• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 5 3600 very high temps

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
I've just built a new system with the 3600 stock cooler+b450 gaming plus max, but the CPU get hot very easy and in prime20 test I've reached 90 with 2 minutes or so
Is this a normal behavior of the 3600 or something is really wrong ?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,391 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
A few random observations:

1. they *read* hotter than intels, since temp programs show the temp from the hottest core (which is why the temps bounce around a lot... annoying, but its accurate)
2. the stock cooler aint great, so 90C at full speed in a burn test seems plausible
3. mobo BIOS settings can make *huge* differences to the clocks temps and performance of ryzen, with some mobos having weird defaults. Try fiddling around with turning off options that claim to enhance performance, and see if the temps plummet (my x370 board had a default option for 'multi core enhancement' that did nothing except add 15C to temps)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,741 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
A few random observations:

1. they *read* hotter than intels, since temp programs show the temp from the hottest core (which is why the temps bounce around a lot... annoying, but its accurate)
2. the stock cooler aint great, so 90C at full speed in a burn test seems plausible
3. mobo BIOS settings can make *huge* differences to the clocks temps and performance of ryzen, with some mobos having weird defaults. Try fiddling around with turning off options that claim to enhance performance, and see if the temps plummet (my x370 board had a default option for 'multi core enhancement' that did nothing except add 15C to temps)
Very similar here , auto settings are to be avoided if there is a Default setting, they're not the same.
I get 1.5V regularly with any setting other than default (sorry).
Hopefully the new bios on the way will help , it is said to run lower volts more often and cooler too.
That bios would contain ageesa 1,0,0,3ABBA.
 

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
A few random observations:

1. they *read* hotter than intels, since temp programs show the temp from the hottest core (which is why the temps bounce around a lot... annoying, but its accurate)
2. the stock cooler aint great, so 90C at full speed in a burn test seems plausible
3. mobo BIOS settings can make *huge* differences to the clocks temps and performance of ryzen, with some mobos having weird defaults. Try fiddling around with turning off options that claim to enhance performance, and see if the temps plummet (my x370 board had a default option for 'multi core enhancement' that did nothing except add 15C to temps)
My concern is not really the high temp, its just how insanely quickly (within few minutes)I could hit 90c, sry if I didn't make this clear
Also not sure if is this related but I had a rough time installing the stock fan which made me reinstalling it 3 times and I could see some thermopaste was on the CPU because of this after each removal
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
184 (2.04/day)
System Name Ryzen Pea's
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard Asrock AB350m Pro4
Cooling Wraith Max
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) AMD RX 580
Storage Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case Tin box
Power Supply Corsair CX 550w
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 1024x768 32bpp @ 30FPS
It shouldn't be that hard to install the cooler, do it again, clean the thermal paste and reapply, don't use prime20 to guage your temps monitor them under real world usage.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Clear cmos, update bios to latest.

Whats your Ambient Room Temperatures?

What case are you using how, many and what make and model of fans in the case? What video card are you using? Are you using hard disk drives? What's your Power supply?

My concern is not really the high temp, its just how insanely quickly (within few minutes)I could hit 90c, sry if I didn't make this clear
Also not sure if is this related but I had a rough time installing the stock fan which made me reinstalling it 3 times and I could see some thermopaste was on the CPU because of this after each removal
 

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
Although I have a crappy case that I don't even remember its name (cooler master elite 310 or something) with crappy airflow, I have tested it with the case open and room temp at average level and shifts slightly to the cold territory
Psu seasonic focus plus platinum

Also guys can you tell me what is the stock voltage of 3600 under different loads (idle,light, heavy) ? Because I see the voltage keep jumping back and forth to 1.39 something, which is I thing an auto OC ?
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,644 (5.79/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
get a better cooler.that's it.the 3600 box cooler is very basic.and amd's turbo is really aggresive,it really can pump a lot of voltage.
in fact it's more than a lot of people would be comfortable with if they were overclocking manually.

you need a decent $30 aftermarket cooler and you'll be fine.

what can $30 buy you where you live ?
 
