• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 3000 boost fix, first test, first UEFIs

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,038 (0.74/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Note that this is based on "leaked" MSI UEFI updates.
It appears to fix the issue.

Also, looks like Gigabyte has released their beta UEFI's with AGESA 1.0.0.3ABBA

And yes, it seems to be working quite well...

131549

131550


131551


131553
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,624 (1.90/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Tomorrow is too far away still, tut.

Hopefully Msi are not the only ones on the ball, looking at you asus :)
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
94 (0.03/day)
Asus they are not the fastest,but Asrock is even slower.They do have to test these things and could take two weeks for release from today Sept 10 2019.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
116 (0.63/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming (BIOS 2704 - AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB)
Cooling Arctic 33 Esports Edition Dual Fan
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 Mhz (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR) @16-17-17-17-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 TI Armor 6G OC @ 2070 MHz
Storage 3x Crucial MX500 / 1x Samsung 850 EVO / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Challenger (w/ Modified Side Panel)
Power Supply Rosewill Photon 750
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Home x64
Tomorrow is too far away still, tut.

Hopefully Msi are not the only ones on the ball, looking at you asus :)
I have an Asus board too but,
I actually would rather wait a week or two and have them take their time and work out as many bugs as possible before they Officially release a BIOS update.
My 3700x already performs really well so waiting a week or more for a bug free BIOS is much better IMO.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,624 (1.90/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
I have an Asus board too but,
I actually would rather wait a week or two and have them take their time and work out as many bugs as possible before they Officially release a BIOS update.
My 3700x already performs really well so waiting a week or more for a bug free BIOS is much better IMO.
I think anyone like me with a X470 board can expect a wait anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
116 (0.63/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming (BIOS 2704 - AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB)
Cooling Arctic 33 Esports Edition Dual Fan
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 Mhz (F4-3200C16D-16GTZR) @16-17-17-17-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 TI Armor 6G OC @ 2070 MHz
Storage 3x Crucial MX500 / 1x Samsung 850 EVO / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Challenger (w/ Modified Side Panel)
Power Supply Rosewill Photon 750
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Home x64
I think anyone like me with a X470 board can expect a wait anyway.
True enough, they do seem to take a lot longer to update the X470 BIOS versions vs my Strix B450-F BIOS.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
94 (0.03/day)
You do not have to wait,you can mod your own BIOS with SMU 46.49.00

Download SMU FW 46.49.00 by 1usmus

Ryzen BIOS mods + how to update BIOS correctly

EDIT: added hardwareluxx
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,038 (0.74/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Are these sustained single thread boost clocks?
Of course not, AMD never promised that.
However, my CPU boosts much more regularly and to much higher speeds now. I've hit 4.6GHz on one core, with 4,575MHz being a regular thing, whereas 4,525MHz was once in a while prior to this update.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,368 (1.25/day)
HWiNFO 6.11.3910 is screwy several sensors aren't reading right. 6.10 seams to be better. Halloween coming up and now i can install 6.11 to get a quick scare of my CPU using 280+ watts

As far as the beta bios ABBA the cores do hit their max more often. ABB I had 2 now with ABBA i get 6. The two black sheep are -50 Mhz. 3700X with PBO disabled
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,848 (1.94/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asrock X570m PRO4
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3533mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Fractal Design Something
Power Supply XFX 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I shall do the dance of impatience as I wait for Asrock to do the thing.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,466 (1.06/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
Nice! Glad to see the issue got addressed.

Meanwhile that 1.5V though. I feel like back on my Athlon XP days
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.48/day)
Nice! Glad to see the issue got addressed.

Meanwhile that 1.5V though. I feel like back on my Athlon XP days
That has never really ever changed. I look at it as a sign of how robust AMD's silicon is, actually. Intel CPUs are quite delicate with voltage in comparison.
HWiNFO 6.11.3910 is screwy several sensors aren't reading right. 6.10 seams to be better. Halloween coming up and now i can install 6.11 to get a quick scare of my CPU using 280+ watts

As far as the beta bios ABBA the cores do hit their max more often. ABB I had 2 now with ABBA i get 6. The two black sheep are -50 Mhz. 3700X with PBO disabled
UEFI BIOSes are truly modular, so rolling in an updated AGESA and having relative compute stability without 100% proper communication with a Super I/O chip and other such tertiary devices is why regular users should wait for non-BETA BIOSes, and in general, only update if there is a problem. I'd wait for the next AGESA release myself, even.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,569 (2.62/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
Speaking as a bios modder, dave is right. AGESA isn't something that just "rolls in" smoothly as a module. It interacts with a lot of other components and it's a major PITA to just "patch" another bios with a newer AGESA without a lot of bugs.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,368 (1.25/day)
UEFI BIOSes are truly modular, so rolling in an updated AGESA and having relative compute stability without 100% proper communication with a Super I/O chip and other such tertiary devices is why regular users should wait for non-BETA BIOSes, and in general, only update if there is a problem. I'd wait for the next AGESA release myself, even.
It also doesn't help HWiNFO 6.11 is in beta as well

I did for funzies go back and check bioses and their effects for my 3700X chip.

