• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 3600

Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
I have set it up today and so far it looks pretty good. I have left at default first just to see the cpu-z result and how the bench was, result: single thread 500 and multithread 3820. At default, voltage, clock, nothing is fixed, all the time going up and down and clock usually stayed at 3950mhz on multithread or single thread. I then overclocked it to 4.2ghz, 1.32v and have redone the test and I'm amazed how better it was with the overclocking, also voltage and core clock very much fixed as you can see in the image below. This was my first try, set 42 core multiplier and 1.32v for the voltage. Maybe I hit the silicon lottery? 4.2ghz at 1.32v. So far this was amazing, my objective was to overclock to the precision boost maximum clock which for the 3600 is 4.2ghz and leave at the lowest voltage possible, 1.32v was my first try, I wonder how lower the voltage can go or how high can the clock go with 1.32v.

100% usage, 80c, so need a better cooler for this. It is always good to use stock cooler first to see how bad the thing really is.

CPU-Z Validation: https://valid.x86.fr/ish8yd
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,837 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Just dont break 1.37 supposedly.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Just dont break 1.37 supposedly.
It runs cooler with fixed voltage, everything is better with fixed voltage and clock. I have come from intel since 2006, conroe hehe. I hope i will stay with amd for now. I'm very impressed with the 3600, $227 is a bargain, 3700x is needed only if you think those 2 extra cores is a must have, 2 extra more cores for $173 usd more where I live, 3600 $227, 3700x $400.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,837 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It runs cooler with fixed voltage, everything is better with fixed voltage and clock. I have come from intel since 2006, conroe hehe. I hope i will stay with amd for now.
Even my fx does. Turbo core=variable voltage for utmost stability.

Id try to lower the vcore further.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,684 (4.33/day)
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and SOHO Server
Processor Ryzen 3600 : Ryzen 1700 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Giga X470 Aorus : Biostar X370 GT5
Cooling Stock : Liquid cooled
Memory 2x8GB Tforce Vulcan 3200 : 2x4GB Viper Elite 2667
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 Armor OC @ 1.47Ghz/1.85Ghz: XFX R5 220
Storage Toshiba 256GB NVME HGST 2TB : WD 10TB + WD 3TB + HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" + Sceptre 24" : headless
Case CM Masterbox RGB: DIYPC D480-W White Window
Audio Device(s) Radeon HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply HCG 850W Bronze : Tt 775W Modular
Mouse Tt Challenger : None
Keyboard Rosewill Neon : None
Software Windows 10: Zorin 12.3
heya @Metroid just recently took the jump myself from an R5 1400. Such a great cpu.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
heya @Metroid just recently took the jump myself from an R5 1400. Such a great cpu.
It's just incredible, I was not expecting this, hell, i think nobody was expecting this from amd, not even amd themselves, with failure after failure these past years, prior 2017, really unbelievable.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
It's just incredible, I was not expecting this, hell, i think nobody was expecting this from amd, not even amd themselves, with failure after failure these past years, prior 2017, really unbelievable.
My desktop feels snappy again like it has an Intel CPU. Reminds me of my overclocked 4790K. To bad I'm missing out on some performance going off your CPU-Z result by using the MSI B350M Gaming Pro.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
My desktop feels snappy again like it has an Intel CPU. Reminds me of my overclocked 4790K. To bad I'm missing out on some performance going off your CPU-Z result by using the MSI B350M Gaming Pro.
I'm using the msi b450 gaming plus if that helps. There are a lot of benchmarks i will be conducting, mainly emulators. Also look at the ddr4, 3466mhz cl20, did i lose performance going cl20? i dont think so. That is good for people who have a ddr4 2133mhz cl 14 1.20v and dont want to buy ram, just overclock it, like i did.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Also look at the ddr4, 3466mhz cl20, did i lose performance going cl20? i dont think so. That is good for people who have a ddr4 2133mhz cl 14 1.20v and dont want to buy ram, just overclock it, like i did.
Way ahead of you on overclocking the DDR4. Seems stable from 3,200 MHz to 3,533 MHz at the same timings of 16-18-18-18-36 but the voltage had to go up 1.41