Last edited:

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
Clear cmos, update bios to latest.

Whats your Ambient Room Temperatures?

What case are you using how, many and what make and model of fans in the case? What video card are you using? Are you using hard disk drives? What's your Power supply?
please,don't tell the guy 90 is fine,put your love for the red time aside this time.

get a better cooler.that's it.the 3600 box cooler is not what all the boys make it out to be,it's very basic.and amd's turbo is really aggresive,it really can pump a lot of voltage.you need a decent $30 aftermarket cooler and you'll be fine.

what can $30 buy you where you live ?
I've just disabled core enhancement in bios and now my CPU keeps @3600 all time with no boost to 4GH, now its a slight loss in performance at least in my case since all games run above 60fps all time anyways which is my monitor refresh rate, but what surprised me how much the temperature had dropped significantly even in my crappy case
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Although I have a crappy case that I don't even remember its name (cooler master elite 310 or something) with crappy airflow, I have tested it with the case open and room temp at average level and shifts slightly to the cold territory
Psu seasonic focus plus platinum

Also guys can you tell me what is the stock voltage of 3600 under different loads (idle,light, heavy) ? Because I see the voltage keep jumping back and forth to 1.39 something, which is I thing an auto OC ?
There will always be a voltage variable however if you set it from auto to manual it will maintain an absolute tolerance level.

Example my FX voltage is 1.476Vcore, under heavy load using Blender it goes to 1.524.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,644 (5.79/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Example my FX voltage is 1.476Vcore, under heavy load using Blender it goes to 1.524.
what does this have to do with ryzen 3000 ?

I've just disabled core enhancement in bios and now my CPU keeps @3600 all time with no boost to 4GH, now its a slight loss in performance at least in my case since all games run above 60fps all time anyways which is my monitor refresh rate, but what surprised me how much the temperature had dropped significantly even in my crappy case
like I told you,amd really were trying to squeeze everything out of this chip,at the cost of high voltage and temps.if you're using ryzen with basic cooling you should tinker wtih manual voltages and clocks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've just disabled core enhancement in bios and now my CPU keeps @3600 all time with no boost to 4GH, now its a slight loss in performance at least in my case since all games run above 60fps all time anyways which is my monitor refresh rate, but what surprised me how much the temperature had dropped significantly even in my crappy case
Some motherboards if you see auto as a voltage setting, right beside it you will see the voltage it is currently running at, you can lock it down by setting to manual.

Get your board manual out and read it.

@Bones or @ShrimpBrime might be able to help
 
Last edited:

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
I did, but I don't know if this is an actual value or the OC value, hence I asked about it here
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I did, but I don't know if this is an actual value or the OC value, hence I asked about it here
I'n the bios itself the settings are idle, no activity.

Hardware monitor/HWinfo64/Aida64 im unsure if openhardwaremonitor has been updated can show you what minimum volts, current volts and current max volts the invividual lines will run
 
Last edited:

Agentak74u

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
28 (0.09/day)
I'n the bios itself the settings are idle, no activity.

Hardware monitor/HWinfo64/Aida64 im unsure if openhardwaremonitor has been updated can show you what minimum volts, current volts and current max volts the invividual lines will run
ok then thx man i will try
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,391 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
ignore the voltage talk about ryzen, people are trying to compare how it works with previous generations (intel or AMD) and its not the same.

Voltages are high, but amperage/wattage is low - so its irrelevant. Its only one part of an equation, that people think is all-important because of static voltage all core overclocks being the norm for so long.

Yeah, your stock cooler will heat up fast...its tiny. As long as it doesnt throttle its good enough, you can upgrade for lower temps or lower noise if you wish but its not neccesary.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
ignore the voltage talk about ryzen, people are trying to compare how it works with previous generations (intel or AMD) and its not the same.

Voltages are high, but amperage/wattage is low - so its irrelevant. Its only one part of an equation, that people think is all-important because of static voltage all core overclocks being the norm for so long.

