their RAM issues improved or are even resolved! :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,611 (9.09/day)
Likes
14,213
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
In my current system (X370 Taichi and Ryzen 1700), I have problem running my RAM sticks (G. Skill Trident Z 3200MHz CL14) on their advertised speed and timings (3200MHz and CL14). I can't get them table.

I am wondering whether I can my RAM modules with 3200MHz and CL14 if I replace my current CPU Ryzen 1700 with 2700X. Memory controllers in new CPUs are better and must be stable with all the RAM modules. But I am not sure because the instability problem that I am experienced can be related to my mobo as well.

Note: I am running the newest BIOS available and still the RAMs modules are not stable. when overclocked.
you on the latest BIOS? make sure to overvolt your SoC to 1.10v-1.15v

the new chips are a lot easier to get high speed ram, but a big part of the first gen chips is BIOS updates and getting the voltages right
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#16
you on the latest BIOS? make sure to overvolt your SoC to 1.10v-1.15v

the new chips are a lot easier to get high speed ram, but a big part of the first gen chips is BIOS updates and getting the voltages right
Unfortunately does not work. I got the latest BIOS and tried with all BIOS versions since 2017 September. I had already exhausted all the possiblities. I can safely state that a significant percentage of 1700 CPUs out there won't run 3200MHz CL14 no matter what.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,611 (9.09/day)
Likes
14,213
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro (1.4v 14-16-18-34)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
lucky for me i'm 3200 C16 i guess
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
973 (0.74/day)
Likes
580
Location
Long Island
#18
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Ryzen_7_2700X/21.html

The Thumbs down review comments

  • Single-threaded performance still lower than Intel's
  • Limited overclocking potential
  • Memory still a bit more problematic than on Intel
  • Lacks integrated graphics
With specific reference to your situation ... 3200doesn't seem to be a major challenge, at least with 470 MoBos.

Getting DDR4-3400 to work with CL14 isn't easy, and wasn't stable despite our best efforts. Even the G.Skill SniperX DDR4-3400 "Ryzen-friendly" kit we have at hand won't budge from CL16 at its advertised clocks. Please also note that 3400 MHz is running at CL16 (which is the fastest that's available). At 3400 MHz, CL16 is 8.89 nanoseconds (16/3200*2*1000), whereas the 3200 MHz kit is running at tighter absolute latencies of 8.75 nanoseconds, which gives a slight latency advantage to the 3200 MHz kit, while the 3400 MHz kit has the bandwidth and CCX-performance advantage.
I imagine BIOS updates are creeping into the old er 370 boards. Best suggestion I can offer is monitor for new BIOS releases and bymp DRAM voltage.
 
Top