I've attempted an all core overclock of 4.3 GHz, and no dice. I did manage to get it stable at 4,250 MHz for one bench run in AIDA64 CPU Zlib. To bad temperature went up to 91.1C

Looks like I'll have to settle for 4.2 GHz all cores at 1.4v, tried lower but it's unstable.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Way ahead of you on overclocking the DDR4. Seems stable from 3,200 MHz to 3,533 MHz at the same timings of 16-18-18-18-36 but the voltage had to go up 1.41

I've attempted an all core overclock of 4.3 GHz, and no dice. I did manage to get it stable at 4,250 MHz for one bench run in AIDA64 CPU Zlib. To bad temperature went up to 91.1C

Looks like I'll have to settle for 4.2 GHz all cores at 1.4v, tried lower but it's unstable.
I'm not sure if my system is stable with 1.32v 4.2ghz, i will have to do many tests. So far, no problems at all, no crash, nothing at all.

I added a cpu-z validation, https://valid.x86.fr/ish8yd
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,837 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Mine wasn't as soon as Cinebench started rendering. So now I get reinstall Windows 10 since I got the Preparing Windows... after rebooting.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,837 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Mine wasn't as soon as Cinebench started rendering. So now I get reinstall Windows 10 since I got the Preparing Windows... after rebooting.
W10 ftl
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
This was my maximum with safe voltages 1.44v, in the msi b450 gaming plus bios, the maximum safe voltage is 1.44v, after that its color changes to red hehe, I will take a picture and show it later. So I tried 4.4ghz and I could not boot even with 1.52v, i did not want to push it further, with 1.44v at 4.35ghz, the system booted and is very stable hehe, so the maximum this chip can handle is 4.35ghz with 1.44v, pretty good chip. I did a cpu-z single and multithread with it, also cpu-z validation too, temperature close to 90c hehe, i guess when i get that aio cooler, temperature will improve and I can probably leave at 4.3ghz 24/7 at 1.35v or so.


Here is the picture of the bios showing where lies the danger hehe

Important tip, if you own a msi motherboard that supports ryzen then your bios will be very much like mine, if so then there is an option in there called "amd overclock" in cpu core voltage, this setting will make your voltage fixed in loads, idle voltage will keep peaking at 1.50v though, that cant be helped. I uploaded the image showing it off. I also made a video showing cpu-z bench stress test with the fixed voltage, my best stable 24/7 with stock cooler was 1.30v, I can boot in windows with 1.23v, it starts to get stable around 1.25v and will only be fully stable at 1.30v. I will upload the video later. I will upload now the final image of the video i will upload later, check the average voltage, very stable at 1.30v, cpu-z stress bench took 5 minutes to hit 90c which was my objective, cpu cores while on stress test, always 1.269v.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Don't know, anyone else find this impressive for only running locked at 4,150 MHz?
127925

 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Don't know, anyone else find this impressive for only running locked at 4,150 MHz?
That result is probably 4.150mhz + something else to be better on multithread, look at single thread, it's low, it should be 515 or so for that multithread result. There are settings that can do that, vcore too high.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
look at single thread, it's low, it should be 515
That's because I forced all cores to run at 4.150 GHz, boost is disabled. Voltage is set at 1.25 even though it reports 1.42, at one time it was reporting 1.68 even though I had it set to 1.35.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
That's because I forced all cores to run at 4.150 GHz, boost is disabled. Voltage is set at 1.25 even though it reports 1.42, at one time it was reporting 1.68 even though I had it set to 1.35.
If you have a msi motherboard you could replicate the fixed voltage setting "AMD Overclock" in the bios. Voltage will be fixed while is in load, are you using the stock cooler?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,516 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Heatsink is listed in cooling under System Specs, Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 mounting bracket.

For voltage I'm using the AMD Overclocking selection in the BIOS
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Heatsink is listed in cooling under System Specs, Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 mounting bracket.