Yeah, your stock cooler will heat up fast...its tiny. As long as it doesnt throttle its good enough, you can upgrade for lower temps or lower noise if you wish but its not neccesary.
E=I*R
P=I*E
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,405 (1.25/day)
I've just disabled core enhancement in bios and now my CPU keeps @3600 all time with no boost to 4GH, now its a slight loss in performance at least in my case since all games run above 60fps all time anyways which is my monitor refresh rate, but what surprised me how much the temperature had dropped significantly even in my crappy case
If you want to keep the boost on. Leave Core Enhancement ON, Turn Percision Boost Overdrive to Disable

If that;s too hot. Update your bios. Bios ABB and above have an ECO Mode. Its runs your chip at a lower rated TDP. PBO in reverse essentially it will lower your sustain all core by -200mhz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,258 (0.78/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
E=I*R
P=I*E
Except that doesn't apply in this case, since we're looking at the package Voltage, not the actual CPU chiplet Voltage. In fact, there are no monitoring of the chiplet Voltage, at least not any user facing monitoring. In fact, what we might be seeing, is a combination of the Voltage going to the CCD(s) and I/O die, or it could just be the CCD Voltage. AMD hasn't made any public comment yet.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,244 (0.79/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie | 雨上がりの空
Processor R7 3700X | i7-4790K
Motherboard B450I Aorus (F42c) | H97N-WIFI (F7)
Cooling NH-U9S | NH-C14S
Memory 16GB Trident Z 3200C16 | 16GB Fury 1866C10
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2060S FE | EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX3.0
Storage SX8200 - MX300 - Blue3D | 850 EVO
Display(s) BenQ GW2765HT | Samsung F2380
Case M1v5 + Pelican 1514 | TJ08T-E
Audio Device(s) DT 770 80Ω - Blue Snowball iCE
Power Supply SF600G + Cablemod | ST45SF-G v2
Mouse Logitech G602 | Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Noxary X60 R - FMJ R4 - Klippe R1
Software Windows 10 1903
CPB/MCE off will disable all forms of boost on Ryzen 3000 and keep it at base clock. PBO off generally does literally nothing.

You can try either setting a manual clock and stable Vcore, setting an offset with boost (-0.05 is a good place to start), and / or setting a custom fan curve.

I'm starting to sound like a broken record at this point and getting tired of repeating this. Idle voltage will be around 1.4-1.5 because no current is being put through. When you load the CPU under single thread, light multicore, light allcore, or full load, you will see the respective Vcore that the chip requests and receives at those levels. Setting an offset will lower all of those equally, so you can experiment with what's stable and what's not in all of those situations.

But when you apply an offset, you have to test everything. Test stability with one core loaded. Test stability in games with a handful of cores under use. Test stability in stress tests that are light (OCCT). Test full on heavy stress tests (P95). All of those will result in different SVI2 TFN Vcore readings, thus you need to make sure the offset works at every level.

Leave all your prior assumptions or understandings about Vcore at the door. Anyone who says otherwise, that 1.5V with no load on the CPU is a dangerous problem, need not apply and should stick to Core, an architecture that would suit them better.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
296 (1.16/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Some motherboards if you see auto as a voltage setting, right beside it you will see the voltage it is currently running at, you can lock it down by setting to manual.

Get your board manual out and read it.

@Bones or @ShrimpBrime might be able to help
I'll try to put it into perspective best as possible.

So the "Boost" feature is a range, starting from P-state of 3600mhz and up to max XFR frequency single core boost of 4.2ghz.
When you are idle, you will almost always see the highest voltage while single core boost is activated and is how the Cpu reaches 4.2ghz.
The ALL core load will sustain a voltage (for the most part) and will continue to do so until throttle temp is reached at 95c.
Once you've hit the throttle temp, you should see the clocks drop along with the voltage.

If you do not reach 95c with your Ryzen 3000 chip and it still throttles, that will be due to overheating VRM package area. Mount a fan there.

While any Ryzen setup is set with stock values, the Cpu will protect it'self for you. You don't have to worry about it running 90c, even though that's just too hot even for my taste personally.