1.0.0.3a
4.375x2, 4350x2, 4325x2, 4300x2

1.0.0.3abb (Beta)
4.400x2, 4375x2, 4350x2, 4325x2

1.0.0.3abb
4.375x1, 4350x1, 4325x6
All core boost 4.300 @ v1.469

1.0.0.3abba (Beta)
4.400x6, 4350x2
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
38 (2.11/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 DUAL 8GB
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z / Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
R5 3600 (4.2GHz boost)

1.0.0.3 ABB (Final/Beta)
4.150x1(very very rare), 4.125x1, 4.100x4 ....1.45v max

1.0.0.3 ABBA (Beta)
4.200x2, 4175x2, 4.150x2 ....1.475v max

With ABBA (gimme gimme gimme a boost...) BIOS version those speeds are hitted regularly. Avarage voltage is about the same. Average CPU temp with the same type of mixed usage has gone up by 1~2C, but the max temp not so.
Seems like some improvement has been made...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Location
Turkiye
System Name Revenge of the Strix
Processor Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard Strix-E x570
Cooling Noctua D15 SE
Memory Adata D41 Spectrix 3600 16gb
Video Card(s) MSI Aero RTX 2080
Storage 970evo-Seagate2TB SSHD-WD 2TB-Intel SSD-860evo
Display(s) AOC Agon AG241QX 144hz 2k
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) SB Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX 750w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G513 Tactile
Software Windows 10 1903
asus strix-e offical

ABB

131865


ABBA Chiquitita

131866
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,038 (0.74/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,295 (8.66/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Another one with 99.8MHz bus speed. Try changing it and you'll hit 4,400.
on my asus b450 if i change it off auto, i lose all boost functionality and get stuck at 3700mhz
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Location
Turkiye
System Name Revenge of the Strix
Processor Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard Strix-E x570
Cooling Noctua D15 SE
Memory Adata D41 Spectrix 3600 16gb
Video Card(s) MSI Aero RTX 2080
Storage 970evo-Seagate2TB SSHD-WD 2TB-Intel SSD-860evo
Display(s) AOC Agon AG241QX 144hz 2k
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) SB Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX 750w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G513 Tactile
Software Windows 10 1903
Another one with 99.8MHz bus speed. Try changing it and you'll hit 4,400.
what do you suggest?100 is select and auto select but no 100 bus.when i've tried upper 100 it will be 101 not 100.01
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
38 (2.11/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 DUAL 8GB
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z / Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
what do you suggest?100 is select and auto select but no 100 bus.when i've tried upper 100 it will be 101 not 100.01
On mine, X570 Aorus Pro, the only way to get an even 100 to BCLK is by disabling “Spread Spectrum”. Otherwise, it is 99,8.

Don’t try 101 or it may cause other issues like non proper detection/communication of drives (HDD/SSD). You may lose data by corruption... and when that happens on the boot drive... well... you get the idea!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Location
Turkiye
System Name Revenge of the Strix
Processor Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard Strix-E x570
Cooling Noctua D15 SE
Memory Adata D41 Spectrix 3600 16gb
Video Card(s) MSI Aero RTX 2080
Storage 970evo-Seagate2TB SSHD-WD 2TB-Intel SSD-860evo
Display(s) AOC Agon AG241QX 144hz 2k
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) SB Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX 750w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G513 Tactile
Software Windows 10 1903
On mine, X570 Aorus Pro, the only way to get an even 100 to BCLK is by disabling “Spread Spectrum”. Otherwise, it is 99,8.

Don’t try 101 or it may cause other issues like non proper detection/communication of drives (HDD/SSD). You may lose data by corruption... and when that happens on the boot drive... well... you get the idea!
will try thank you.i've made 102 BTW at first time.i'm so lucky i guess.

On mine, X570 Aorus Pro, the only way to get an even 100 to BCLK is by disabling “Spread Spectrum”. Otherwise, it is 99,8.

Don’t try 101 or it may cause other issues like non proper detection/communication of drives (HDD/SSD). You may lose data by corruption... and when that happens on the boot drive... well... you get the idea!
no option spread spectrum or i couldn't find it.there is a vrm spectrum in digivrm and it's off.i set to on and another option in amd overclocking called SocOC and it's disabled.i set to enabled.

before:

131873



after:

131874



Should i disable the VRM Spectrum?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,038 (0.74/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I guess not all motherboards have a good option for changing it. For whatever reason, a lot of boards have a sub 100MHz default bus speed.
On my board I can change it in 0.1MHz steps, so it's not an issue for me. Unfortunately I don't have any suggestions beyond that, but you are in fact getting the correct boost speeds, it's just that the lower bus speed of the board prevents you to hit the even numbers.
This guys who had the same issue in another thread, solved it though.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
38 (2.11/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 DUAL 8GB
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z / Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
I guess not all motherboards have a good option for changing it. For whatever reason, a lot of boards have a sub 100MHz default bus speed.
On my board I can change it in 0.1MHz steps, so it's not an issue for me. Unfortunately I don't have any suggestions beyond that, but you are in fact getting the correct boost speeds, it's just that the lower bus speed of the board prevents you to hit the even numbers.
Have you actually seen in windows taking such a small step? In my BIOS I can type 100.1 but after the reboot and in Win it’s up to 101
will try thank you.i've made 102 BTW at first time.i'm so lucky i guess.

Should i disable the VRM Spectrum?
If there is some issue about BCLK at over 100MHz it’s not directly traceable. I tried it several times. Other times I had issues with 103, and others with 101.
If you have HWiNFO64 try to load it “sensors only”, and see if it takes more time or stops at “SCSI...etc” scanning.

I don’t know if “VRM Spectrum” is the same as “Spread Sprectrum” (I doubt)... You could give it a try unless someone has other opinion.
 
Top