For voltage I'm using the AMD Overclocking selection in the BIOS
But why the voltage is not fixed then? here, while idle it fluctuates, 1.30 to 1.50v, while in load is always fixed at 1.27v. HWinfo64 would help you to check if the voltage is fixed while in load.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
Updated, I have purchased today an aio cooling solution, coolermaster masterliquid lite 240mm and I have redone benchmarks with it. I also have run aida, stability test fpu, the most tough stability test for 15 minutes 4.2ghz 1.31v, tried 1.30 and crashed after 5 seconds, so it means for 4.2ghz, my 3600 needs 1.31v and that is the final value. I also tried 4.4ghz at 1.44, I booted but could not run a cinebench test. Regarding cooling, stock cooler running cpu-z stress test, temperatures from 50c to 92c in 90 seconds, and with the aio masterliquid lite 240mm, temperature no more than 70c, aida fpu test temperature no more than 81c which is formidable for such aio, I paid $55 for it and there is no need for more than that for the 3600 at 4.2ghz. If i had gone 3900x then a better aio would have been needed, I'd say a triple aio https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16835181139, "Corsair Hydro Series, H150i PRO RGB, 360mm. 3 X 120mm ML PWM Fans".
.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,201 (1.81/day)
Location
USA
that is a great deal Metroid for $55.

I am going to go for a 3700x and 5700XT build around mid-late August when custom PCB's come out. so far I have my case and PSU sealed and waiting. I really wanted to go water this time, but it just scares me too much still. So going to stick with my NH-D15 (which I wish I could sell for a Noctua U12A) but its hard to sell big heavy heatsinks.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
that is a great deal Metroid for $55.

I am going to go for a 3700x and 5700XT build around mid-late August when custom PCB's come out. so far I have my case and PSU sealed and waiting. I really wanted to go water this time, but it just scares me too much still. So going to stick with my NH-D15 (which I wish I could sell for a Noctua U12A) but its hard to sell big heavy heatsinks.
Coolermaster masterliquid lite 240mm is the best aio for the price, $55, I mean, compared to stock 3600 cooler, that was 30 degrees celsius difference and that is a lot. I mean, I was expecting an improvement of 13 degrees or so, 30 degrees was just too much. The only issue about this aio is that the materials are not as good as the pro model, coolermaster offers 2 years warranty for the lite and 5 years for the pro. I will in 2 years or so purchase a 16 cores or so and by that time I can purchase a better aio too, if you have a 65w cpu tdp, example 3700x or 3600 then this aio is an incredible deal and you dont need more than this.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,201 (1.81/day)
Location
USA
Coolermaster masterliquid lite 240mm is the best aio for the price, $55, I mean, compared to stock 3600 cooler, that was 30 degrees celsius difference and that is a lot. I mean, I was expecting an improvement of 13 degrees or so, 30 degrees was just too much. The only issue about this aio is that the materials are not as good as the pro model, coolermaster offers 2 years warranty for the lite and 5 years for the pro. I will in 2 years or so purchase a 16 cores or so and by that time I can purchase a better aio too, if you have a 65w cpu tdp, example 3700x or 3600 then this aio is an incredible deal and you dont need more than this.
my noctua cooler is ancient but when I do upgrade I will just be using that still to save money, it should shave off around 30 celsius as well. its got 3x140mm noctua fans on it in push/pull
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
581 (1.23/day)
Location
London, UK
my noctua cooler is ancient but when I do upgrade I will just be using that still to save money, it should shave off around 30 celsius as well. its got 3x140mm noctua fans on it in push/pull
I have that thermaltake pure copper 2 kilos of pure copper but it's not with me where i'm at moment, I'm very far away from home hehe, working, If I was at home then I would be using that, that cooler could keep a i7 920 1.4v 4.4ghz around 70c, tdp at base clock i7 920 2.6ghz used to be 130 watts, 4.4 ghz loaded only the cpu used to be around 320 watts. I think this coolermaster masterliquid 240mm is for a 100 watts tdp cpu. Back in 2008, I paid 120 gbp for that, that cooler is a rarity, not planning to sell, will always have a use hehe, anyway I'm very happy with this build, if 3600x, 3700x and up were really giving the performance you paid for then I would have got any of them, I did not want to pay for 4.4ghz and got 4.2ghz, better pay for a 4.2ghz and get a 4.2ghz hehe. If I were you I would wait for a refresh. 5.0ghz is very certain.
 
Top