You can run the chip cooler, but won't impact performance while you have a stock setup.

When you manually overclock, you can pass the throttle point of these chips. ThermTrip is around 110c, the PC will shut right off.

Do take notice, the Cpu fan should reach 100% at 70c. This is the thermal alarm and will not reset until temps are lower than 70c. Some boards are dialed in at 60/65/70c respectively for ramping up the Cpu fan to 100%.

In short, there's no real worries I see here with the system. It's running as it should.

One way to keep it running cool - Leave everything on Auto but change only the multiplier to 36.25x manually. It will keep cpu voltage at max P-state for that chip. You do not need to disable PBO or anything like that, but you do have to add the extra quarter multi. If set to 36x, the system will act as normal boosting and what not.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,244 (0.79/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie | 雨上がりの空
Processor R7 3700X | i7-4790K
Motherboard B450I Aorus (F42c) | H97N-WIFI (F7)
Cooling NH-U9S | NH-C14S
Memory 16GB Trident Z 3200C16 | 16GB Fury 1866C10
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2060S FE | EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX3.0
Storage SX8200 - MX300 - Blue3D | 850 EVO
Display(s) BenQ GW2765HT | Samsung F2380
Case M1v5 + Pelican 1514 | TJ08T-E
Audio Device(s) DT 770 80Ω - Blue Snowball iCE
Power Supply SF600G + Cablemod | ST45SF-G v2
Mouse Logitech G602 | Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Noxary X60 R - FMJ R4 - Klippe R1
Software Windows 10 1903
@ShrimpBrime that's nice to know, but the 3600 and 3700X are 65W parts. With stock boost settings, it's power draw and current limit that are hamstringing the chips from max boost all core speeds, 99% of the time.

Setting manual boost clocks and voltages (as a sort of manual OC) is the only way to bypass these safeguards, with the consequence that heavy stress tests like P95 Small/Smallest can draw as much power as they like (I've seen up to 105W+ on my 3700X at just 4.1GHz).
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,391 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the CPB/MCE thing varies between boards, hence why i mentioned it. My aorus x370 adds 20C for no benefit, while my asus b450 uses it for boost clocks
Some of these things that SHOULD be universal, change between brands - hence the whole 'poke it and see' approach to BIOS settings
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
296 (1.16/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Thermal design point is a figure that has around 5% give and take. The 65w number means nothing besides the amount of BTU per hour it can produce under load.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,448 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'll try to put it into perspective best as possible.

So the "Boost" feature is a range, starting from P-state of 3600mhz and up to max XFR frequency single core boost of 4.2ghz.
When you are idle, you will almost always see the highest voltage while single core boost is activated and is how the Cpu reaches 4.2ghz.
The ALL core load will sustain a voltage (for the most part) and will continue to do so until throttle temp is reached at 95c.
Once you've hit the throttle temp, you should see the clocks drop along with the voltage.

If you do not reach 95c with your Ryzen 3000 chip and it still throttles, that will be due to overheating VRM package area. Mount a fan there.

While any Ryzen setup is set with stock values, the Cpu will protect it'self for you. You don't have to worry about it running 90c, even though that's just too hot even for my taste personally.

You can run the chip cooler, but won't impact performance while you have a stock setup.

When you manually overclock, you can pass the throttle point of these chips. ThermTrip is around 110c, the PC will shut right off.

Do take notice, the Cpu fan should reach 100% at 70c. This is the thermal alarm and will not reset until temps are lower than 70c. Some boards are dialed in at 60/65/70c respectively for ramping up the Cpu fan to 100%.

In short, there's no real worries I see here with the system. It's running as it should.

One way to keep it running cool - Leave everything on Auto but change only the multiplier to 36.25x manually. It will keep cpu voltage at max P-state for that chip. You do not need to disable PBO or anything like that, but you do have to add the extra quarter multi. If set to 36x, the system will act as normal boosting and what not.
I know about boost because the FX uses it but I disabled mine along with power states and CnQ, its why I can run 5.0 all day lol.
 
Top